We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveler rating
2
3
2
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
3
2
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 10 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2016

We found Pine Grove while on a ride down the Wolf River. We saw a little outlet and decided to boat down it. A leaving boater shouted to us to stop at Pine Grove which we did. It was a trip down memory lane. I don't think they have upgraded since the 1970's which was OK by us. It brought back fun memories as kids.
Part of the ceiling is so low the bartender had to duck, part of the charm. It was 90 degrees that day and they didn't have air conditioning, but it was cooler inside than out.
We didn't eat or spend the night, but we will be back for cocktails!

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelLevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

The place and especially the cabins seemed like it would have looked 50 years ago. For us that was good. We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, the clean conditions, and owners that showed they cared about us. Excellent meals available as well as pleasant conversations with the owners. All those that arrived by boat also seemed to love the meals. Electricity in cabin but no TV, microwave. We plan on going back again when we need to get away from it all.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Kshydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed 2 nights Came in on our boat,was not drinking until we got to the resort.. The bartender reminds us the time of check out and when the cleaning crew will be there..bc they have people coming in tomorrow!(are we not as important?) had a 2 friends drive in to visit us from out of town.. Got questioned if the were just day guests..which they were.. Bc you couldn't fit anyone else in the rooms..they felt awkward .. We order food and was told it's not Burger King bc we asked for rye bread instead of white bread.. For the money you spend we really didn't want to go back the second night and actually talked about going back home.. The owner and Sherri are extremely nice but terry the bar tender we found to be rude and ruining business for his brother! We are not going back.. We didn't feel welcomed.. After not only the money spent on food and drinks for pretty much 2 adult meals a day and 2 kids.. Next night he reminded us of what time the bar closed and when he would be able to leave after we left and when he would be back the next day.. Yah didn't want a debbie downer on our mini vacay..thank god or was only 2 nights and not the whole 5 days..

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Timmytatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just came back from a weekend at Pine Grove. Arrived Friday night and had the best Fish Fry I have had in years, Sherry's potato salad is amazing!! The cabins are dated and sparse, ours had 2 bedrooms, one with 3 twin beds, one with a double bed, there was a bench by the front door, a table with 4 chairs and an old dresser. There were no bedside tables or lamps, just a bare overhead light bulb, the double bed was so old and worn out that my husband and I couldn't share it as we just sunk to the middle (were forced to spend the weekend in separate bedrooms!!). There was no sofa or armchair in the cabin, if you wanted to stretch out and read a book you had to go to bed!! There was an old plastic table with plastic chairs on the little cabin deck, but once again no lawn chairs or area to relax and sit back.
Breakfast was delicious, and the Bloody Mary's just great!! The bar and restaurant are the focus of the resort, there is a big gazebo out front and picnic tables to gather, the owners are wonderfully accommodating and the clientele great fun. But the resort is very tiny and once again there is nowhere on the property to stretch out on a lawn chair or hammock, you can sit at the bar or at a table or you can lay down in bed,,,those are the choices.
We got an area visitors book and map and visited all the resorts listed on the Fremont area map, if we chose to come back to the Fremont area we would stay at Pine Grove again as the other resorts were either smack dab in the middle of residential neighborhoods, had no water view from the accommodations or had hundreds of trailers packed in like sardines! At least Pine Grove felt somewhat secluded, there are large trees and the property is well tended, and you could sit on your little deck and have a view of the water. The cabins are beyond dated however and not terribly comfortable,,,more of a guys fishing shack than a resort cabin. But we did relax and enjoy our stay and may come back if we can't find a better option!! Sherry and Terry were the best hosts I have ever had, they are very proud of their little place, very friendly and really want their guests to enjoy!!

Room Tip: Make sure there is some sort of sofa or easy chair in your cabin!!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynniegoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I have never had resort owners been as involved and concerned on how my fishing, resort, food experience would be! The area is absolutely breathtaking, the cabins are yes (dated) but VERY clean! The sunday breakfast is out of this world people from ALL over the area come here to have the best breakfast around! You could go anywhere in this area and see the same things BUT you will NEVER have the SAME EXPERIENCE!! thumbs up!!! LOVE IT!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzzayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews