We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Girls weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We choice the resost because it seemed to have everything that we were looking for and we were correct.
The Spa was wonderful! Staff was helpful and setting was relaxing and beautiful.
Thanks for the great memories!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamadaMOA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

998 - 1,004 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2010

If you want to see the fall colors on one of the nations most beautiful lakes the Abbey Resort and Spa on Lake Geneva is the place to stay. It has been totally redone and at least the room we stayed in could equal any big city 5 star hotel room. Everything in our room was top grade--excellent beds,high ceilings to give you space, marble bath and great view of the lake from the terrace. My wife had special allergy needs and the resort was able accomodate her. The staff was friendly and efficient. The 3 nights we spent there was a wonderful experience even though we did not have time to use the spa, pools or the other lodge activities.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We have stayed here many times before, and they have completely changed customer relations. When we checked in, as well as four other travelers, we were downgraded in room. Confirmation we made year in advance meant nothing. We also were club members for discounts on store and food. They also did not honor that at checkout. Too bad management has set policies that have customers constantly being lied to, just to get rooms booked. It was tough on desk help, constantly getting hollered at about having to downgrade the rooms. No problem with room and location. Also get ready for a Resort Fee that is just an extra way of charging you more for room that gets you nothing. That shows up on bill on checkout. Just very dissatisfied with their owners or management.. This ruined our appreciation we use to have for this hotel...

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macinjim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Six of us recently went to the Abbey to celebrate a friend's 60th birthday. We arrived on Fri. afternoon & were checked in quickly but getting valet parked took a long time. Our small but clean room was $179 + a $12 "resort fee" per day. Also the hotel is not the most accessible. One of our friends has difficulty walking and she had to use a wheel chair to negotiate the long halls. Also, you can't park by a side door to get closer to the room. However, the bell staff were the salt of the earth. They escorted our friend while in the chair and while she tried walking the halls. (Of course we were tipping them but that doesn't mean that people rendering service have to be nice. They were genuinely helpful and friendly about it.)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lgreene324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

I pay half the price at a local spa for a full sixty minutes. No soothing music or nice scents.
The rooms have a patio glass door, would be nice to open but no screen.
Restaurant food was good.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keekeechicagoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

This is my opinion of the Abbey. I am very fair person who gives people and places the benefit of the doubt so you can take this review for what it is worth. We had stayed at the Grand Geneva about 3 years ago and it was a great place. We thought since the Abbey had a greater amount of positive reviews than the Grand Geneva we would giveit a try. We went to the Abbey for a relaxing weekend away and that just didn't happen. We got to the hotel Friday afternoon, check-in wasn't until I believe 4 p.m. however they gave us a room immediately. The front desk staff were nice and very polite. The rooms are nice however I don't believe they are worth what they charge. The walls are very thin and if your on a bottom floor you can hear the people in the room above you walking and you can also hear your neighbors next to you. The room was clean but a little small. After check-in we went to the Waterfront for lunch and the food was very good, nothing fancy, it's a nice casual place to sit and have a salad or sandwich and the service was fair. Then Friday night came and the fun began. About 2:30 in the morning my boyfriend and I were sound asleep and were awakened by our "wonderful" neighbors next door. Five grown men staying in one room. They were drunk and screaming profanities and just being overall obnoxious. We ended up calling down to the front desk and they sent up security. It got quiet for about 10 minutes then they started pounding on the wall screaming profanities to us telling us to wake up. I can't write exactly what they said because the post will probably get deleted if I do but let's just say it was very vulger. We ended up calling back downstairs insisting that they move us, the woman at the front desk could actually hear the people next door through the phone. She sent security up to our room and he stayed with us until they found us a new room in a new building. So here we are at 3:00 a.m. packing our suitcases waiting for another room. We ended up being moved and the whole ordeal took about 45 minutes. Now as I said before I am a fair person and do give the benefit of the doubt and I will say that the front desk was very kind and did work quickly to get our room changed and Ryan from security was also very nice and helpful. I do give my gratitude to the staff at the hotel. Saturday we went to the pool and there were people at 9 a.m. walking in with beer and by noon these people were completely tanked. My opinion is that this hotel could have potential, however with the type of people that are staying there and the hotel allowing these horrible activities to go on it is really giving them a bad name. They charge a lot of money for a room and the type of people that are there are white trash. Why they would let five grown men share a room that has two beds is beyond me. Now don't get me wrong I don't want to generalize and say that everyone there was white trash but I would say the majority was. I mean I don't think anyone would want to pay over $200 a night for a room and when you sit on your patio you see a set of parents with two kids under the age of five heading to the pool drinking, smoking a cigarette and falling down because they are so bombed and it's 8:30 a.m. on a Sunday morning. It seems to me that they are more concerned about full occupancy as opposed to the quality of people that are staying there. The pool area could use a lot of work. The chairs are old and they do not have enough of them. We were lucky because we got there early but if you showed up after noon you were pretty much out of luck. They market this hotel as family friendly and even have a kids pool, however I would not recommend this for classy adults let alone a child.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jhayes75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Reserved two rooms for a family wedding their August 13th. Although the hotel guarantees check in at 4:00 p.m. one room was available at 12:30. The other was not available until exactly 4:00 p.m. even though we watched at least 20 people get room keys between 12:30 and 4:00. One member of our group walked in without a reservation, asked for a room at 1:00 p.m. and was given keys immediately. Very frustrating. The first room smelled of cigarette smoke, toilet flushing was "challenging". Next time we'll go back to the Grand Geneva.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana
4.2 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lake Geneva
427 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lake Lawn Resort
Lake Lawn Resort
#1 of 7 in Delavan
1,000 reviews
7.8 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#7 of 15 in Lake Geneva
883 reviews
7.1 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
610 reviews
9.5 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa

Address: 269 Fontana Blvd, Fontana, WI 53125-9604
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Price Range: $132 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing