We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Norm's Hideaway

Norm's Hideaway
Ranked #34 of 45 Restaurants in Fort Atkinson
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Deerfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Fantastic food! I especially like the fish. Kind of out of the way, but that's a good thing. You can get to Norm's by land vehicle or boat. They even have weekend breakfast in the morning! Love riding the Harley out there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harpo1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Central Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tucked away on Lake Koshkonong”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Friendly owner and staff. Fun menu; GREAT burgers. Something for everyone. Nightly specials and Sunday breakfast. Check out everything on the walls; this place is truly unique.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tasty and fun classic Wisconsin bar/restaurant!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Bring your friends and come hungry! We loved this place!
Went with a group of six for Friday Fish Fry and was surprised to find a table right away, although the place was pretty packed around 6:30pm! Classic Wisconsin feel with stuffed animals and fish everywhere! Love that Wisconsin is non-smoking: smoking was only allowed on the porch. Most people had the standard fried cod, I had bluegills, and one person had parmesan crusted fish. All of us loved it! Cod was around $8, while bluegills were about $14. Choice of potato included potato pancakes, which many of us had and loved (served with syrup and applesauce). We shared cheese curds, fried cauliflower, and a cheese-spread plate. They were all superb!
They take orders at the bar and bring food out to you. Took a bit to get service at the bar, but we weren't in a hurry. Although there is an ATM, I was surprised they do not accept plastic, so bring your cash!
I'd suggest Norm's for any type of group, from couples to families to friends. Not the best for a quiet romantic dinner, although the six of us found it easy enough to have a conversation, even though we were in the middle of the room, surrounded by packed tables.
They had a very large menu with a variety of pub foods and local specialities.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WiTraveler1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food and location”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Right on the Lake, Norm's offers great food and a north woods setting. It is very popular with locals and summer crowd so expect fast service but long waits for food and maybe a table especially on Fish Fry Friday. Arrive before five for table selection and faster service.

Has boat Docs for those on Lake Koshkonong.

Cash only with in house ATM.

Well worth the trip!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jrmmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norm's Hideaway also viewed

 

Been to Norm's Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing