We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad place to camp”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Atkinson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jellystone Park of Fort Atkinson
Certificate of Excellence
illioinis
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“bad place to camp”
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We went for holloween weekend. The campsites are few and close togather.There are a lot of people that live there. All activites cost you a few bucks,no hey rides,haunted house ,maze and the golf carts are everywhere ,streets are narrow. You can only go trickor treating for one half hr,and where they tell you to. There contest was unfairly done,they go by whitches a or what ever they want There were children that looked great ,but could not win cuz they were not judged, there are bees all over the place. We also set up our site not knowing we had to get a special spug for electic they charge you for as we asked how to get electric they will refund the your money if when you check out and give them your reciept. And we had to ask for a garbage bag. Save your money go to another and pay a little more at least you save in the long run.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitty074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    58
    11
    10
    21
See reviews for
265
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Streamwood, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

First the positives...we have two girls, 4 and 5, and they had a great time. The pool was clean and nice and they had a lot of activities for girls such as arts and crafts, movies, and hay rides (without hay). Now for the bad part... we stayed in a deluxe cabin which was not deluxe in any way. The bed in the back room and the sleeper sofa were so horrible my husband slept in the car instead just to get some sleep. The carpet in the loft smelled so bad we couldn't even let the girls play up there and there were earwigs all over the cabin. We will be looking for other places for weekend getaways with the family.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JBoeldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, WI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We stayed for Easter weekend in June, it was a blast! Tons of fun activities to keep the kiddios busy! The golf carts are awesome - the park is a little big so we did prefer to rent one for the convenience. The summer is almost over and we have 3 more camping weekends planned there. Can't wait!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10615 schubert melrose park IL 60164
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

there was too many bees, nothing for the kids to do during the week.they live for the weekends/ the staff messed up my resverations , had us on rocks at first . they had a very small pond for fishing but no worms, for people staying the week, during the week most everything was closed up . I went expecting to give my childern a great time , but ending up fighting bees, my kids being bored , and a big head acke . I am very happy to be at home , I will never go back to jelly stone park in fort atkinson wi again . rita hayes melrose park IL 60164

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank rhayes170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

This our third year staying in a Deluxe cabin at Jellystone, we go with a large group renting out 6 out of 9 cabins. First the positives, it is a great place for a worry free trip with children. The kids love the activities, park, pool and the small pond for fishing. The negatives: the year round residents despise the "weekend people", watch out if you rent a golf cart, they take down you cart number and report you for imaginary violations and the management is just too happy to issue tickets. (our 16 year old son was issued a yogi permit to drive the golf cart only to be ticketed for driving without a permit $25 make sense to you? me neither). Quiet hours start early, we were sitting around a campfire without music playing, just talking and we were threatned with tickets for violating quiet time. Used to be more fun we are going somewhere else next year.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvtotravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville,Wi.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2009

One of our favorite places to camp especially if you enjoy camping in a relaxed atmosphere. The park is very clean especially the shower-bathhouses. They offer lots of activities for kids and even have a restaurant on site for rainy days when campfire cooking isn't possible. The golf carts are great for running kids to activities and potty calls.If you want complete silence after 9pm go to a state park ,here things are more relaxed and friendly so expect more night time noise not loud parties but people talking around camp sites with music playing at low volume.We have never had trouble sleeping due to this small noise level.As far as smoking at the 2 pools this is allowed but the pools are always clean and NO butts were on the pool deck or in the area.If people smoking is a concern for you don't inhale the campfire smoke or better yet go to the Wisconsin Dells and get a hotel room. They have many seasonal sites but people are friendly and easy going and we have never had a conflict with anyone.For golfers there is a course just outside the park and a minigolf course on site. Our family group ranges in age from 56 to 5. We can't wait for our next camping date in July 09.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucky1321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marengo il
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2008

it was the best weekend .they have thing to keep you busy all day long and the golf carts are great .everyone is so nice people say hello to you.if you give a bad review then you need a hotel not a campground.come and bring the hole family.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank lovecamping64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Atkinson
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Atkinson
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Janesville
Comfort Inn Janesville
#1 of 1 in Edgerton
74 reviews
4.7 mi away
Americas Best Value - Courtyard Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Janesville
Hampton Inn Janesville
#1 of 9 in Janesville
528 reviews
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Janesville - I-90 and US Highway 14
8.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Whitewater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jellystone Park of Fort Atkinson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jellystone Park of Fort Atkinson

Property: Jellystone Park of Fort Atkinson
Address: N551 Wishing Well Ln, Fort Atkinson, WI 53538-9513
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fort Atkinson
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Fort Atkinson
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jellystone Park of Fort Atkinson is a highly rated, award winning family campground and resort located in southern Wisconsin. With 569 sites and 13 cabins distributed over 80 acres, we are sure to accommodate your family for a weekend of fun. Our amenities include two heated pools, 18-hole mini-golf course, video game arcade, the Ranger's Kitchen and much more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing