We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dining”

The Black &Tan Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The Black &Tan Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 467 Restaurants in Green Bay
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Green Bay
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent dining”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The food was outstandingly prepared. As excellent as remarkable places eaten all over the world. Waiter was knowledgeable and offered great wine recommendation. So proud to be able to enjoy such fine food and not have to travel so far. Well worth the money and delightful environment.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    24
    11
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Most disappointing service. Ever.”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

After researching dinner options in Green Bay, we were excite to find it...until we got there. Despite a reservation made one month in advance, we were sat next to a service door in the back, our waitress was changed and the orders were not transferred. Bread service took an hour. Water glasses and wine went empty. Entrees came 2:15 hours layer without an explanation or apology. This was truly an exceptionally bad dining experience. Thankfully the company and conversation were great as they were the only things that saved this evening - the service at this restaurant was inexcusable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coati7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
green bay
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My wife and I had a great experience here. The food was good the atmosphere was great and the service was good. Expensive but worth it once a year for a special occasion.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank husbandGreenBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
135 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very Quiet”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We ate here after a Packers home football game and it was dead. The food was very good and the service was very good until we were done with our entrees when our server disappeared for like 30 minutes. We were so tired after the game and travel we just wanted to go back to our hotel and we almost fell asleep at the table. I would have given this restaurant a "very good" rating if it wasn't for that.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelin4300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
137 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice place for a couple or a group”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was here with a date and it was a good atmosphere for conversation. The bar is located at ground level and the restaurant is upstairs. We attended right after a Packers game but didn't feel out-of-place wearing our Packers gear. Donald Driver was at a table with his wife nearby- this was a bonus for us! We congratulated him on a great game against the Jaguars as he passed our table on his way out. The menu had just the right amount of variety; I recommend the steak but will warn you that the portions are big. The selection of home baked breads served before and with the meal is also a plus.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shinjin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black &Tan Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Black &Tan Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing