We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem in a Little Town”
Review of Cornerstone

Cornerstone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dousman, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Little Gem in a Little Town”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Small but cozy little bistro with some interesting dishes. We eat there about two to three times a month, it's kind of a fall back place when we're looking for well-presented and tasty fare. It’s a small place but it always seems to take advantage of what is in season. The wine list is a little small but growing. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Prices are reasonable when you consider the surrounding eateries in the area, a bar, a diner, and a very upscale restaurant. It rather reminds us of some of the trattorias we visited in our travels in Europe.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    19
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always out of Avacado!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I've dined here a dozen times while working in the area. 9 times out of ten they are out of key ingredients advertised in their dishes. They don't tell you so it's a mystery you have to figure out while dining when they bring you a high priced meal which is missing the key ingredient! They are a bit hostile... I wonder who is the server and who is the patron most days. I avoid going because it's a negative experience. Nice decor. Slow service. Overpriced.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
136 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Cornerstone knows who they are and what they are doing!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Loved the olive grilled cheese and homemade fries! Came with a group of 10 and every one of us was delighted with their choice. After touring Ten Chimneys, we felt we were still back in the old days with the small town, family run feel and decor. Our waitress, Cabrina, accommodated separate checks and individual departure times with efficiency and a smile.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Siampayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLLEGEVILLE
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant with excellent food”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

A friend and I ate at the Cornerstone before we visited Ten Chimneys in Genesee Depot, WI. Our lunch was excellent. Very good food, and friendly, helpful service. If I am ever in Genesee Depot again, I will return to the Cornerstone Restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level Contributor
298 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Near to Ten Chimneys but disappointing”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We ate lunch here after visiting Ten Chimneys. Genesee Depot seems to be little more than a bend in Route 53 with not too much to offer. The restaurant's web-site makes the place appear posher and in better condition that it actually is - a small-town diner. Our first table location was too warm as it was near the front door on a hot day so we were moved to a table with a great view of the toilet doors and the kitchen. I had broiled cod while my wife ordered fried cod but got perch instead - however she didn't notice until the bill arrived. The food was OK. We would have tried dessert but one, of a newly-seated party of 3, had a really annoying laugh.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cornerstone also viewed

 

Been to Cornerstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing