We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Fish Fry Fridays”
Review of Barley Pop Pub

Barley Pop Pub
Ranked #26 of 40 Restaurants in Germantown
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Germantown, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Fish Fry Fridays”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a good fish fry...coleslaw was excellent as was the substitute vegetable I ordered in place of French fries. Fish was also very tasty.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunnyhhdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    15
    15
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I have to say that since the new owners have taken over it is overall a lot better place to eat at. They have a good menu however we always seem to get bad service. The food is average, but the fish fry is good. May be awile that we return to eat here.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gtownmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Slow Friendly Service and Worse Food!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have given this place two chances and won't be going for #3. Both times the service on weekend evenings was very slow. The bartenders are more concerned with talking to their young friends at the bar than serving drinks and making money. Drink prices are not cheap for what you get.
The food service was worse. The last time we were there we waited 35 minutes for food ordered after 9:00PM with few other orders from other customers. One order came out cold. The management was notified and did nothing but offer to take 50% off one order,even though it was not edible.
Skip this place and go down the street for better service and food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Big Portions Make Up for Mediocre Service.....”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our family of two kids (9 & 3) and two adults went to the Barley Pop Pub after receiving a $20 gift card from a local fundraiser. We went during the fourth quarter of a Packers game which may have been a mistake. With one woman who appeared to be the bartender and waitress, we had to wait a while to order and then receive our drinks. Thankfully, a large well equipped game room (kids never asked for a quarter!) kept the kids busy. We ordered the appetizer sampler, which was good, but not worth $12.99. The kids meals were well priced at $4.95 which included a drink and choices of applesauce, fresh raw veggies, or tater tots. The adults each ordered a burger and tater tots. The portions were huge and we asked for a box for the remainder of the food. Once the game was over, service was okay; nothing stellar.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerJenny8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“average”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Just an average place food ok prices were average service was slow and they were not busy. great deal on appetizers $4.00 till 6:00 on most of them

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ddawner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barley Pop Pub also viewed

 

Been to Barley Pop Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing