We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stick with the Irish dishes”

The Monarch Public House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $14
Cuisines: American, Irish, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Overlooking the Mississippi River, at the foot of Eagle Bluff, the tallest point on the river. Wisconsin's oldest operating tavern and original to 1894, also features The Absolute Rock Bottom Pub and is home to the 1860's recipes of The Fountain City Brewing Co. 15 Foot pressed tin ceilings, hardwood floors and hand carved back bar, tables, etc. Soon to be listed on the National Historic Register.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“stick with the Irish dishes”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I had the rib special and they were tough and very greasy. The other three companions had Irish dishes and they liked them. We were there on a Monday night and the service was not very good - couldn't get the appetizer out before the meal, put wrong items on bill, didn't add discount first time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PPowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LookinAllOver, General Manager at The Monarch Public House, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to point out some problem areas. I will speak with our staff about why the service was not up to standard and it will be addressed. Not sure what you refer to about the "discount" but assuming you were staying at the motel or Hawksview, where we offer a discount on dining...of course, we need to know that up front so....
As to the ribs, they are smoked, so they "stick" to the bone and they are pork, so grease is inherent with the meat. Sorry they did not meet your expectations. If you had mentioned that to the waitress, I know we would have discounted your meal immediately. Hope you will try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    24
    14
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stop along the Mississippi”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a wonderful Irish Pub right off the river- great stop for boaters (public dock available) and motorcyclists alike! We stopped in just to have a drink and sat at the bar. We chatted with the owner "Jack" and he seems to know everything about Ireland. Very interesting dude and very cool to hear what he had to say. He told us about Irish whiskeys and that Jameson is a rail whiskey in Ireland where here it's more of a top shelf whiskey, so that was interesting. We didn't eat, so I can't say anything about the food. But the ambiance was great- they even have a private party room in the basement and a huge deck off the back of the restaurant facing the river (not sure about the view from there was a little too chilly to sit outside- they are a block off the river).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaelynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LookinAllOver, General Manager at The Monarch Public House, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for the nice compliments and so glad you enjoyed your time with us. Hope you may journey our way again and until that time, stay safe, enjoy the day and all God's Blessings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No service”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our group of 10 stopped in here on a Saturday night. Only people in here were on the patio. We were seated and waited 5-10 minutes and no one ever came over to take our drink order etc. We left.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LocntryWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LookinAllOver, General Manager at The Monarch Public House, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
I remember your visit distinctly, although I remember the details differently than you portray, as I was to be your server. Although you walked in with no reservation and we WERE very busy, I seated you immediately and gave each a menu. We always give people a few minutes to get situated, relax and perhaps think about what they want to drink. We keep specific watch on groups to determine our next stop to ask for a drink order. During that time, as I was walking back to your table, I was surprised to see you all leaving. Although I did not speak to you, I did speak to other members of the group who expressed thoughts other than your written reason for leaving. The stories do not match. Normally, I would invite you back for a second chance. In this instance, I wish you the best in dining elsewhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The atmosphere is great, the food is great, the cheese curds were awesome, the red lager was delicious. We were in a party of 13. The owner himself took our orders, brought us our food, and was very hospitable!!! Will definitely return. Wish we lived closer!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karpface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LookinAllOver, General Manager at The Monarch Public House, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hey, Thank you! Your group were all really nice people and we appreciate this "great" feedback. We will look forward to seeing you again and perhaps I will have time to sit down and enjoy a red lager with you! Stay safe out there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food in a nice place”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Monarch could remind you of an Irish Pub. Decorations are Irish and the menu is Irish and American. We stop in here often when we are in the area, and are always pleased and satisfied. The Irish choices that we have had are unique (like "Irish Champ" potatoes) and seem to be authentic recipes. Any fried items are not deep fried in hot oil but are done in a type of hot air cooker and come out nicely browned but not greasy or oily. The people here are friendly and seem quite proud of their place. Service is great, with patio seating in nice weather. One block north of main street in the center of Fountain City.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger30606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LookinAllOver, General Manager at The Monarch Public House, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Very much appreciate your kind review of our place and hope you will venture our way again sometime. My grandma would be happy you enjoyed her recipes! Enjoy the day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Monarch Public House also viewed

 

Been to The Monarch Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing