We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Friendly and Helpful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fountain City Motel

Fountain City Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fountain City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fountain City Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fountain City
Owatonna, Minnesota
Level Contributor
435 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Very Friendly and Helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

The owners, Neil and Cory are very friendly. This is a small motel, with every room a different theme, but not the high price. The motel is located far enough away from the RR tracks, so that you do not get rattled out of bed when the trains go by, and they go by quite often along the river, & Hwy 35. They have towels available to wipe down your cycle. The best part, was they let us use their car to go downtown for breakfest, before we put on our rain gear for our ride in the rain.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hortonville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

This motel wad a breath of fresh air after having stayed at a total dump (America's Best Value Inn) in Lacrosse the previous night! The room was decorated with a fishing cabin motif. Very charming, and the king-size bed was very comfortable. Soaps & shampoo was nice too.
Our group had spent the day boating on the Mississippi. Conveniently, the boat landing is right accross the street from the motel.
The owner was friendly. Met some other nice people at the gazebo.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilredhenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

When traveling through the small towns that dot The Great River Road on the Wisconsin side, don't expect to see Holiday Inn, the Waldorf Astoria, waterslide mega-parks or other examples of over crowding or unnecessary explosion of site use. What worked for decades for your parents and grandparents still works today...albeit updates and more amenities have taken place.
THE FOUNTAIN MOTEL is just such a place.
Driving up, you see what has always been: a small roadside motel that stretches horizontally along the road, rather then vertical to block out the view.
Clean, warmly remodeled rooms and hosts that care about your stay are the rule of thumb here. Want to get to the "downtown" and back after a few drinks? No problem, how about a ride there and back? Just call and they take care of it.
Where to take a ride, what to visit, where to eat, what's worth seeing....just ask and receive the best recommendations.
Not the Ritz...just hometown, casual warmth and a clean, comfortable stay.
Unless you cannot possibly survive without a pool, sauna, maitre'd, gym and on and on, you'll find this old style motel perfect for your night or weekend stay as you discover the beauty of the Fountain City area.

Room Tip: They also have "theme" rooms, ie: Harley Davidson and so on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LookinAllOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becker, Minnesota
Level Contributor
408 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

Fountain City is a very small town in WI. Fountain Motel is the only Motel in town. We were not sure what to expect, but wanted to stay in town to visit our son, who lives in Fountain City. This is the classic motel design where you drive up to your room door.

When we arrived an envelop was taped to the office door with you name on it and our room key inside. The owners wrote that they were at church and would be back in about an hour. We had a fun walking around this nostalgic town and had a pint at a very nice historic Irish pub called Fountain Monarch Public House. When we returned the owners were very helpful and friendly giving us advise on all the are restaurants and sites.

Our room had a up-north lodge decor. The beds were comfortable the room was adequately sized. The bath room was larger then some hotels. Shampoo, soap, and hairdryer were provided. It was clean throughout.

There is a very basic motel with no continental breakfast. We paid $60 per night. If you want to stay in Fountain City I would not hesitate to stay at the Fountain Motel. If you want something nicer or more similar to the standard hotel experience in America, I would look elsewhere. We will stay here every time we visit our son in Fountain City.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank curioustravelor2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fountain City
4.8 mi away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#3 of 7 in Winona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
7.5 mi away
Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Super 8 Winona MN
Super 8 Winona MN
#5 of 7 in Winona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
6.3 mi away
Alexander Mansion Bed & Breakfast
20.9 mi away
White Valley Motel
White Valley Motel
#1 of 1 in Saint Charles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain City Motel

Property: Fountain City Motel
Address: 810 S Main St, Fountain City, WI 54629-8220
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fountain City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fountain City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fountain City Motel is located on scenic Highway 35, internationally recognized as “The Great River Road” (voted one of the ten most scenic drives in America).We welcome you to the Fountain City area; and as our guests we hope to make your stay with us an enjoyable one. Please let us know if there are any special accommodations you may need and we will do our best to fulfill your requests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing