We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A favorite!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hinterland Brewery & Restaurant

Hinterland Brewery & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Hinterland Brewery & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 461 Restaurants in Green Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Broadway
Description: Hinterland..the hub of contemporary American cuisine in Green Bay, WI. Executive Chefs, Ben Raupp and Kelly Qualley, explore a multicultural approach to cooking and eating. Their journey to create bold flavors and uncommon pairings is a daily mission at Hinterland.Private Dining..Our lounge is the perfect space for your next rehearsal dinner, birthday celebration, holiday party, or business dinner. With seating for large groups, a fully-stocked bar, built-in LCD projector and big screen, Hinterland's private lounge is sure to impress. Catering..Let us bring the experience and sterling reputation of Hinterland directly to your door. Whether you're entertaining 20 guests or 500, Hinterland delivers the finest catering services available. Let your imagination wander, giant South African prawns, authentic wood fire grilled Kobe beef tenderloin, the sky's the limit. Not only will we provide a professional and friendly staff but you'll have our team of chef's at your complete disposal.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Love love LOVE this place. The atmosphere, the food, and the beer are all fantastic and we are honestly never disappointed. Our most recent visit was just as amazing! This time however, we were even more impressed with the service than usual. Our waitress was great, but other servers dropped by to ask if we needed drinks and worked together to bring them to us quickly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CassieJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    42
    25
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice place to kick back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Atmosphere was wonderful, and you know the beer is good. It is good for friends or family and the food was good too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, IL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good, but the service and cold food ruined the experience.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We found the Hinterland after our original dinner plans fell through. After the great reviews on Yelp, we decided this would be the place. The parking lot was full, the people leaving seemed happy, we were set.

We sat in one of the areas near the parking entrance. There were a few couples there, and the area was relatively quiet. Most of the "party" must have been upstairs in the lounge area. Fair enough, as I don't really need loud noises while I eat.

We started with some curds (delicious) and moved on to the entrees. We were offered beer samples, and while delicious, they took forever to arrive. Once we finally received the beers we ordered, we noticed that they didn't fill them to the same level. The waiter attributed this to a "new keg." Oh, so, take care of that next time, right?

After we enjoyed our curds, we waited for well over 30 minutes for the rest of our food to arrive. We were offered another beer sample, which didn't come quickly (even though our proximity to the bar was within eyeshot) and we could tell the waiter was irritated that the bar person kept leaving their post. However, once we received our second beer, and our food, things seemed rather good.

You know, until the first bite of the burger. This is a first. The burger, on the bun, was cold. The fries, scalding hot. Well, we ate it. It was getting late, we had no more time to wait, and we needed to get on with our night. However, the next time in the area, we'll probably give this a miss.

To be honest, the beer, and the food was pretty good. The service speed, and the cold burger, kind of ruined the night for us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakey450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
160 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great group tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We visited Hinterland as part of a group tour and enjoyed it very much. The owner conducted the tour, which was very detailed and informative. There were many different beers available and the one I tried, which I think was called cherry wheat, was great--very smooth and just the right amount of kick. The group was treated to a very tasty taco bar offering three different types of meat. Although I am not really a big beer drinker, I really liked this place and would return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were having a hard time finding decent food in Green Bay, and after driving around (Monday night) all over the place to find places closed or not appetizing, Hinterland was brought up. It had been mentioned to me at the airport by a native of Green Bay, and had great reviews on multiple sites, so we went. This was my birthday dinner, so I was really hoping it was good.

It was fantastic! The service was really top notch, the wine the same, and the food magnifique! I wanted to try the whole menu. If I lived in Green Bay (gosh help me, I never will!), I would eat at Hinterland as often as I could.

By the way, they change their menu daily to fit the fresh food they brought in that morning. That should tell you a lot about the quality of the food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hinterland Brewery & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hinterland Brewery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing