We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience!!!”

Sprecher Brewing Co.
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Glendale
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice experience!!!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Oct 14, 2012: 12:00PM – 1:30 PM
Tour Duration: 25 minutes.
A very nice informative tour for any beer fan/enthusiast. The tour guide was James, who is a brewmaster there. And he talks about the history of beer, of Sprecher, and the fundamental processes involved in making & packaging beer in the actual facility. Got to know some interesting facts about brewing… difference between lager/ale, light/dark beers. The machines are never operational though during the tours.

After the tour is the fun part :-), where you get 4-8oz samplers of your choice among the 20 odd beers on tap. This is inside the manufacturing facility, a tented area, music and table/chairs, basics to munch: pretzels, chips, cheese. Though there is always a crowd and a line to get the samplers.

There are a lot of families visiting too, under 21 visitors get to tryout their root beer. Factoid: award winning, their largest selling product compared to all other (beer and sodas) 3:1!!!

All this for $5, good experience. Thoroughly enjoyed my very first brewery tour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDefacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    104
    43
    16
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Co Usa
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An Afternoon at the Brewery”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stopped in for the tour because several members of my family love root beer. We called ahead to be sure we had tickets and was glad we did. After a short wait and checking out the gift shop the tour began. We entered the room the beer, root beer & soda (pop) were brewed up in tanks. Not a lot to see but our guide gave us an informed presentation on the company history and the process. We then passed through a cool room and into the bottling area. This is a small brewery and it doesn't take much time tour it. At this time we were allowed to sample a prize winning fall beer or root beer. This beer did deserve the prize. Then it was on to the tasting room. The glass each was given to keep was about 6 ounces and was used for all our samples. They would rinse it for you if you requested. Each adult was allowed four beers and all were allowed as much soda as they could hold. I enjoyed several types of beer and then like the rest of the family proceeded to taste the pop. Sprecher's cream soda and orange cream were my favorites. I don't care for root beer but was assured it was really good by those who did. This was a fun afternoon and fortunately they have clean restrooms so I didn't have to float home. I recommend it for an easy, relaxing afternoon and of course tasting all the drinks. I think most of us drank the price of the ticket.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ChocolateTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Tastings were great!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Tour was kinda blah, but the tasting room was amazing. Unlimited world famous soda, yes! The Beer flavored chips were good as well!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must do!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Do the tour and get free beer. The tour is $5 but well worth it. The beer is great! Fun atmosphere and great gift shop. Wonderful little brewery.

Helpful?
Thank Mandi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“More brewery fun”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

What else is Milwaukee famous for? Beer. Must go on some brewery tours. This is a good one because they also brew sodas and permit kids to join if you like. They have many beers and sodas to sample, so many good ones to try.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank stevenroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sprecher Brewing Co. also viewed

 

Been to Sprecher Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing