We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place to recharge & reconnect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fountain City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hawks View Cottages & Lodges
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“a place to recharge & reconnect”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Throughout the years, we have stayed in all but one of the cottages (Marshhawk). This visit we stayed in the Coopers Cottage & loved the serenity and privacy that this cottage offered. This trip, however, has us perplexed regarding the customer service. Here is why;
It seemed that on this visit there were posted, in various places throughout the cottage, several reminding notes; which came across to us as nagging. Such as; "washing dishes is not a service provided in this cottage".... the little notes seemed rude given the fact that it is quite expensive to stay in the cottages and that we have stayed other places that seem to word such requests nicer.

In addition, it seems like one night is not enough to recharge our batteries, yet we feel a bit taken advantage of when we spend a second night as we do not get a second bottle of while, nor any housekeeping services so it seems as though the innkeepers reap the benefit of customers who spend a second night. It would be great customer service to offer a second bottle of wine or some sort of discount for the second evening.

Room Tip: The location of the Coopers Cottage may lure you in (located highest) but the water pressure is BAD.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CMLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    7
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
33
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the Marquette Room, it is huge, fun small spiral stairs to the bedroom. It really feels like there should be room for four, but there is only one bedroom, and a pull out futon sleeper. One complaint would be the need for darker shades in the bedroom, I was up at 5:30 because of the brightness. We had all the shades down and at 5:30 I could have read with out any more light.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We have stayed here several times, as well as at the lodges down the road, and we are planning to go back this winter. It is the perfect peaceful getaway, and the views of the river through the trees in winter are especially enticing. A different scene from each of the huge windows. Beds are comfy, there's always a blanket on the couch to snuggle under and a Scrabble game on the shelf. Kitchen is equipped enough to allow simple meal prep but not so much that you are tempted to work too hard! We especially like the handmade, local touches like hand-cut soaps in the bathroom. Unlike some B&B's where you go to a common dining room for breakfast, Hawks View provides breakfast food right in the cottage, so you can eat whenever you'd like, still in your jammies!

The construction is fascinating too, with hand-hewn beams in the ceilings extending through and visible from the outside, and windows and decks in unlikely and interesting places. Unlike some reviewers on this site, we have never had an issue with cleanliness, rather the bathrooms sparkle, there's no dust anywhere, and you'll find mints in the little pottery dish on the bedside stand. Yes, it is a climb up the steps, but that is noted on their website, even saying which one is higher--after all, that is why they are called Hawks View.

Be ready for train noise, yes, that lonely, haunting wail in the night, contrasted with watching the quiet river through the trees during the day and spotting the occasional eagle. We think you'll be captivated, as we have been, by this peaceful retreat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abcfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Before I left for my stay at the Hawksview Cottages, I read all these reviews and having some experience with those people who feel they just HAVE to vent over every little thing, I balanced those off with the many positive comments and made the trip.
VERY glad I did!
Unique only starts to describe these cottages. Yep, the driveway winds up to them and being situated on the side of a bluff that makes for an interesting trip. I was advised about no motorcycles or large vehicles and it is obvious why. Remember, you're going up the side of a bluff...not a mountain, but it isn't a little hill either! Be cool and don't cut the corners, no big deal.
Oh yes, there are stairs to each one..so what?
The view of Fountain City and the Mississippi River is superb and we relaxed listening to the sounds of the surrounding woods and enjoying the stars...so close it seemed we could touch them.
Woke up to a deer staring at us from the edge of the woods... so we stared back for what seemed a half hour. Eventually, he/she just wandered off.
Very clean, nice fireplace, all the fixings for breakfast and a bottle of their wine for our lunch. Which we saved for later as we ate at The Monarch Public House...we'll review that later, but it was great!
If you enjoy having some "alone time" with your significant other...this is the place. Go! Enjoy!

Room Tip: If you can't climb stairs, choose MarshHawk. Park and walk right in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LookinAllOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed two nights in Cooper. Clean, furnished comfortably. Breakfast for the two mornings was addressed by 8 eggs, one package of breakfast links, a container of frozen OJ and one very small loft of bread left in the fridge. I think the bread might have made it for both of us, although my spouse decided to use the bagels we'd brought for our trail lunches. Packets of peanut butter and jelly. Folgers coffee for the pot. No black tea, no herbal, only green tea and a decafe green tea. Unfortunately, when I was packing I thought, "who won't have black tea available?" Now I know!

What I really don't understand is why we were not alerted to the fact that we would have to climb 111 stairs to get to the cottage. Luckily, we were going simple on meals and had the smaller cooler. The last flight of a dozen or so was narrow; you had to put stuff down to haul up smaller loads.

On Sun we met a gentleman moving business boxes out of a cottage two or more down from us. When I said, "good morning" all he said was, "no one told me about 86 steps."

Didn't find out about the driveway and parking limitations until after the deposit was made. I have no idea how people get up that thing in snow and ice.

They've been in business for 11 years, so I guess the secret works for them.

I was left feeling like I had not been shown very much hospitality. If you want your guests to enjoy a hassle-free stay, give them the information they need to plan and prepare.

Room Tip: View of the river from Cooper will only be possible when the trees have no leaves.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank greenboatgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

No where on their website or on the phone were we told that you could not drive a large vehicle up to the lodge or that we would be walking all of the steps up to our place. Add to that we started calling at 4 pm to check our reservation and did not get a call back until 8 pm. Keys were left in some bar in town for our check in! It may be a nice place but you have to be able bodied to get there and they won't point that out until they have your deposit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joschind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

The accomodations here are great. The views are fun and enjoy the trains going by. Cottages are well equipped, very clean and comfortable. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelplanner55120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fountain City
5.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Winona
8.8 mi away
The Plaza Hotel & Suites
5.6 mi away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#4 of 7 in Winona
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
7.2 mi away
Alexander Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks View Cottages & Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks View Cottages & Lodges

Property: Hawks View Cottages & Lodges
Address: 17 North St, Fountain City, WI 54629-8718
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fountain City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Fountain City
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Hawks View Cottages Hotel Fountain City
Hawks View Cottages And Lodges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing