We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pretty good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterfront

The Waterfront
Reserve with OpenTable
The Waterfront is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 9 Restaurants in Fontana
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Bar, Grill, American, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Highway 67
Description: The Abbey Resort's very own Waterfront Restaurant is known for its casual, laid back vibe. It's the perfect place to unwind, either on the patio or indoors, and serves lunch, dinner or drinks. We use the techniques of award-winning Pitmaster Matt Whiteford to create specialties like the Waterfront's famous mouthwatering barbecue, salads and wraps . The Friday Fish Fry is a fun and delicious experience, especially when there's live entertainment. And did we mention drinks? From Wisconsin's own Spotted Cow beer to signature cocktails like the Bloody Mary with a touch of bacon (yes, bacon!), you're in for a one-of-a-kind experience. There's also a full children's menu and take-out.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Food was pretty yummy. They have nice views. Very friendly place. Thought the prices were reasonable. They make great drinks. We were they for late lunch and a drink enjoyed everything and would defiantly return here when I visit next time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NancyK1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
NancyK1123,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that you found our staff friendly, food and drinks tasty and prices reasonable. Taking in the beautiful harbor views with a refreshing drink in hand is always a great way to spend the day. We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    42
    20
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food - reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our dinner server Dustin was great - ate there for dinner and take out lunch. Recommend the pulled pork quesadillas

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mlc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Mic13,

Thank you for your review and for specifically highlighting the great service you received from Dustin. I will be sure to share you comments with his supervisor. The pulled pork quesadillas are one of our signature dishes and one of my favorites as well. Glad to hear you enjoyed them! We hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Appeitizers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We ordered crabcakes and cocktails for happy hour. Wonderful setting close to the water. Great crab cakes!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Cheryl R,
Thank you for your review. It sounds like you had a great evening of beautiful harbor views and delicious cocktails and appetizers. We hope that you will be back again!
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
206 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I really enjoyed this restaurant. I would go here even if it was based in my hometown. In particular, the caprese salad, fish tacos and anything with BBQ pork is excellent. My mouth is watering just thinking about it. Also has a great beer selection.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rosenfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Rosenfie,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that your dining experience was outstanding. The BBQ is a favorite with many and one of our signature dishes. I am hope we will see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Not impressed!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The food was okay - it really wasn't great. The staff was horrible. Our waiter was more interested in flirting with the waitresses than waiting on us. He was seriously following the girls, who were doing their job around the restaurant. As I walked to the bathroom, I passed the kitchen and heard someone in there screaming at the top of his lungs at someone else. The wait staff was standing right there and not seeming to care, which made me feel like this was the norm for the kitchen staff to carrying on like this. Pretty disturbing for a "high-end" resort restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Margaret2222,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I'm very disappointed to hear about the service you received. I can assure you that this is not the level of service we aspire to provide. Please accept our apologies and our assurances that this matter is being addressed by our management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront also viewed

 

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing