We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dining experience!”
Review of Grey Rock

Grey Rock
Ranked #6 of 20 Restaurants in Green Lake
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Grey Rock serves up a playful attitude with a timeless menu. Smooth, toe-tapping tunes and even smoother cocktails make for an urban flair feel in a relaxed, lakefront setting. Fine dining in Green Lake starts right here, lakeside to Big Green. Grey Rock builds on its traditional high standards of dining excellence with reborn classic dishes promising a delightful balance of the finest ingredients - all freshly prepared by the resort's award-winning chefs. Grey Rock has received the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence every year since 2002. With friendly, efficient service and lakeview floor-to-ceiling windows, Grey Rock ranks as the area's favorite every-occasion restaurant. Make it your favorite, too. Planning a romantic evening on the lake? You can dock on our pier and make date night fantastic with a lake view dinner right here at Grey Rock.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience!”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Beautiful views with tables next to floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking Green Lake. Very fine attention to detail from plate settings to food presentation. Excellent service provided by wait staff who makes the experience very enjoyable. You honestly feel welcome in their establishment. But the absolute best part was the delicious food. The taste and presentation could be compared to any of the finest restaurants in large cities. Worth every penny to those who appreciate dining at it's finest.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelevonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    26
    19
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Beautiful View and Tastey food!”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

My husband and I did a weekend getaway to the spa and Heidell Hotel and dinner at Grey Rock. The The food was amazing, I had the pecan crusted Scallops they were cooked perfect and delicious. The only disappointment was that when we found the wine that we enjoyed they only had enough for 2 glasses.... :( but we enjoyed martinis after dinner and a wonderful piano player taking requests. It is a lovely place to enjoy dinner.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happytummy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lively
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“you Get What You Pay For”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Very peasant atmosphere and view of the lake.

Staff was friendly and accommodating. Food was excellent as always. I had the filet and I've heard people say how they could cut their steak with a fork. Well, this steak I truly could cut with a fork. Done to perfection..!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dann390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious. Quaint. Splendid!”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Grey Rock is where we celebrated our wedding anniversary. The restaurant is housed in an old mansion, and the history of the building and pictures on the wall add to the ambience and nostaligic atmosphere. There is a cocktail lounge in the upper level. Perfect for sharing conversation over a drink or appetizer. The martini's are fabulous, a great wine list, and several micro brews available. There is a wall of windows to watch the sunset over the lake. Or, you can sit by the fireplace on couches, or in a sitting room overlooking the lake on a comfy couch sipping cocktails or coffee. Dinner is served on the lower level, with a complete wall of windows overlooking the beautiful lake. The menu is exciting, everything is home made. I chose the pecan crusted sea scallops, they were perfectly cooked and presented on a plate with artistic flair. My husband had the filet - also a good choice, and perfectly done. We had home made creme brulee for dessert! SO delicious and definitely - get the creme brulee! It is worth every sinful bite. Also worth noting, the service was great. I would highly recommend this restaurant, we have made some great memories there. Good conversation here too, as you can actually focus on your partner and hear their voice. (some restaurants are so incredibly noisy and distracting.) There are candles on every table with white table cloths. This is also a good restaurant to enjoy dinner out with a group of friends. Splendid!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mommyovfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed December 21, 2010

6 of us combined dinner here with a night at the Heidel House and a Christmas show at the Thrasher. They had a prix fixe menu to go with the Thrasher tickets at $27.00 each for a 3 course dinner. Our charming waiter, Phil, allowed us to order anything off the menu for the prix fixe price. All food was fabulous...from salads, soup, bread with three different spreads, tenderloins, blue crab, fish, fresh aspagus and creme brule. Cocktails and wine were terrific. We were there in the worst blizzard of the year! The wall to ceiling window looked out on beautiful Christmas lights and swiriling snow. The fireplace was abaze. It was a memorable evening. Phil was a great waiter...don't you love it when the waiter can explain in detail the vaious entrees and sauces? We will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ednat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grey Rock also viewed

 
Green Lake, WI
 

Been to Grey Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing