We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and relaxing”
Review of Astor House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Green Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Astor House
Ranked #1 of 2 Green Bay B&B and Inns
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable and relaxing”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the second time over the weekend. The two rooms that we have stayed in, the Vienna Balconies and the London Room have both been very nice, with King beds and large whirlpool baths. Vienna is a beautiful room, and so far our favorite. Definitely need new or more pictures on the website, as Vienna looks so much better in person!

Breakfast is delish- Barbara makes the best fruit breads. We really like that she will deliver breakfast to your room in a cute little picnic basket- we're not super big on hanging out with strangers, so it's nice that this place differs from other B&Bs that way.

Not terribly familiar with Green Bay, but it seems like the house is well located, we walked to dinner the first night there, and would have walked around more but it was a rainy weekend.

Barbara is such a sweetheart, and really tries to make you feel at home, we will be back again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the house are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
72
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We spent a night at the Astor B&B while on our first visit to the city on business. The innkeeper was out of town and we were served by a very friendly sub who did her best to welcome us. Let me say that there was absolutely nothing awful about this place but nothing exceptional either. The room was nice although the bedding (king-sized bed) was a bit worn (as was the placement on the table the next day). Nice fireplace and a bathtub for two in a niche. All was clean but it's all given good service over the years I'm sure. Innkeeper ran up with a couple of wine glasses and a corkscrew for the wine we'd brought along. My husband said the shower leaked quite a bit but my tub bath the next morning was nice. I had breakfast of mixed fruit and berries (fresh and pleasant), scrambled eggs with grated cheese and warmed slices of Canadian bacon. No salt or pepper on the table but I didn't ask. This was followed by a large cinnamon muffin that seemed like it was from a mix.

Unlike many B&Bs that have several common rooms downstairs, this had only the dining room with the usual brochures of what to see locally. As a couple who have stayed in many many B&Bs around the states, the Astor House falls right in the middle. All in all, this was a pleasant experience but not inexpensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellasahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary, we had never been to Green Bay before and decided to stay in a bed and breakfast instead of a hotel. It was very easy to find and a great location to everywhere we wanted to go. Barb had flowers and champagne waiting in our room. The room was really nice, clean and quiet. Breakfast was excellent and we were able to have it delivered to our room. Barb was a great host and very kind! Definately will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I obtained tickets to the Packers vs Cardinals game in November, 2012. We've never stayed in a bed and breakfast before so this was a first time experience. The only remaining room at time of reservations was the Vienna Balcony. The room was comfortable and extremely quiet. It was a wonderful relaxing experience. The home made delivered hot breakfast really made the stay one to remember. The broccoli strata was yummy! Barb was very sweet as well. When we return for another game in Green Bay we certainly will book back at the Astor House! If you're looking for peace, quiet and comfort with yummy home cooked breakfast for your get away--we recommend the Astor House! Close to downtown and Lambeau Field. - Dan and Deb Curtis

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have been travelling to watch the Green Bay Packers for 15 years now and this is the tenth year I have stayed here on the spin. It's fantastic, Barbera is a wonderful host, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are amazing, I've stayed in them all. Can't recommend the Astor House highly enough ! Dan Lubbock, Stoke on Trent, UK.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful, check the website, the quietest is the Laredo at the back, you have your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, VA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Astor House during a recent trip to see the Green Bay Packers open their season. The tickets and trip were a surprise gift for his birthday, and it just couldn't have been better! We stayed in the Hong Kong retreat and it was absolutely ideal in every way. Breakfast was perfectly proportioned, delivered to our room and delicious! Little touches like a white noise machine in the room really show how much thought goes into each guest's comfort. It truly felt like a home away from home, and was only minutes from everything we wanted to see. It was absolutely the perfect choice for the game, and I would love to stay there again any time! The only reason I didn't mark sleep quality as excellent probably has more to do with my husband and myself than the room - we don't tend to sleep well when we're not at home. But, after the first night when I asked for "flatter" pillows, Barb found some! Truly, it seemed there was nothing we wanted that wasn't available.

Room Tip: All of the rooms we saw were just lovely. The Hong Kong suite is wonderful for a very private get-aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ca2va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, NM
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Built in 1888 this Historical Register house has the ambience of old Green Bay and is in the heart of the city. Beautifully kept up and clean with large whirlpool tubs in most rooms. Each room is very different in style. The bathrooms have plenty of counter and storage space, unlike many old B&B's.Couldn't have had a nicer Innkeeper than Barbara. She went out of her way to help us.

Room Tip: You can see them on their Internet site. What you lilke will depend on your own preferences. Our fav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Green Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Green Bay Downtown
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Green Bay
Hyatt Regency Green Bay
#5 of 41 in Green Bay
835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Green Bay WI.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Green Bay
1.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Green Bay
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Green Bay
SpringHill Suites Green Bay
#14 of 41 in Green Bay
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor House

Property: Astor House
Address: 637 S Monroe Ave, Green Bay, WI 54301-3614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Green Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Green Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astor House offers luxuriously comfortable, contemporary lodging in the small setting of an historic home. Whether you are passing through on your way to or from Door County or Michigan's UP, visiting the city for business travel, a Packer game (We DO NOT raise our rates for Packer game weekends!), To bike the Fox River Trail, or for a wedding night, anniversary, or a night away from the little ones, you will find the Astor House is your special place to stay in Green Bay. We are conveniently located on Green Bay's east side, only blocks from downtown area and the popular Fox River Trail for biking and jogging. Lambeau Field is only four miles or about eight minutes away. We are only ten to fifteen minutes away from the Oneida Casino and Door County is only 23 miles from our driveway. We are close to the Meyer Theater, fifteen minutes from the UW Green Bay campus and the Weidner Center. The Astor House offers convenient off street parking for our guests. Our five distinctively decorated rooms were created to cater to your comfort and convenience. Four of the rooms feature double whirlpool tubs. Most rooms also have a gas fireplace. Each room has a spacious private bath. All rooms have cable television, VCR and/or DVD, a stereo system with CD player and tape deck, small refrigerator, private telephone line, and air-conditioning. All rooms offer free wireless high- speed internet access. After a great night's sleep in one of our comfy Queen or King beds, you will have the option of enjoying a delightful hot continental plus breakfast served to you in either our parlor or delivered to your door, complete with some of the best coffees and teas you are likely to find outside of your own kitchen. Each year, the Astor House welcomes hundreds of new or returning guests from all over the world; people who have discovered the comfort, convenience, value, and warm hospitality of Green Bay's Bed and Breakfast. We invite you to visit our website and learn more about the Astor House. We look forward to greeting you on your visit to Green Bay! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing