We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for couples”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. Brendan's Irish Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Green Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mariposa, California
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great for couples”
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We had upgraded room, ensuite. It is open to the bathroom with double whirlpool tub and giant rainfall shower (toilet in separate room). Comfortable bed, very comfortable chair/recliner. Good location with on site bar/restaurant. Seem short staffed at front desk. Breakfast includes omlets.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank suzette p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    54
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
14
105
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have stayed at St. Brendan's on several occasions and have never been let down. The rooms are special. The sevice is good with a really good resturant. I also enjoy the bar. It has an authenic Irish feel about it.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor and it was vaery quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob5432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent two nights at St. Brenden's Irish Inn on a weekend getaway with friends recently. It was their year to pick the spot and they chose this inn because they had stayed there a couple of times before. When we arrived, the front desk person was a bit frazzled and, consequently, was a bit "short" with us (she was there when we checked out and was very nice - must have caught her on a bad day). Our rooms were on the third floor. The room was nice, it had a comfortable bed, recliner chair, jet tub (which my wife really enjoyed), and walk in open shower (which I liked). The bathing facilites were in the open - no privacy - which didn't bother us, but might not be to the taste of others. The sink area was small - not a lot of room to put your shaving/make up kits. We played cards with our friends and had to use the hope chest as a table and bring in a chair from our friends room, but there wasn't any other place in the inn to play cards. I liked the lounge, there were good selections of domestic and Irish beers and ales. The prices were on the high side, but not outrageous. We ate dinner on one evening of our stay - dinner was included with our package, which was nice. I thought the steak was excellent, as was everything that came with it (five stars for dinner). It wasn't the biggest steak I've ever had for dinner, but was cooked perfectly and very good. Live entertainment later that evening was a man and woman who played Irish songs (fiddle and guitar), cajun music and some contemporary folk-type songs. They were absolutely wonderful if you like that sort of music - we did. St. Brendan's location couldn't have been better (five stars for location). The first day, we walked to a local winery and, later, to a restaurant downtown (only a few blocks). St. Brendan's is located on the Fox River (I think it's the Fox) and there is a fantastic walking/biking trail that we used extensively. All-in-all, St. Brendan's Irish Inn was pricey, but a nice getaway for our annual weekend with friends. Honestly, though, I would not have paid the price if it wasn't a special weekend. Nothing about service made me excited about returning (housekeeping did a marvelous job!). In my opinion, it was just too pricey for what you get (with the noted exceptions). I'll give it four stars, but I may be somewhat generous.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary_and_Sue_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Check in was relatively smooth. Need second person working desk. Service could be a little better. Room was really neat. Only things that I would change, as a business traveler, need a brighter desk light, and a real desk chair. Hard to work at the desk.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Astoria1239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at St. Brendan's several times over the years. We usually have the same experience, OK, not great. While the rooms are nice and the tubs welcome staff is the letdown.
Most of the staff works hard but no one has taught them what a really great lodging experience is. There are no 4 or 5 star hotels in Green Bay. They have no example to follow.

St. Brendans has a good location on the river and is close to several dining and drinking options within walking distance. For Packer fans there are several Packer Heritage sites nearby on the 2.5 mile walking tour.

The rooms are comfortable enough but could use an update. Beds are a bit small but linens are nice. The bathroom and whirlpool are what brings people in and makes for a romantic soak.

The staff is mostly college students. They do OK but they really don't have an example to follow and like most students they can't multi task or anticipate a guests needs. They need to be told in simple terms what to do. I think a top notch management team could polish the staff and make it shine.

Room Tip: Stay away from a "snug" they are exactly what the sound like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HARLEYFLTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I, to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary, stayed for one night at St. Brendan's Inn while vacationing in Wisconsin. When checking in, two young women were manning the front desk; one of them was wearing an old t-shirt and shorts. Not classy.
We were assigned "Snug" 212, which was disappointing to say the least. Located right next to the elevator (which was not a problem - no noise), the room, which was already quite "snug", was basically cut in half due to the elevator shaft. My husband and I hardly had room to move around, to say the least. Considering the hotel was almost empty, the room assignment was a very poor introduction to this hotel. The next morning, my husband couldn't regulate the temperature in the shower, so neither one of us were able to take one.
When the shower problem was reported to the front desk attendant when we checked out, no apology was offered - she just stated she'd report it to maintenance.
All in all, St. Brendan's was a disappointment and we do not recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NanaCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Nice location that is quite at night but still near a lot of activity in the area. Easy to find also. Rooms were nice with a large bathroom. Wife and I stayed with two little kids in a suite and they brought up an extra bed to the room. Bed was very comfortable. Spacious, clean and a good breakfast each morning. Staff were very nice and helpful. Walking path on the river with art work steps from the hotel looked really nice but didn't have a chance to use them this time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSatelmajer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Green Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Green Bay
Hyatt Regency Green Bay
#5 of 41 in Green Bay
804 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Green Bay Downtown
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#26 of 41 in Green Bay
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Green Bay WI.
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Green Bay
Hilton Garden Inn Green Bay
#10 of 41 in Green Bay
615 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Green Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Brendan's Irish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Brendan's Irish Inn

Property: St. Brendan's Irish Inn
Address: 234 S Washington St, Green Bay, WI 54301-4213
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Green Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Green Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Brendan's Irish Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to St. Brendan's Inn, Green Bay's Premier Hotel for Irish Hospitality. St. Brendan's Inn, located in Green Bay, Wisconsin, offers sophisticated lodging accommodations, authentic Irish food, Irish drink and Irish music - all in an elegant, yet comfortable, setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your St. Brendan's Irish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Brendan`s Irish Hotel Green Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing