We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No access for large cars or minivans”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fountain City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hawks View Cottages & Lodges
Algonquin, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No access for large cars or minivans”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

No where on their website or on the phone were we told that you could not drive a large vehicle up to the lodge or that we would be walking all of the steps up to our place. Add to that we started calling at 4 pm to check our reservation and did not get a call back until 8 pm. Keys were left in some bar in town for our check in! It may be a nice place but you have to be able bodied to get there and they won't point that out until they have your deposit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joschind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    7
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
33
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

The accomodations here are great. The views are fun and enjoy the trains going by. Cottages are well equipped, very clean and comfortable. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelplanner55120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

The scenery is lovely and the house is great. But not really 4 bedrooms, two bedrooms, a loft and a bed and futon downstairs in the same room as the whirlpool tub. The downstairs is musty-moldy smelling and I became immediately stuffed up when I went down there. Was unable to go down there again. Badly stained carpet and dresser down there from water/mold. House was dirty, mouse ran across the floor. They knew one fireplace did not work and when we asked them to fix the one in the living room it took a while to get here. It was cold in here. For this kind of money it should be spotless and the heat should work. When we tried to capture the mouse and moved furniture, there was garbage under the furniture! The furniture is breaking down, footrest on the couch is broken. Hot tub is locked, as is the barbecue. Two burners on the stove don't work. The blinds and shades don't work well. Shower in loft has bugs/ webs in window. One washcloth each for a three day stay!
Lovely spot but place is starting to fall apart!

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank PMP11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawksview_9, Owner at Hawks View Cottages & Lodges, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Hello Trip Advisors Readers,
Following is our response to the unhappy customer above whose report is not accurate and deeply unfair.

"10/12/2010

Hello ...........,
Enclosed please find a check for one night of your 3 night stay in our Blackhawk Lodge in September.
You are aware that we have apologized for the “perfect storm” of sorts that occurred to make your stay less than what you expected and less than our high standards would lead you to expect. Several of the issues were related to the intense rainfall our area received just prior to your arrival, which was out of our control.
We want to tell you that we feel your description of your stay on Trip Advisor is very unfair, and several items you described were not accurate and we are not sure why you chose to defame us in this way..
The blinds in all the rooms work properly if one knows how to operate them correctly (open position before moving up and down – same with the patio door blinds as the information card indicates). The barbeque grill is in no way locked and is used by all or our guests. The stove burners all work properly but on 2 of them the inner metal ring was placed incorrectly and needed a half inch turn to allow the burner to light.
There is a notation in the “house rules” we have posted that the Health Dept. does not allow Hot Tub use by guests and it actually is empty and not functioning so we are not sure why you would have expected to have used it. It is not included in any or our advertising or amenities listed for the Lodge.
The furnace works fine and the fireplaces in Blackhawk Lodge are more for ambiance than heat due to the central heating/air system. We did not anticipate that a guest would not know how to adjust the thermostat to the heat position.
For 10 years we have worked extremely hard to operate our cottages and lodges as getaway destinations with the greatest possible comfort, while remaining deeply connected to a dramatic wilderness environment. Our cottages and lodges are surrounded by rugged forest terrain. You and your siblings’ earlier visits to our cottages and lodges would have confirmed their wilderness connection for you.
Now you’ve claimed the basement walk-out was musty, while utterly ignoring the fact that a record 6” rainfall occurred at the start of your stay, no doubt rendering every basement in Buffalo County damp, or wet, or worse.
You claimed that you and your companions had to endure an “infestation” of mice during your stay, but
Intensive trapping immediately after you left produced not even one captured mouse, and subsequent guests have not seen one mouse.

Laurie/Brad Nilles
Hawks View Cottages/Lodges/Suites
Fountain City, WI"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Whether your just married or celebrating your 25th anniversary. Every couple needs to read this review and plan a reconnection weekend at Hawks View in Fountain City. First about the property; Laurie/Brad Nilles built these cottages in 1999. Only they and God know why they chose to take on this crazy idea of building five beautiful cottages half way up a huge bluff overlooking the town of Fountain City WI and the Mississippi River valley. We are truly glad they did. When you arrive at the base of the driveway you find yourself quite impressed. The narrow driveway goes steeply up the hill with a couple of tight turns. No worry, just drop your vehicle into 1st or 2nd gear and head on up. Once you've done it you will realize its not as bad as you were afraid it was going to be.

Now you've finally parked and are excited to see what this is all about. Next you find you must climb some stairs but remember its all part of your impending journey. Looking up at these cottages you can understand what it feels like to live in a giant tree house just like Na'vi in the movie Avatar.

Upon entering you find the cottage has two levels. On each level you find a walk out patio, bathroom, a wall of windows overlooking the town and river valley. Upstairs you find a queen sized bed, fireplace and a large hot tub in the same over-sized bedroom. Downstairs full kitchen, living room area, another fireplace and bathroom. There was bread, sausage, eggs, OJ in the fridge and a bottle of wine on the table.

Don't look for a TV, if you need that stay home.

The town is cute, the Monarch Irish Pub was very friendly and a great place to grab a pint. Wine tasting in town from the local vineyard. If you want seafood drive the 9 miles to the Hillside Fishouse, fantastic seafood.

If you go, how you choose to spend you time is of course your business. We spent ours reconnecting, talking, and listening to each other. We reflected on our 18 years of marriage and how we want our next 18 to go. Make sure to read the journal pages in the cabin. It is filled with thoughts and feedback from past visitors.

Lastly, the cost, I feel they have priced this to allow anyone to afford it. Be careful once you go you will go back.

Please share this with anyone you you know who is married or in love.

Troy/Cathy

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank travelfan143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville,Il
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

Stayed in Lodge. Told 4 bedrooms. But really 2 bedrooms and a loft. Basement has twin and futon. Which were unmade.. Even though they were aware that we would need these beds. Allergy people could not sleep there because of mold smell .Loft is open so anyone getting up early would wake the loft dwellers. Brought food with but frig and freezer dirty. Were told when mentioned where the cleaning supplies were so we could clean ourselves. Area very nice to visit small towns nearby.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bartsNaperville_Il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

I would just like to say "amen" to the other 2 reviews I've just read. My husband and I stayed at Marshawk cottage 3 weeks ago, on our way home from a cross country trip. We were a little tired when we arrived and found the rest and peace and beauty that we needed. We had requested Marshawk because we were driving a van and didn't want to climb any higher up the steep driveway (we had read about the place ahead of time!) That was a good choice. The only slightly negative thing about our visit was the very loud train whistles which occur several imes night and day. On the other hand, we are glad that the Western trains seem active - our Eastern systems aren't used as wisely.

That said, everything else was A-OK! The furnishings, the location, EVERYTHING was really great!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alnmaryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Central Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2008

For anyone looking for a unique and meaningful getaway with that someone special, Hawksview is THE place. We just arrived home from our second visit and feel the need to spread to word of this amazing place. Unfortunately we have no knowledge of the lodges, but if they are anything like the cottages, they can only be wonderful as well.

I encourage everyone to go to their website, www.hawksview.net and check them out. In both instances, we have found the proprietors more than accomodating and helpful. As easy as it is to book a cottage, it is probably the least favorable part.

When you arrive to check in at Seven Hawks Winery, you will find a quaint and charming store with quite a few selections of local wines. A great part of the stay is a complimentary bottle of Seven Hawks to enjoy with your "significant other". You then travel to what can only be described as "the ride of your life!!" Bring the smallest vehicle that you have, but keep in mind that the climb is steep to say the least. Harrowing at worst. Once your vehicle has made the effort...it's your turn.

The cottages are a nice climb up a number of steps. Great cardio!!! BUT...you enter your cottage and almost instantly put all of your efforts behind as you enter a beautiful and well kept space. A well appointed living room and full kitchen are your first sights. As you explore your new home-away-from-home you venture upstairs and find the solace that brought you here. A big bedroom and a whirlpool bath (for two!!!) The one thing that is a must to mention (I wasn't crazy about it at first, but found it the best part of the place) NO TV!!! How in the world will we fill our hours here??? (Use your imagination ;-)

While there, make sure you visit the Monarch Public House for some of their finest ale. A trip north to Alma and Nelson is also well advised. Since you are so close to Wabasha, the National Eagle Center is a must see!!!

What is truly hard to explain is the solace and peacefulness of Hawksview. This is a place where time isn't a reality. You stare out above the river, through the trees and listen to birds chirping and trains rumble by. Without electronic distractions, you and your love get to spend time talking, playing games and enjoying each others company and conversation. I have no doubt that any visitor to this amazing locale will easily remember the myriad of reasons that they fell in love with this person in the first place.

Amazing things happen here. You need to find those moments for yourself. You will NEVER regret this visit!

  • Liked — Peace, Tranquility and Love!!!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank akbuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fountain City
5.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Winona
5.6 mi away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#6 of 7 in Winona
555 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Plaza Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
7.2 mi away
Alexander Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks View Cottages & Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks View Cottages & Lodges

Property: Hawks View Cottages & Lodges
Address: 17 North St, Fountain City, WI 54629-8718
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fountain City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Fountain City
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Hawks View Cottages And Lodges
Hawks View Cottages Hotel Fountain City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing