We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating owners”

The Lawson House B & B
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hales Corners
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lawson House B & B
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hales Corners
South Bend, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very accommodating owners”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The owners couldn't have been friendlier in emails and phone calls. They were very accommodating to my need for a cool room. When I arrived (past 10 pm), the air conditioner had been set to cool my room (the Prairie Room) and the result was that I slept like a log. The air conditioner masked any street noise. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets were heavenly. The house is so charming Very substantial continental breakfast.

Room Tip: The Prairie Room borders a fairly busy street, so if you need a quieter room, choose one of the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Valley, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We've celebrated two anniversaries at the Lawson House, in June of 2010 and again 2012. It is a very quite home, despite being located on a main road, a very comfortable, clean and relaxing place to spend time. The home is located near Milwaukee, if you want to spend time downtown, and we also found plenty of things to do nearby in Hales Corner itself. The owners were so welcoming, accommodating and the food was great! We'll be going back again!!!

Room Tip: We've been in the New York Room and the Prairie Room. Both were wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeastern Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2010

I stayed in the New York room at the Lawson house for three separate nights in December 2009 and January 2010. As a female business traveler, I prefer B&B's because they're quiet. The owners of the Lawson House were very accommodating to my needs; breakfast was left for me earlier than normal due to my schedule, for example.

I wouldn't say that the Lawson House's rooms are luxurious, but the New York room was comfortable and welcoming. If I were to quibble with anything, I'd say the very basic towels and the lack of cable were a bit of a bummer, but not enough to change my plans for.

As a business traveler, being near a busy road (south Hwy 100) was a plus; there is a Starbucks, a Walgreens, and lots of other retail and food within a few blocks. However, if I was traveling for pleasure, it's not necessarily the most relaxing location.

Overall, I'd say that the Lawson House is a great option for business travel, but maybe not for a relaxing or romantic weekend (unless you plan to stay inside the whole time :)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WIteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2009

Our daughter suggested the Lawson House for us to stay in while we visited her for Thanksgiving week 2009 after she took a personal tour. It was a wonderful choice. Continental breakfast on weekdays consisted of boiled eggs already peeled, 5 kinds of cereal in lovely glass containers, bagels, a variety of breads to toast, a toaster , a variety of jellies and jams and butter, plus 3 kinds of juice and coffee on the sideboard. The table was set every morning with a different homemade sweet bread=kringle or blueberry pound cake plus a delicious bowl of fruit at our place setting. The weekend breakfasts were quiche and sausage one day and french toast and scrambled eggs with sausage wrapped in bacon the next day. We enjoyed the gas fireplace in the Prairie Room and the variety of books and magazines in the living room. It is located only minutes from Greendale=Taste of Home publication center which we enjoyed on Saturday. Jerry gave us great directions and a map to Greendale, the Art Museum and a bus tour of Milwaukee. We will be back and probably bring our other 2 daughters and their spouses to fill the other rooms!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2008

We stayed at the Lawson House for 2 nights.
It is an old farm house beautifully decorated in prairie style.
Unfortunately, the house is situated rather close to a busy
road. Our room faced the front of the house and was closest to the highway.
We are fussy about a quiet sleeping area.
The owners were kind enough to move us to a back room.
It was quieter but rather stuffy with just a window air conditioner
(unable to open any windows).
There was wine left for us in the evening and a nice continental breakfast in the morning.
We were the only guests so we felt like we were in our own house.
If you don't mind a little road noise(or use the "white noise"air conditioner) you will enjoy this B & B.

Helpful?
1 Thank nancebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hales Corners
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee / Franklin
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Milwaukee SW New Berlin
6.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Milwaukee West (Brookfield)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Milwaukee-New Berlin
5.8 mi away
MainStay Suites Milwaukee Airport
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawson House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawson House B & B

Property: The Lawson House B & B
Address: 10265 W Forest Home Ave, Hales Corners, WI 53130-2129
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Hales Corners
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hales Corners
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing