We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Green Bay
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Green Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed there in October for a conference. The rooms are clean and good-sized; plenty of room for us to spread out. But the room was too warm, and you can't change the temp. When we got there, I immediately noticed the room was warm (72.5 deg) so reset the thermostat for 66. By bedtime, 4 hours later, it was down to 72.3. I called the desk to see if anything could be done, and they explained that they have a "green" HVAC system, which means the system averages the heating/cooling requests of all the hotel guests, so you don't actually have much control over your room. Their advice: open the patio door to get some fresh air in. This also, unfortunately, lets in the noise from the rather busy street below. And how much of a "green" system can it be if the system is fighting against all the people who've opened their outer doors?

Breakfast was fine--not great, just okay. Coffee was horrible.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnonymousMSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    256
    91
    48
    17
See reviews for
233
173
33
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed for couple of days in Hotel Sierra last weekend. This is a great place to stay. The rooms are great ! They also provided complimentary drinks and complimentary breakfast. Breakfast was awesome. I will highly recommend this place if you are planning to stay in green bay area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nilotpalr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Visited Green Bay for a conference and stayed at the Hotel Sierra just after its purchase by Hyatt in Sept. 2011. The hotel entrance is beautiful and the staff was very friendly. The courtyard has a lot of natural light coming through. The iron work of the balconies reminds me of the French influence in the French Quarter. The rooms were surprising...extremely large! They reminded me of a Hyatt Place, but with a full wet bar and bar stools. So much room in the living room and the bedroom. Wish the bathroom and closets had more space. Overall, the price was excellent and the hotel was comfortable. Room service was delicious as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkins, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Very nice accomodations plus a delicious breakfast! I was there for a conference, and everything was very convenient and close. Very friendly staff and clean facilities. Loved that the rooms had a separate sitting area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 526texasgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We just spent 5 nights at Hotel Sierra and it was pretty great. It was clear the hotel has been remodeled recently - new carpets, furniture, etc. Our room had 1 king bed with a separated living/bar area. The actual sleeping room is on the exterior walls with a push door that separates it from the living room. The bed was comfortable and had a tube TV. The bar has fridge and microwave. The bathroom is tiny and awkward to get in, but perfectly manageable. The living area had a small sofa with a wall mounted TV. The sofa was nice to lounge on, but the location of the tv in the corner seemed really odd and difficult to watch.

Maid service was prompt and our room was spotless. All the breakfast areas, rooms, and restaurants were very clean and there was always staff there cleaning or vacuuming. The breakfast smells in the morning did fill the entire atrium and filter into our room. Not a big deal to me. We ate in the pub often. Really great food and drinks at inexpensive prices. Average price was about $8 for a salad, $10-12 for sandwich/fries. There is a free popcorn machine in the pub. The staff in the pub were super friendly and quick.

We didn't check out the pool or fitness rooms, but it did look a little dark and a tad dated in there. At check out we spent about 30 min resolving billing issues. They charged us for water when we didn't drink it ($2.50 per bottle) and couldn't split our billing for our additional person. FYI it is $20 per additional guest for breakfast in the morning. Other people in our party had similar problems with check out. Luckily we had someone in our group that is really good at 'negotiating' and it was resolved.

This hotel is directly connected to the KI convention center so it was really handy for us. We walked to Titletown Brewery (wonderful beer! across the river), Coaches Corner (across the street) and Angelinas (wonderful Italian about 4 blocks south).

Pros - Good location, comfy beds, nice selection of breakfast items,
Cons - Slowwwww elevators, front desk needs more training

Other notes - Green Bay is an industrial/blue collar town. If you don't like the look of dingy warehouses or smokestacks, you might as well drive further up north to Door County. This hotel was comfortable and priced right for where we were.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Technotica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Spent one night here while doing the Lake Michigan Circle Tour. Got a hit on Priceline, but knew this would be the hotel. Nice place. It sits next to the Convention Center downtown. It came with free parking and a hot breakfast. I was afraid the large atrium and tile floors in the lobby would make it noisy. But after closing my bedroom door (closing off the hospitality suite portion of my room) I didn't hear a thing. No surprises: nice place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug_Doodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison WI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Well-appointed rooms (beautiful B&W framed photographs rather than boring hotel prints) in a great location. Here for a seminar and they did an excellent job getting us checked in and all set. Ballrooms were nice, albeit a little cold (as most conference rooms are). Breakfast was okay - didn't like the quality of the omelets. Thought they should use real WI cheese (not icky American cheese) and better ingredients, but I'm pretty picky about omelets. Buffet food was hot and decent. Great service. I forgot my cell phone plug-in so was sitting in the Business Center area to charge my phone at 10:30pm at night on the computer and they rustled me up a charger that worked so I could go back to my room.

Room Tip: Away from elevators if you want the upfront suite room to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebGMadisonWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Green Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Green Bay Downtown
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Green Bay North
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Green Bay
Hampton Inn Green Bay
#4 of 41 in Green Bay
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Green Bay
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Green Bay
Hilton Garden Inn Green Bay
#10 of 41 in Green Bay
600 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Green Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Green Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Green Bay

Property: Hyatt Regency Green Bay
Address: 333 Main St, Green Bay, WI 54301 (Formerly Hotel Sierra)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Green Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Green Bay
#5 Business Hotel in Green Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Green Bay
#12 Family Hotel in Green Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Green Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all hotels in the area, Hyatt Regency Green Bay, is the only one to claim the KI Convention Center as its adjoining neighbor. Experience comfortable luxury and Midwest hospitality in Wisconsin's oldest city, home of the Packers' history-rich Lambeau Field. A Suite, Restful Retreat for the Long Haul Traveler. We get the balancing act required for taxing travel and that's why we strive to inspire real life routine while treating you to unexpected touches of luxury. It's this and our unrivaled service that set us apart in a hundred little ways to allow you to live your best life while on the road. Hyatt Regency Green Bay, helps tackle the modern mix of chaos and never-ending expectations on the road via intuitive, value-add amenities, intelligent design and no-is-never-an-answer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Green Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt On Main Hotel Green Bay
Sierra Hotel Green Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing