We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great area history”
Review of Ten Chimneys

Ten Chimneys
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ten Chimneys is the estate lovingly created by Broadway legends Alfred Lunt and Lynn Fontanne. With no ropes and nothing under glass, guests are treated to a VIP guided tour of a National Historic Landmark replete with original furnishings and overflowing with the romance of the 1930s and ’40s. “Every time I was visiting with the Lunts in Genesee Depot, I was in a sort of daze of wonder; the dining room, the table, the china, the silver, the food, the extraordinary care and beauty and taste…a sort of dream, a vision.”-Katharine Hepburn
NEWPORT, NORTH CAROLINA
1 review
“Great area history”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The knowledge and preservation of Tenchimneys was the cream of the region. The grounds in the fall is the side dish to a great experiance.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PHIL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    18
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williams Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful view of the world from their perspective”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

amazing for the time, the grounds, the pool, the people, and considering it's location. We enjoyed the visitors center and all that it offered, much better than Graceland.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marsha546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLLEGEVILLE
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a wonderful house museum”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A friend of mine invited me to join him in a visit to Ten Chimneys, the home of Alfred and Lynn Lunt in Genesee Depot, WI. The home is very well preserved, and the tour was very informative. The docents were friendly and very knowledgable. IF you like house museums, and you happen to be anywhere near Milwaukee, WI, don't miss this one.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights IL
Level Contributor
196 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Worth a side-trip from Madison or Milwaukee”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We toured the house and grounds of Ten Chimneys, the former home of Alfred Lunt and Lynn Fontanne. The house is an interesting time-capsule of a former era of theater greats. The individual rooms are smaller than you might imagine, given our present "Mac-Mansions", but the decor is as it was when Lynn died. Where else can you see bedrooms reserved for the likes of Noel Coward and Helen Hayes. The grounds are lovely, set in the rolling moraines of Wisconsin.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank macman1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level Contributor
294 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not an inexpensive tour”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Earlier this year we saw a traveling play about the Lunts, the Brangelina couple of their age. This piqued our curiosity so we detoured on our way home from Brookfield, WI. If you have no interest at all in the Lunts or their theatrical friends, then $35 each is a bit steep for a tour. The tour is given by two guides (one to give the spiel, the other to make sure you don't steal anything!) and shows off houses and grounds decorated mainly by Alfred Lunt. The tour is very one-sided, nothing negative is said about the Lunts - apparently they loved everyone and everyone loved them. So if you have 90 minutes and spare cash, then take the tour.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Dedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ten Chimneys also viewed

 
Genesee Depot, WI
 

Been to Ten Chimneys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing