We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delish!”

The Black &Tan Grille
Ranked #56 of 465 Restaurants in Green Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delish!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Everything was wonderful. Definitely a place for us to go as a treat as it's a little pricey for us. We had crab cakes for an app, which were tasty with the spicy aioli and were also a decent size. Then we had a salad and bread service. My favorite was the olive bread, yum. My husband and I both had the 8 oz black and tan steak, which was cooked to perfection and very good. We left stuffed! Also, the summery cocktails were amazing. I had a pear cocktail and the x-rated lemonade. We can't wait to go back! Our server, Jason, was very attentive and knowledgeable also.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    23
    11
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Special restaurant for a special event”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We decided to go to the Black and Tan for our anniversary. We called ahead and made a reservation- which they accepted which is always nice when there is only two people. We had a window seat so had a nice view of Washington street and the Fox River. The food was wonderful- we both had the Rib Eye steak and it was done to perfection. The bread service is always good- fresh and still warm. The dining was leisurely -- which was fine since we were in no rush to go anywhere. We had a bottle of wine with our dinner which added to the meal. Our waitress was wonderful, She asked if we were celebrating any sort of event and we toldher it was our anniversary. She congratulated us andoffered us a complimentary sessert which she boxed up for us. It was a very good meal and a wonderful evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suemay07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One good, one not quite”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nice place. Bar area has nice views, wait staff was good. Great martini choices, though we had the Black and Tan. Dining room is upstairs, and also provided a nice view of downtown. Wait staff was good, also. Lots of great choices on the Spring Menu. My wife ordered the Grilled Rib Eye, I ordered the Manhattan and Scallops. Her rib eye was very, very good. My dish was supposed to be a NY strip and scallops. Scallops were excellent - perfectly done. My steak was cut into small "quarters", I think to make it look like there was some amount of meat included - it was a small portion. The steak was also rather tasteless. I tried a taste of my wife's rib eye - and there was no comparison. Other than that, it was a nice dining experience. We will go back, but I will not order any kind of "surf and turf" as it seems they held back the portions (the 3 scallops and very small steak was more expensive than my wife's rib eye). It was our anniversary, so our desert was no charge - and the pecan pie was very, very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Black1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Maine
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great food, great service! despite being a meat restaurant, the salmon was superb - well matched with wine. Bread was fresh and a treat with several home made options. side dishes offered were varied with zesty options! My waiter was the most professional and helpful - He made the visit extra enjoyable with recommendations and appropriate attention!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank localfoodie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Do not miss the chance to dine here!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Fantastic. Upscale, refined and did I say, fantastic. Manhattan strip is perfection. Prawns perfectly done. Bread course, great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TRP21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black &Tan Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Black &Tan Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing