We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heidel House Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Green Lake
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
90 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place”
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Very nice resort area. The hotel was very clean, staff was friendly, and there is a pleasant ambiance surrounding the whole place. I was amazed how huge the entire "campus" was with buildings, spas, playgrounds, reception tents, etc. More than exceeded my expectations!

Only big issue would be parking. I stayed on the weekend, and with all the special events taking place (private functions) - it was extremely hard to find a parking spot on the grounds, let alone near the room I was staying in.

Other than that, a clean and spacious room, beautiful lakefront grounds, and a lot of charm!

(I travel all over the country with my job, and I contribute on EVERY hotel I stay in. Trip Advisor has been a great tool for me, and I contribute fairly, for both good and bad facilities.)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunnyFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    142
    115
    57
    26
See reviews for
145
235
9
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We decided to give the Heidel House a try for our anniversary. Our friends have been going there for years and highly recommended it to us as a relaxing getaway. We took advantage of the 'Your Choice' Special- an incredible value. We stayed for two nights. We paid $299 for a Deluxe Lakeview room- this was for both nights, taxes and all! Our room was amazing. We had a plush king bed with a down comforter, a huge tub with whirlpool jets, a flat screen TV, and a balcony with a beautiful view of Green Lake. This was a very modern room.

With this special I also received a 20% off coupon for services at Evensong. I had an incredible 'Inner Journey' massage, the staff was great and the building was beautiful. So relaxing!

We ate at Grey Rock- the food was amazing! We had a very romantic dinner overlooking Green Lake at sunset. We also ate breakfast in the Sunroom one morning, and were very impressed by the friendliness of the staff and the food. We were so full from breakfast that we skipped lunch- but stopped in the Sunroom again around 1:30 for a light snack- do yourself a favor and try the Avocado Loaf!

The Heidel House has so much to do on property that we did not find time to explore the city of Green Lake very much. We rented a boat one afternoon and spent time relaxing on the water. We also very much enjoyed the morning Escapade sightseeing cruise, where we were treated to a light breakfast.

When we did have questions, the front desk staff was very willing and able to assist us. They gave us driving directions, restaurant suggestions in Green Lake, and I was very touched that they remembered that I had mentioned my anniversary when making the reservation- when we got to our room there were balloons and chocolate waiting for us, as well as a card wishing us a Happy Anniversary from the staff of the Heidel House.

Our friends were right, and we're glad we decided to visit the Heidel House. The resort is amazing, the staff is friendly and knowledgeable, and we would highly recommend it to anyone. We already booked our next stay in September! The 'Your Choice' Special goes down to $199 for the Deluxe Lakeview room!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viajeravoyageuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights at the Heidel House. We were in town for the EAA Convention at Oshkosh. It's about 30 minutes from Oshkosh so not bad. The grounds and location are very pretty. The lake is beautiful and there are several restaurants spread throughout the resort. We ate at Grey Rock one evening - we had a beautiful view of the lake and sunset and the hostess and server were very nice. They were very accommodating and were able to serve us a gluten-free/vegetarian dish. We had breakfast in the Sunroom one morning and it wasn't bad. Buffet was only $9.95/per person which wasn't bad at all. Very cheap actually for a pretty good spread.

Our lakefront room had a wonderful view and the room was very big and clean. Two double beds and a sofa bed, table and mini-bar/fridge area.

Our main complaint was attention to detail, they really fell short here. For instance, the balcony off of our room was filthy - covered in cobwebs and spiders, etc. Really gross and very easy for them to clean off with a broom or hose. The same with a lot of the beach chairs near the pool and beach - a lot were broken or really dirty. The outside pool was nice but there were never any towels. When we asked a member of the staff, she told us "she hadn't been informed and said she didn't know when they'd be replenished." Again, we complained at check-out and the staff member told us "people often walk off with towels which didn't allow them to replenish them right away" Umm, how is this our (the guests) problem? The inside pool seemed ok at first but the floor looked like it was never cleaned (dirty tile and grout). Kind of gross.

Paying $219/night for a room at a resort in the middle of nowhere - we at the very least expect some towels by the pool. We weren't asking for much!!! But the response from the staff was pretty much "not my job, not my problem" kind of thing. Sort of disappointing. Again the service at Grey Rock (restaurant) was much better and we really enjoyed our meal there.

We WOULD stay again, simply because of the location - the grounds are pretty, it's close to Oshkosh and the it's really the only "resort" in the area. Good for a short, quiet stay. Not a lot to do in the area, but perfect if you just want to relax by the pool or lake and read a book, etc. Just provide some towels, Heidel House!!! Seriously!

Again customer service needed major improvement, big time. Would I recommend to a friend - yes, for the location alone, right on the lake. But I would inform them about terrible customer service and let them make up their own minds. Hope this helped anyone planning to book a stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dutchgirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2010

The grounds at Heidel House are beautiful! Rooms are clean. The rooms, however, need to be updated. Sleeping with the air conditioner turned on became impossible. It was like trying to sleep next to a turbine. This isn't what we were expecting from our stay at Heidel House.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenbaygirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

A very good resort on Green Lake, WI. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. We did not have a lake view but that is only a short walk from the unit. Lunch on the patio was very good. They have a very nice indoor pool and two whirlpools. Should be nice in the cold of winter. Would definitely stay again and do dinner and brunch.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2010

The place is very scenic. We attended a wedding and stayed over. The service was good and the people around to take you here and there in their carts were very helpful and nice. The parking was horrible. We couldn't find only one area in front of the main lounge that was handicapped parking. One isle had no exit after we found there were no parking slots available and so had to back up on this incline and curve--- where you could not see if someone was perhaps entering as you were backing up. Our room was in another side building and we thought (others agreed) that the signage getting to our room was very poor. No handicapped assisted doors (I thought this was code). Our room was just okay. We could hear the big air conditioner for the building outside our room as we slept and the window type air conditioner we had in our room. No small refrigerator and no small wide screen tv - it was the old type of tv. The bathroom was adequate and I wished I had slippers going in there. At $129. special rate; we usually stay at a Hilton Garden Inn with all the amenities for $89. We only stayed there so we wouldn't have to drive 30 miles to the next closest hotel(s). We ate breakfast at the little restaurant in Princeton and it was fabulous as the food was a little less than okay at the HH. I'm not sure there is anything I liked "best" but if you are really into being in a boat or on the water, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluesrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Ill
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We spent three wonderful nights at this great resort. It far exceeded my expectations. Beautiful grounds, spacious rooms with lush bedding, large screen flat TV. The Grey Rock restaurant was 5 Star. Beautiful presentation and delicious, the views of the Lake from all of the tables was a treat. I had the Walnut crusted Walleye, the best! Our daily breakfasts in the Sunroom Restaurant was also very pleasing, cheerful servers every day. All of the help acknowledged us at every encounter. The pools were a big surprise, very nice also. We thought it was a great value, someplace you can go to that is complete as it is. They also had tennis courts, golf, bikes, basketballs, jet skis and goodness knows what else.
This hotel goes the extra mile for you. We will Definitely return, it is only 3 hours from Chicago in a lush area of Wisconsin.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melba_Says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Green Lake
4.4 mi away
Comfort Suites at Royal Ridges
4.2 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites Ripon, WI
23.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Welcome Inn
Welcome Inn
#3 of 3 in Ripon
30 reviews
9.0 mi away
Countryside Lodge Magnuson Hotel
22.4 mi away
Super 8 Wautoma
Super 8 Wautoma
#2 of 2 in Wautoma
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidel House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidel House Resort & Spa

Property: Heidel House Resort & Spa
Address: 643 Illinois Ave, Green Lake, WI 54941-9750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Green Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Green Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Heidel House Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the shores of beautiful Green Lake, Heidel House Resort & Spa is a year-round Wisconsin resort destination. Unwind, slow down and recharge at our full service resort, where fresh air and miles of shoreline are just the beginning of your Midwest lakefront getaway. For over 60 years, guests have returned to enjoy exquisite dining, championship golf, tranquil spa retreats and more. Together, these create an unparalleled Green Lake experience that you'll, too, want to enjoy again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Heidel House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidel House Resort And Spa
Heidel House Hotel Green Lake
Heidel Resort Green Lake
Heidel Hotel Green Lake
Heidel House Green Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing