We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem of a cafe”
Review of Cafe Carpe

Cafe Carpe
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Little gem of a cafe”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We love the Café Carpe and have been going there for years. We first heard the “Carpe” mentioned on Wisconsin Public radio because of its musical performances. Frequently we meet friends there who come from a different town. We usually go on Saturday nights for the excellent jambalaya. The desserts are very good also—carrot cake and chocolate decadence are our favorites. The wait staff and owners are friendly and attentive. We have also attended concerts in the intimate performance room.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VickiAnne_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
deerfield, IL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Carpe Diem”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Yes, time flies when you're at the Cafe Carpe. You just want to eat, drink, listen to the music, and be merry till the sun comes up. But you can't, so you just enjoy their wonderful food and live music offerings as often as you can.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank vivgonefishin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nothing special about the food. Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The people at the carpe are friendly, and the atmosphere is inviting, especially with a great view of the Rock River. but don't come for the food. Essentially, it's a salad and sandwich menu, and it is just overpriced for the quality. I first went there with two other friends, and we all had a taste of the others' food. And none of it was great. It wasn't exceptionally bad or anything, but nothing I wanted to pay $4 or $9 bucks for again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madcitypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“ROCK RIVER VIEW”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Friendly service, delicious food and a beautiful summer evening on the screened porch overlooking the Rock River. Tomato bisque soup made with coconut milk was buttery and amazing. Prices are very reasonable for the quality of the ingredients.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Btravelogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Cafe Carpe Diem!”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This place is wonderful!
We made the hour+ drive up to Ft. Atkinson to see one of our favorite performers and although we've heard about 'The Carpe' for decades, had never gotten around to stopping by. Now, we're kicking ourselves for missing out for all those years.
The food we ordered (cold sandwiches) was excellent, and the menu was sufficient enough for all tastes and the choice of beers was, too. We had the Deli Salami & Smoked Turkey Deli and will definitely recommend them both. The price was quite fair.
The concert room's small but there's not a bad seat in the house. I guess I'd call it 'living room cozy'. It was a pleasure to hear an old favorite perform in such an informal setting. The acoustics were great and I was able to get up and stand in the far back of the room and get a few pictures without bothering the listeners. Although our show was not crowded, I'd recommend reservations (they tape your name to the seats) just to make sure you've got a place to sit.
Cafe Carpe's a true treasure for old folkies like us and we'll be coming back many times.
Don't do as we did and just put off visiting the place. Cafe Carpe Diem!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldfolkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Carpe also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Carpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing