We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, food left a lot to be desired.”
Review of Grey Rock

Grey Rock
Ranked #6 of 20 Restaurants in Green Lake
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Grey Rock serves up a playful attitude with a timeless menu. Smooth, toe-tapping tunes and even smoother cocktails make for an urban flair feel in a relaxed, lakefront setting. Fine dining in Green Lake starts right here, lakeside to Big Green. Grey Rock builds on its traditional high standards of dining excellence with reborn classic dishes promising a delightful balance of the finest ingredients - all freshly prepared by the resort's award-winning chefs. Grey Rock has received the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence every year since 2002. With friendly, efficient service and lakeview floor-to-ceiling windows, Grey Rock ranks as the area's favorite every-occasion restaurant. Make it your favorite, too. Planning a romantic evening on the lake? You can dock on our pier and make date night fantastic with a lake view dinner right here at Grey Rock.
Medinah, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice view, food left a lot to be desired.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had an awesome server...after waiting 15 minutes to be acknowleged. She was very kind and apologized. The service was great from that point forward. She really turned the experience around and we praised her for a job well done.

The calamari was fair, the mushroom soup delicious, but we felt our entrees were overpriced and lacked quality. I had the surf and turf which was very dissapointing. It was presented with pieces of lobster (not even a small tail) on top of a tiny filet that had a very strong taste. For $34, I was not pleased. My husband had the walleye which was very over done and dry. T

This was our least favorite meal of our vacation, and the most expensive. The view is nice. The restaurant has a very musty, fishy smell that hits you when you walk in the door. They really need to renovate and improve quality.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    26
    19
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“New menu? New chef? Only a few diners, on a weekend?”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The bartender at Grey Rock is wonderful. Great drinks, superb service, and she is always a joy to us every year we visit. We sat upstairs until our reservation time for dinner. We ordered appetizers, which one was a Nigiri Sushi. It was delicious. We also shared the crepes which had mushrooms in them, very, very good. Of course we were excited for dinner downstairs, which we have enjoyed several times before.
Not so. The server was good, and really knew the menu items and described them with ease. However, the porterhouse my husband had was.... "meh...." Tough, overdone, and tasted old. His potato was dried out, just not really acceptable to us when we have eaten there before and we know our expectations! I ordered the filet surf n turf, which was a small 7 oz filet. I ordered medium, it was WELL done, and the lobster on top appeared to be 7 small crayfish meats. They were extremely fishy. But seriously, not as fishy tasting as the side of scallops! Yuck, I couldn't finish them, and there were only TWO. Full of sand, rubbery, and fishy smelling. My mashed potatoes were dried out and bland.
The chef's sweet tooth dessert was wonderful, and the service was good. A custard style key lime tart. Good.
Needless to say, we should have noticed the lack of a crowd in the dining room. (normally, a year ago the place was always PACKED!)
Sadly we will not be revisiting. There are other options in Green Lake that are doing a better job with the food!
*note* The men walking around who have the appearance of secret service men, complete with black suits and ear buds, and hidden receiver..... Creepy and distracting. Not necessary in such a small resort property.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mommyovfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelHouseGM, Manager at Grey Rock, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your dining experience at Grey Rock. Your description of the wonderful service and delicious starters in the lounge is exactly what we strive for. Unfortunately, we failed to deliver the same quality in the dining room. I sincerely apologize for the disappointment with your meal and have shared your comments with our staff. Again I apologize and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“New Chef Same Problems”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We usually dine at Grey Rock when in Green Lake. It was always a guaranteed good meal, especially the Walleye. In February 2013 when we went we were quite disappointed with the quality of the food. We were told a new chef had been hired, so we decided to give it another chance. This time three out of the four of us were disappointed with their meals. The walleye was dry, the rib eyes tough and chewy, and the Hasselbeck potatoes were raw in the middle. I did have the Skatewing and it was excellent. We are so disappointed in the decline of what was once a stellar place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rtist104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelHouseGM, Manager at Grey Rock, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. I am sincerely sorry for the disappointment you experienced with your meals during your last visits to Grey Rock. It is our goal to exceed guest expectations in all areas of your dining experience, and your comments do not reflect these standards. Please be assured we listen closely to guest comments and make every effort to address these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent vegetarian options”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

It's hard to be a vegan in Wisconsin! Grey Rock fit the bill! There were several delicious options from which to choose. The venue is scenic and the wait staff was efficient and very pleasant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmom85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious food, lovely view, friendly service.”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Grey Rock reminds me of the supper clubs of the past. We sat upstairs with a great view of Green Lake. We arrived just before a quick thunderstorm and the light show was pretty amazing. Luckily the rain stopped before we had to make the short walk back to our rooms at the Heidel House. Try their cinnamon dusted scallops......very unique and tasty. My husband enjoyed his filet as well. Oh, and the "dirty" martini was perfect.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grey Rock also viewed

 
Green Lake, WI
 

Been to Grey Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing