We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food”
Review of The Wellington - CLOSED

The Wellington
Price range: $16 - $53
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

The homemade bread was awesome then the steak and potatoes were better! To top it off the chef came out talk with me. I highly recommend giving this place a try.

Helpful?
Thank 006r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    24
    7
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We went to The Wellington for New Year's Eve dinner with another couple. Atmosphere in both the bar & dining room were both beautiful and relaxing. When waiting to be seated, the size and ambiance in the bar makes such time enjoyable. We were offered seats right on time, in line with our reservation. Staff--from host & hostess, to both bartenders, to our server were all attentive and friendly. The New Year's menu was five courses, and the timing of delivery to our table was excellent, as we were able to truly enjoy each course without being rushed--yet didn't feel we had to wait unreasonably long for the next course. Food was delivered at a truly excellent pace. Each of the four of us ordered steak--cooked a total of three different ways. Each of us described our steak as perfectly done. Food that comprised every course was simply delicious--their choices & preparation of these dishes was certainly top-notch. We have eaten at The Wellington before, and have never been disappointed. This night was absolutely above and beyond, and we will continue to go back, many times in future. Great job!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cudighi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, WI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect restaurant!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I wish that it was possible to rate this restaurant at more than five stars! Six of us ate at this fabulous establishment on December 21st prior to the next day's Packers game. The food, the atmosphere, and the service were absolutely perfect. Corynne, our server, was extremely knowledgeable about the menu, and offered several excellent suggestions. We met the owners, and they were very welcoming and expressed appreciation for our business. Great customer service! My only regret is that we don't live closer to Green Bay. This is definitely our newest "all time favorite" restaurant. We will return!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PackerFan1252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Unbelievable food”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Recently ate at the Wellington during a Packer weekend. Hidden gem in Green Bay. Would rate above Chop house at 1/3 the price. Went with a group of 8. Everyone's food was excellent.
Filet would rival best in state. Scallops outstanding and grouper excellent. Young waitress was wonderful. Met owners at Bar after eating while having after dinner cocktail and they could not have been friendlier. Truly a dining experience, excellent atmosphere with beautiful surroundings. Will go back to Green Bay just to dine because of food and service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joe n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
1 review
“BETTER THAN EVER!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had not been there for awhile and were very impressed with the lobster and steak for two item on the menu. I was told they have a new chef and he certainly seems to be first class. The desserts were outstanding--especially the chocolate cake. The service was superb! We will be back often.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wellington also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing