We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect for us!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy Cloud Lodge Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fontana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lazy Cloud Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Lazy Cloud Lodge Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Fontana B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for us!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

While pricey for us it was perfect. Not what you think of when you think of a B&B. Privacy is the key and we got it. Pictures of the inside of the rooms are exactly what you see when you walk through your private entrance. Pictures of the outside do not do it justice. It was peaceful and beautiful and very well maintained. Staff was very attentive when asked, and so non intrusive into our little getaway, while we sat under the gazebo, swung in the hammocks, or just strolled around. Clean from top to bottom, and was more than we expected. Great coffee in the mornings!(a plus for me). Romantic!! (a plus for both of us). Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrPicklesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeGenevaLady, Manager at Lazy Cloud Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We love reviews like this! It reaffirms that we have created the perfect “romantic oasis” for our guests.

All of the Innkeepers working at Lazy Cloud will tell you that one of the things they are very mindful of is our guests comfort and privacy. Each Innkeeper will make themselves available to chat, share history of the Lodge, make recommendations for local shopping and dining, etc., if that is what a guest would like; however if guests simply want to stroll the grounds, relax in the hammocks or spend quiet time in one of the gazebos, they will be respectful and not intrude on your quiet time.

When guests check out and we send them back to reality, we like knowing that we are sending them back home relaxed, refreshed and ready to make plans to keep that romantic fire glowing. Sounds like we definitely hit the mark with your stay!

We are looking forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    21
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
78
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pomona, KS
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a weekend getaway in the Enchanted Treehouse suite. The property and grounds are beautiful but there are a few unusual aspects at this property. First, there are no tv's in any of the rooms. We could go downstairs and watch tv in the living area, but a little inconvenient. Second, there are no coffee makers in the rooms, nor is there access to any downstairs. The air conditioner units in the windows were a little noisy and ran constantly. You have to pay additional charges for any soda, water, or snacks you use out of refrigerator. But overall the staff were extremely nice. The breakfast is not your usual fare at a b&b, just continental. Location was superb. Just 45min from Mitchell International Airport. Lake Geneva was very close, just 4 miles, and we really enjoyed walking downtown through the varied shops.

Room Tip: The shower for the Enchanted is actually downstairs. The fireplace was wonderful, but heats room up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeGenevaLady, Manager at Lazy Cloud Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
First of all we want to thank you for staying with us as well as thank you for your review. We always appreciate guest reviews and opinions; even if at times they are not what we want to hear. We read and take each review seriously.

TV is always the stickey widget isn’t it? In many of our reviews you will see that guests LOVE the fact there is no TV in any of the suites at the B&B. It encourages them to focus on each other and when they check out, they share that the time without TV was just what they needed. We do realize though, that being TV free is not for everyone, which is why 5 suites at the Inn do have TV.

Though the breakfast may not be traditional fare for a B&B, we do strive to have an ample selection of items so that there is something for everyone. We do hope you enjoyed some of the selections we had out, especially our Sticky Buns.

The Enchanted Treehouse Suite is truly one of our most popular suites, though it does bring with it some unusual aspects, doesn’t it? Including the shower being located on the first level of the suite! Did the Innkeeper share with you the history of the suite? We do believe it was where the stable boys slept back in the days when this location was a Polo Lodge.

We are delighted that you found the staff nice, and we couldn’t agree with you more on the location being superb! By the way, if you visit with us again, and find that you have got a taste for a cup of fresh coffee but don’t feel like heading out to purchase a cup, ask the Innkeeper on duty. Chances are more than good that they will make you a pot of fresh coffee.

Again we want to thank you for your review and we do so hope you will come back and give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Friendly staff. Loved that they gave us a bottle of wine, yummy chocolates and apple pie as part of our reservation. Relaxing and serene. Just what we needed before the craziness of the school year begins!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitchingmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night for a brief getaway and really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the Paul Newman suite which has a queen size bed, a day bed, a double whirlpool tub, and a huge fireplace, refrigerator, and microwave. Everything was spotlessly clean. We really appreciated the full scale toiletries in the bathroom and I especially appreciated the curling iron because I had forgotten to pack mine. The bathroom was a bit small with a tight squeeze in the shower. The grounds are beautiful and since we were there on a gorgeous summer night we loved the woodsy setting and the stars! We were late to the breakfast because of a mishap with insects at our table outside our room, so we didn't get to appreciate all the treats as we probably would have if we had gotten there earlier. But what we had was very good and a nice variety. It was nice to find a place so close to home that had such a far away feeling for us. I would recommend this for any couple who needs a get away. Probably not a place for kids. No TV which was just fine with us! It is a bit pricey at $235, but for one night we didn't mind.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueG269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
159 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect because this was very different from anywhere we'd ever stayed before, but we just loved it and came away feeling refreshed and closer than ever. The grounds are just beautiful, with lots of flower gardens and gazebos. We stayed in the Enchanted Treehouse suite, which has a private deck that's perfect for summer relaxing. The people were marvelous, very friendly and eager to please. There is no TV in the room, and at first I found this a little bit strange, but we ended up talking more than ever so ultimately it was a really good thing. Staying here was a very different experience, and I mean that in a very positive way. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeGenevaLady, Owner at Lazy Cloud Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks for reaffirming our belief that we all need to take time out to reconnect with our loved ones!
We are very happy that you had a relaxing stay. It’s amazing how the lack of a TV can make you realize what you have been missing, and fresh air and Mother Nature definitely add to the ambiance. Although we do have free WiFi, it doesn’t seem to be quite as intrusive as constantly available TV. The games available in the lobby, the outdoor games, and the tasteful romantic board games in the rooms also offer an opportunity for fun and closer communication. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

This was the first time my husband and I have ever stayed at a bed and breakfast, and while it was a pleasant experience at The Lazy Cloud, I don't think we will go back. It is very pricey in my opinion at $235 a night. We stayed in the Enchanted Treehouse room which is attached to the lobby. The shower is on lower level while the toilet and sink are on the main floor. The room itself reminded me of something out of a 1984 catalog, but was very quaint. There were vines lit by white lights dancing around the ceiling and tons of cute birdhouses all over. Our favorite feature were the notes left behind by other couple for you to find. There were also supposed to be dollar bills hidden, but my husband and I looked and couldn't find a single one in our room. The large whirlpool tub fit us both with room to spare and the bubble bath was amazing! If you have ever wanted to be covered in a foot of bubbles, use the bubble bath! The service was okay - I think my husband and I got left out because there were some people from a wedding party there. The morning we left it was a bit early, and they forgot our tray so we just ate yogurt and coffee which was disappointing as we saw 4 trays ready to go lined up on the counter. The typical breakfast consists of many pastry items. All are delicious (especially the sticky bun thing) but it would have been nice to have some eggs or something hot to eat. It is definitely off the beaten trail so if you are looking for something remote, this might suit your fancy. My husband and I spent our days driving into Lake Geneva which is about 15 minutes away since there isn't much around in Fontana. Overall, it was a relaxing visit, but nothing special. It might be better to visit in the summer when the grounds aren't covered in snow, but for us, we will try something different next time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Love2Teach4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

First off, this B&B is in a rather obscure area with a very small sign, so be on the lookout or you will pass it up, like we did. The location did make it pretty quiet, except for the little unusual noises that kept waking me up that night. My fiance thought it was a little "creepy" there.
The room was very unique & charming (Hayloft suite) & there were nice little extras. The jacuzzi & fireplace were nice but we ended up turning the fireplace off because of a hot burning smell that wasn't normal (it's a gas fireplace). The little notes left by other couples were fun to read & we found a few items by the clues that were left (mostly wine corks). I get that this is meant to be a couples retreat but we actually got a little bored & would have appreciated a TV, but then we are TV people in the winter anyway. We did go out for dinner which i am sorry to say, was not very good (Mars Restaurant at Lake Como), but at least it broke up our evening some. Don't get me wrong romance is a beautiful thing but after awhile...if we were there during warmer weather there would be more activities so that would make a difference too. The breakfast was ok (make sure to try the sticky buns), and served right to our room, which was very nice, but would like it more if a couple of egg choices (besides cold hard-boiled eggs) were available...maybe a breakfast sandwich or a mini-quiche ?
All in all it was a very unique experience, but once was probably enough, prefer lodging with more amenities & activities. And it is a little overpriced, which is why we stayed on a weekday instead of a weekend...$235/night is a bit much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandradee815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana
7.1 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#3 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
6.4 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#12 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
8.6 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
7.0 mi away
Baker House Hotel
Baker House Hotel
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
5.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Cloud Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Cloud Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lazy Cloud Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: N2025 N Lakeshore Dr, Fontana, WI 53125-1179
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fontana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lazy Cloud Bed and Breakfast is a perfect romantic getaway for couples. Every room and suite feature a whirlpool for two with a view of the fireplace. Our whirlpools are located in the sitting room - not in the bathroom. They also all have a private outside entrance for the utmost in privacy. We have several romantic amenities including candles, bubble bath, bathrobes, chocolates, and champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries. Fall in love all over again! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing