We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inventive flavors and great food”

Kopp's Frozen Custard Stand
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Glendale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Inventive flavors and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The flavor of the day they come up with are unique but always tasty. Everytime I am in the area I make it a point to visit this place as you never know what creations they will be whipping up. The chicken sandwiches are huge and will not leave you wanting for more. In addition the onion rings are excellent. Bring your appetite and an open mind and you will leave this place more than satisfied.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    616
    194
    41
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
208 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Love this Custard!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Anyone that comes to Milwaukee needs to stop at one of the 3 Kopps locations and have one of their custard creations or their burger. On a nice warm day, there will be a line but it goes fast and it is worth the wait. Two of my favorite flavors are peach Melba and tiramisu. Oh, and by the way, it's not "just a burger".

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 534PatM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
132 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“How do people in WI not all weigh 500 lbs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We loved this place. Every time we visit WI we have custard. It gets better each time. Kopp's has a really neat set up. You order and there is outside amphitheater style seating on concrete slabs. We loved the ice cream and have heard the burgers are good but didn't try them.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ohiocoalminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTE MUST DO!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Although the food is great, it is the custard that must not be missed! The classic white paper hats and white uniforms bring back a lost time yet are modern classy with the stainless steel counter and huge custard machines banging out the pure heaven only found at Kopp's. The burgers and sandwiches are yummy, but you had better bring your appetite as they are not on the small side. The buffalo chicken and chicken caliente are nice if you like spicy foods. The custard though is the true draw to Kopp's! There is a reason that dignitaries and stars of film and music(Steven Tyler of Aerosmith popped in before an August show in Milwaukee) make frequent stops. The vanilla and swiss chocolate (RICH!) are always on the menu, but it is the flavor of the day that causes locals to plan trips to Kopp's. Our recent trip delighted us with our first taste of maple syrup and pancakes.......DELICIOUS! The maple flavor was awesome without being artificial or over the top. Tiramisu, any of the cheesecakes, caramel cashew, Sprecher root beer float (made with root beer extract from the local microbrewer) are just a few not to be missed. Call ahead for the flavors of the day or go online. YOU WILL NOT BE LET DOWN! There are a few stand up tables inside and benches to sit on out side, so plan on a very casual meal if you are dining here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FXDWG05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We definitely picked the right week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Originally from the Milwaukee area, Kopp's has always been a family favorite. Unfortunately we moved away over 14 years ago so it is now a very special treat when we can visit. The week for our vacation was the best week in August for flavors! The tiramisu was to die for! It was amazing, it tasted just like the dessert. Their Snicker's cheesecake custard was amazing as well. We also had Butter Pecan, Chocolate, Mr. Fudgie, Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough and Turtle Sundae. I have always enjoyed their custard and the food is good too, burgers are huge, beware! Typically if you go for the food, you will not have room for the custard. That problem can be easily remedied by taking a pint home of your favorite flavor! I cannot wait for another trip back!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kopp's Frozen Custard Stand also viewed

 

Been to Kopp's Frozen Custard Stand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing