We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, distracted service”

Norton's of Green Lake
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Green Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Stillwater, MN
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good food, distracted service”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Nice place that's been around since I was a kid! Beautiful setting right on the lake, with it's own marina right outside, so the local boaters can dock out front.
We had a strange ( and hopefully not typical) experience with our service, as we were there on a week night with few people in the place. First the cocktail waitress got a wine order wrong--twice!! Hope she didn't have to drink her mistakes! Then, after the dining waitress said she'd give us a few minutes to look at the menus, she disappeared for almost 1/2 hour!
Ah well, we weren't in a hurry, and the food was wonderful. Our friend needs a fat-free diet and they were very accommodating, and my wife and I had the house walleye, which deservedly so is their specialty. Wonderful job on the prep.
Overall, just slow night distractions in service, but still a class restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaleStillwater_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    58
    19
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“My daughter's favorite place”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Green Lake is gorgeous and being able to sit by the lake and have a drink and a meal on a beautiful day is good for your soul! We found this place last year and my daughter insisted that we go back this year. They have a nice lawn to play on and a patio for drinks and pub food (full menu served inside and on the side patio). They only serve lunch Friday-Sunday. We were disappointed when we were going on Monday, but went for dinner later in the week and still had a great time. Since we like the patio, we had the RibEye sandwich - which we got last year and it was just as good. Spend some time and relax!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VA_WOLF61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch with friends”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We recently traveled to Green Lake for a wedding weekend and we're told to take time to eat at Norton's for lunch. I'm very glad we did, it sits right on the lake and has a beautiful picture window the entire length of the restaurant looking out onto the lake. The staff was very friendly, giving us the daily specials and taking our order in a timely manner. The food was all that we had heard, very delicious, I had the Walleye sandwich with homemade potato chips, others in our group had the Reuben, pulled pork and the special for the day, everyone was satisfied. My only suggestion, the chips were a bit on the greasy side. So glad for the suggestion it was a very nice lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bgraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Trip to Green Lake not complete without dinner at Norton's!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The food (and menu selections) is always outstanding but the view of the lake is great. At times we have taken our boat and tied up to the dock to enjoy a wonderful dinner.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carrol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner on the lake”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Pluses: Location, food, and outside dining. The menu has improved since last year. The local micro-brews are pretty good. Decent (but limited) wine list. Prices are a tad high (at least for rural Wisconsin) but it's the best food in town. And on a nice summer evening dinner on the deck can't be beat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Divot_Digger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norton's of Green Lake also viewed

 
Green Lake, WI
 

Been to Norton's of Green Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing