We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heidel House Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$105
$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dartford Inn(Green Lake)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (589)
Filter reviews
589 results
Traveler rating
216
153
121
70
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
216
153
121
70
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrey rocksun roomboat houseboathouse pubmain buildingbeautiful lakea lake view roomoutdoor poolcheese curdswedding weekendlac verdefire pitsunroomoktoberfestlakeviewboatingwisconsin
Filter
Updating list...
491 - 496 of 589 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We went for the new year's package. It was a great deal and a wonderful time. We were glad to be able to stay over night and not have to worry about driving. The staff was awesome!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This was our 4th New Years Eve Dinner and Dancing event. We ballroom dance and cruse often this years weekend proved to be equal to our best on ship dinner and dance. The food was over the top and the SERVICE IN THE BALLROOM WAS SUPER. We loved the 16 pcs big band and the floor was great ( put down floors can be a problum this one was well done). My only negitive comment would be the back-up in the breakfast area. They did not clean and reset the tables and FAST ENOUGH the Long 40 min. wait was unnecssary. Great Location, Super Hotel

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avsjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We stayed at the Heidel house Friday and Saturday for the holiday house, it was so much fun. The activites could be spaced out a little more we had to rush for one activity to the next. Storytime with mrs. Claus should be at 7 or 8 at night before the kids go to bed by the fireplace in the lobby not at 1pm in the afternoon. Pool was very nice, we ate at the sunroom for dinner it was ok, but not a large selection. It would be nice if there were games to check out to play at the tables by the besutiful christmas tree and fireplace. We plan to go again next year with our family!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslielf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

My family and I just returned from our weekend stay, enjoying the Holiday House, taking advantage of the second night discounted promotion. We enjoyed ourselves immensely. Breakfast with Santa, cookie & ornament workshop, horse drawn carriage ride, Babycakes the clown, spacious rooms, giant gingerbread house, great food, spacious and not overcrowded swimming pool are just some of the wonderful things we enjoyed. We come back every year for this special Holiday weekend where we create memories that each of us will never forget. For myself, an added highlight was enjoying some quiet time in the room while the rest of the family swam in the pool; where I was able to relax in a comfortable bed, reading a book, and watch the sunset over Green Lake. Beautiful! Thanks Heidel House, we'll see you real soon.

Room Tip: Definitely worth the extra investment to get a Lakeside Room! The view is gorgeous.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

First...to start.....I was Interested in reading the review which talked about a poor Grey Rocks experience. Our experience and mael there was the EXACT opposite so who knows...we must have had the A-team working when we were there...Anyway....on to the review

The Heidel House is a Great location and perfect lake resort property.

Some of the highlights for us included
1) The staff at the Boathouse treated us like Gold. Joe (I believe) adopted us and made sure our needs were always met...Five star service
2) The lady who looked after the pool area (probably activities person) was also great and made the stay personal for us
3) The setting was picture perfect. green lake is beautiful and the HH is perfectly placed on the lake
4) Our room was upgraded with Lake view and balcony was clean and nice (somewhat feeling its age

We have several concerns that in my view DID impact our total enjoyment

1) Safety Issues......The pool area is feeling its age. Still clean but starting to show cracks (literally). There appears to have been a modification to the pool area to create a kids wading pool seperate from the main pool. The work was completed with smooth red brick which is like ice with bare feet and water. We watch several people slip as the stepped on the brick.....One of whom was very much pregnant and fell from her slip. The management needs to address this concern

2) The pool area needs more day to day maintenance. Power washing the deck of dirt would help (As would power washing the lake side of the hotel as while we were there there was a huge build-up of bugs across the front of the building)....this is a minor point but is an opportunity to improve

3) By far the most impactful negative for us was the service indifference of most of the front desk staff. On two different issues (pretty simple ones) the front desk made us feel as though we were be a huge inconvenience to them for even asking.....One had to do with packages that had been delivered to the front desk. I am not sure if it was because more than one person from our group (company) may have gone to ask them about it but when I asked they were openly indifferent bordering on rude in their response to me. Second issue took two days, three managers and at least three front desk people telling me something couldn't be done before I found the right person who made it happen......It was all in an effort for us to stay in a lakeview room for our entire stay......Eventually we got what we wanted and did have to change rooms but our perseverance paid off. There was no offer to help us move our stuff from one room to the other and overall was just a disappointing situation.

However...all things in balance...we loved the property (the ice cream parlor is a must), loved the restaurants....loved the restaurant staff.....loved the poolside access to beverages...loved the Wisconsin summer weather........and will be back.

So overall I give it a three......It would have earned a four without the front desk service issues (not a five because of the resort feeling its age) but with the added negative service from the frint desk...it gets a three......

having said ALL of it..on balance we would recommend it

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scooter34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelHouseGM, Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review Heidel House Resort & Spa. We appreciate your detailed feedback about your experience with us, and are glad that several aspects of your stay met or exceeded your expectations. Your compliments regarding the service of the Grey Rock, BoatHouse and recreation employees have been shared with each department. We do apologize that there were areas that negatively impacted your stay, and have also passed on your responses regarding the front desk staff and pool area to the appropriate management. We highly value your opinion and hope to provide a more exceptional experience should you decide to visit us again in the future. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews