We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay, but not great.”

Dickey's Barbecue Pit
Ranked #229 of 461 Restaurants in Green Bay
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dickey's Barbecue Pit prides itself on authenticity, innovation and barbecue sauce, one store at a time. With roots in Dallas, Travis Dickey set out to perfect Texas-style barbecue.In 1941, Travis Dickey opened the first Dickey's Barbecue Pit in Dallas, Texas. Space on the restaurant's sign was rented out to help pay the start-up costs for the restaurant and the menu was limited to beef brisket, pit hams, barbecue beans, potato chips, beer, bottled milk and sodas.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
“Okay, but not great.”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I'm a Missourian who has traveled a bit and had BBQ in a variety of cities, states, and backwoods locations. Dickey's is okay, but I've eaten at a lot better spots out in the sticks where you walk by the smoker/grill on the way in the door, you get served on styrofoam plates with plastic forks with Wonder bread on the side. The BBQ at these places is usually the best you'll ever eat. Dickey's "ain't it." The big sandwich is not big, as a matter of fact it's small. I did not have a bad experience there, it's pretty good for a fast-food type of place this far north of the Mason-Dixon. However, Texas Joe's is about a block away, it's a proprietorship not a franchise, and it is just plain better BBQ. Drive or walk a few minutes down to Texas Joe's for the real deal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    11
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Leaves you wishing there was a good BBQ place around”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Quality is on the poor side. Gave it three tries about 3 weeks apart. Very fast food feel with the servers matching attitude. You can find much better BBQ at places around town that don't even specialize in it. I get coupons for free sandwiches in the mail that I just throw away. Doubt they'll survive another year.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ButterbeanGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good bbq”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great bbq but not Green Bay's Best. Over ranked. Sorry.

The place is the best bbq in town hands down. Not the best restaurant in the Green Bay Area as TA is ranking it.

Hey TA.....get this right. You always rank stuff stupid.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank oldredwine99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
“Excellent BBQ”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great food, friendly atmosphere. The smoked turkey, chopped brisket, and sausage is amazing. Try the mac & cheese, onion tanglers, and beans (BBQ or jalapeno) for some tasty sides! Kids eat free on Sundays with a paying adult.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Finally a GREAT BBQ restaurant in GB!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I'm from the South and moved here for my husband and found it very frustrating that GB did not have a great BBQ restaurant to dine at. I absolutely LOVED the food. The Texas Brisket was so tender and juicy!!! The sides that I had were there Green Beans with Bacon and Southern Style Potato Salad (which was like a hot cup of buttery mashed potatoes w/ cheese, bacon pieces, with chives on the top..............YUM....need I say more.

My husband had one of the specials and had the mac and cheese and waffle fries.....tried them as well.....delish again!

The atmosphere is perfect for a BBQ place....very clean and after the meal (if you have room) you can get a small cup of ice cream for free :).....BTW.....they also have some great sweet tea!

My husband and I both decided this will be a staple for us! Nice job Dickey's! You know how to BBQ!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mlaaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dickey's Barbecue Pit also viewed

 

Been to Dickey's Barbecue Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing