We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stable House Family Reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heidel House Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Green Lake
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stable House Family Reunion”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We held a family reunion in June, 2014. My family stayed in the Stable House and everyone else stayed in the hotel. The Stable House is old and in need of repairs and some updates, but does have charm, and works great for a family. Any problems we found were addressed and taken care of fairly quickly by Heidel House staff, even though much of the time was on a weekend. Throughout the resort we had great service from almost all the employees. We ate at the BoatHouse several times, and found the food to be great. Breakfasts at the Sun Room upstairs were also very good, and the waitstaff there were all very friendly. Ice cream in the Pump House Parlor was excellent. The rooms in the main hotel did need updating some, but beds were comfortable and the decor was fine. All in all, we had a wonderful family reunion. Both pools (inside and out) were enjoyed by all; the younger family members had a great time on the jet skis. We never left the grounds in the 4 days we were there other than to run to Crossroads for supplies. Everything we needed was there. I hope to return next year for a visit and am trusting that the problems others have had will be dealt with by the new management company. Heidel House is a wonderful family resort and we all want to see it prosper and survive. Special thanks to Donna and Sarah.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    143
    118
    63
    26
See reviews for
153
238
9
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

I was here in June for a business event and was disappointed by the accommodations. The staff was friendly but the rooms are outdated, the wi-fi doesn't consistently work and the help is all teenagers. Now, I'm all for ensuring that our teens have summer jobs but having 80% of the staff be teenagers already speaks to the actually cleanliness of this place. Rugs has ground in dirt, rooms get a mediocre cleaning, tables are sticky, dishes & flatware have remnants of previous meals, and the list goes on! Now, let me talk a bit about the food...bland, over cooked and just inedible. While all of my meals were paid for by the company, I literally had to drive out into town (after the first horrible meal) and eat before each work session.

Although I really looked forward to enjoying myself at this resort & spa, all I really did was regret coming to this place at all. Please people...save you money!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flyfxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelHouseGM, Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thanks for your recent review of Heidel House Resort & Spa. We appreciate your comments and those of all guests, whether good or bad. We cannot fix these issues if they are not relayed to us so thank you for taking the time to let us know.

First off, yes our staff may be young but, that does not excuse them from providing the level of service we expect for our guests; young age should also not be an excuse for the poor housekeeping service you received. I am sorry that you were inconvenienced by having to drive off property to eat; that is just unacceptable. That should not be the norm for our guests and we expect and wish to provide a higher level of service than what you received.

If you wish to discuss further, I would be happy to talk with you either by phone or email.

Again, thanks for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post this review.

Anna Koplin
akoplin@heidelhouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We just got married on the Carriage Patio and Carriage Tent July 4th of 2014. From start to finish our event was perfect. Our guests had a fabulous time, and felt the decorating done by Kathy Ross at I Do Decorating in Green Lake was beautiful. Star Irvin, the catering manager/wedding coordinator was remarkable. She was a very calming influence and worked with us to create a beautiful event even though we had dropped the ball on getting tent decorating finalized. She made some calls last minute and everything fell into place in a way I never could have planned. The food was delicious, the cake from Tamara's in Oshkosh was fabulous as were the cupcakes, the flowers from Robin Zernzach at House of Flowers in Oshkosh were gorgeous, and Edward with Midwest Sound did a phenomenal job with our music for the cocktail hour and the reception. Our guest danced the entire night!! We had 30 children at our wedding and Star worked with us to make the night fit into our budget while allowing us to set up games outside the tent for the kids. All of our guest raved about the efficiency and professionalism of the wait staff and the beauty of the surroundings. Mother nature did her part by creating the perfect Wisconsin weather for our event. I cannot say enough about the wedding and the entire weekend we had at the Heidel House. I highly recommend Star and her staff!! Can't wait to go back for our anniversary!!

Room Tip: We opted for a lake view room....it was spectacular. However, we didn't spend much time in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmvbloomer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelHouseGM, Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Congratulations, newlyweds! It was our pleasure hosting you and your family for your big day. Thank you for leaving a review as we truly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing both of you for your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison WI
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2014

From the planning to the actual event, all went smoothly. Very responsive and accommodating for our group of 20. Beautiful setting and capitalized on that by being served breakfast, lunch and delicious dinner out on the adjacent patio to our meeting room. Desserts were over the top.
We will return again next year - or I will have mutiny from my group.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koolkats3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelHouseGM, Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for writing a review; we always appreciate feedback from our guests. We truly look forward to hosting your group again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed for a long weekend with my wife and two sons, 11 and 14. Was our third time back. We requested a lake-view room and stayed on the ground floor of Lac Verde. Great lake views / breezes and easy access to the small outdoor pool, grounds and docks. From booking through checkout, the staff was very friendly and accommodating and we got exactly what we requested and had the type of long weekend we had hoped for. We had some of our meals on site (Sunrise Room for breakfast, Boat House Pub for lunch / dinner). The service can be slow as noted by other reviewers. Know that going in and be prepared for it. My kids enjoyed ice cream at the Pump House Parlor and also enjoyed the indoor pool and the small sand beach area. We caught some bluegills, perch, smallmouth bass and northern pike off the docks. (Released everything.) We enjoyed walking the grounds and visiting downtown Green Lake, which is only a short drive away. Overall it's a great location. It's a bit pricey but considering all the amenities it's a nice choice.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a lake view room and ask that they flag your reservation with "do not move...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The best thing the Heidel House has going is it's location. It overlooks Green Lake and is set into the hillside with well maintained grounds and small beach area. The hotel has a nice patio area overlooking the lake where we enjoyed some refreshing cocktails. One of the days was warm enough to sit out by the pool which looked nice and clean, although the pool chairs could've used a good cleaning. I found the actual hotel room kind of lacking. It was neat and clean, but pretty dull and nothing special. I was expecting a bit more "wow". The entire hotel could probably use a remodeling update, as it's starting to show it's age. Everyone we met from the front desk staff, to the waiters and housekeeping were friendly and helpful. I would not recommend eating in the Sunroom for breakfast. The food was lackluster and overpriced. Overall I can only rate the Heidel House as average and will most likely try a different property if I ever travel to Green Lake again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie061810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The meeting space was updated and comfortable. The food at all of the banquet meals was better than most that I have had. The sleeping room that I stayed in had technical issues in the bathroom and could use some updating. The staff and interns at the hotel had excellent customer service and were very engaged. Every meal and bar service we had was superior service. The campfire space was also a nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chaya s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Green Lake
4.2 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites Ripon, WI
4.4 mi away
Comfort Suites at Royal Ridges
23.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Welcome Inn
Welcome Inn
#3 of 3 in Ripon
30 reviews
9.0 mi away
Countryside Lodge Magnuson Hotel
22.4 mi away
Super 8 Wautoma
Super 8 Wautoma
#2 of 2 in Wautoma
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidel House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidel House Resort & Spa

Property: Heidel House Resort & Spa
Address: 643 Illinois Ave, Green Lake, WI 54941-9750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Green Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Green Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Heidel House Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the shores of beautiful Green Lake, Heidel House Resort & Spa is a year-round Wisconsin resort destination. Unwind, slow down and recharge at our full service resort, where fresh air and miles of shoreline are just the beginning of your Midwest lakefront getaway. For over 60 years, guests have returned to enjoy exquisite dining, championship golf, tranquil spa retreats and more. Together, these create an unparalleled Green Lake experience that you'll, too, want to enjoy again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Heidel House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidel House Resort And Spa
Heidel House Hotel Green Lake
Heidel Resort Green Lake
Heidel Hotel Green Lake
Heidel House Green Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing