We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good way to spend our afternoon”

Boerner Botanical Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These gardens, located in Whitnall Park, offer an outstanding variety of plants and flowers including significant collections of roses and perennials.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good way to spend our afternoon”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband and I came here to help me "work on my walking" because I'm recovering from a broken ankle. It was nice to stroll through the gardens. Our favorite was the herb garden since we like to garden as well. There was a wedding going on in the mall area, so that was a little awkward for us, but still it was a nice time!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bmusicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    39
    4
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place alone, on a date, or with your family. ”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here to let our daughter stretch her legs as she'd been stuck in her car seat for hours. We got a lot more than we bargained for! Reasonably priced, beautiful, casual. It isn't the most stroller-friendly place, but you can access at least 75% of the grounds on wheels. If we lived in Hales Corners we'd take our kids there every day.
We will certainly return.

Helpful?
Thank CarLil1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
282 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“a very pleasant stroll, much to see.”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Because we visited the gardens in early June we missed out on the roses and
various other late bloomers, but there was plenty there to see. The many irises
and peonies were spectacular. We enjoyed the meadows and arbors, and the
waterfall and bridge were a nice surprise.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank elaine3844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
736 reviews
456 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
“Always something to look at”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The gardens are really nice- the volunteers and park employees do a great job with tending the plants. Don't stop there though. There's a great library in the basement where you can look at plant books, see historical newspapers about the parks, and see many seed and bulb catalogs. They have a children's nature book section too. Then in the hallway is a display of the parks showing the history that shouldn't be missed if you are interested in how the parks used to look.

This year they've opened a cafe so you can get a coffee, pre made sandwiches and salads. There are also a few new pieces of art in the peony garden. Really nice place in good weather!

If you have a membership here, it's good at several hundred other gardens in the US. If you belong to a botanic garden in your hometown, you might see if you can have free admission here as well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank alibarbaraMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hales Corners, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic garden”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

The gardens are full of year-round activities. Skiing and sledding in winter. Concerts in summer. Lovely gift shop with unique items for all ages. If you want to see deer, a drive through at dusk will likely uncover small herds. Fish fry on Fridays are a available. There is also a coffee shop. Plenty of room to hike and explore.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hcwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boerner Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Boerner Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing