We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Reviewed May 22, 2007

Our room was very nice. You could tell it was an old resort (seemed to be 70's architecture), but had been updated to modern tastes. The furniture and decor was very nice and stylish (not typical tacky hotel grade furniture). All the buildings I saw at the resort are 2 story so I suggest trying to get a 2nd story room because ours had a cathedral ceiling, which isn't possible on the 1st floor.

We were only there for one night as an anniversary treat. We spent one day at the spa, which I thought was very nice. Honestly, I've never been to a spa (but my wife has been to many). I thought the atmosphere was extremely relaxing and the service was great (hotel staff were everywhere you looked if you were ever in need of help). I got a fantastic men's facial and my wife got a massage. My wife, who is experienced with spas, agreed with me that this was an excellent one.

We ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel restaurants. For dinner we ate at the more casual of the 2 dinner restaurants The Fontana Grill because there seemed to be more choices on the menu. They happened to have a prime rib special that night that was excellent and at a great price. Our dinner came before our salads, but when we alerted our waitress they were brought out immediately and she told us the round of drinks we just ordered would be on the house.

We ate breakfast at The Waterfront bar/restaurant. Actually, the interior of the restaurant was being renovated when we were there so they had tables set up out in the hall/lobby outside the restaurant (outside seating was also available, but it was too chilly that morning). The food and service was very good at breakfast as well.

Overall this was a nice relaxing anniversary getaway. No complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gogolion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,098 - 1,104 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2007

The resort is absolutely beautiful! The rooms are very comfortable- great flat screen tv with lots of channels. Shower was wonderful and everything was perfectly clean. Loved the soap and shampoo. The views are beautiful, the food was tasty and loved the chocolate from the sweet shop. Will definatly go again as soon as I get the chance.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eener79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2007

I'm a female who book a massage in the resort, and when i get to the SPA massage place, i need to pay extra $15.00 for the entrance fee, so i pay that (which was not mentioned when i booked the massage that there is an extra 15.00 entrance fee). then a guy came and said to me, your massage room is ready, and he is also the one who will massage me!!! the operator did not ask me whether i want a male of female masseus!!! before they make my reservation!!! I was so mad, because i expect it is female that will do the massage. when i complain to the front desk, the funny thing she ask is what is wrong about male? this kind of question should never ask... , it is people preference and choice!!!

NOT well trained staff!!!

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ssze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2006

The building was nice, however the staff was rude and slow. They checked us into a handicapped room. (We are not handicapped). We ate at the Fontana Grill. The service was very slow, considering it was only 10 guest there with 3 waitresses. The food totally sucked. Carmichael's in Chicago,IL puts this place to shame. I guess they were doing us a favor by showing up for work. If you don't want to wait on someone don't become a waitress. Please don't waste your money or time going to this place. Go to the Grand Geneva Resort in Lake Geneva, WI.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank mschell323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2006

I can not believe what they have done to the Abbey! We finally were able to stay and see for ourselves. Our friends have been telling us, but until you stay yourself its hard to believe.
The rooms are upscale for the price. The rehab was well thought out and the outcome incredible. We were impressed with every aspect of the resort!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Hawk1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2006

This hotel was average at best. The service was fair, the food also fair. The staff was averagely average. In fact everything about the resort was "average"... Except for the spa which was below average and a joke and too expensive. Fist off, you were forced to pay a $15 fee + your service fees (which were already about 30% more than any other spa that I've been to). The spa was unkempt, tired looking, and the decor looked like it was from 1975. The scarey thing is that they say it was "recently rennovated" which if that is really the case, is very sad. It was overpriced and underwhelming...

The worst part of it was when I complained to the nite manager he could have cared less abou what I was saying... No token of reimbursement even offered.

Bad service, below average accomodations and high prices. Forget it. Stay at the Grand Geneva.

Stayed: November 2006
1  Thank Gerrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2006

Well I took my girlfriend here as a surprise for her 30th birthday, and yes it is a wedding factory we had 3 in 2 days, but we hardly noticed them after the lawn cerimonies ( my girl just watched to see the dress'). and it was kind of nice. the Place is so big you hardly notice all the extra people around

I do recommend upgrading to a harbour view room, just nicer to sit on your patio and see the lake side rather then "resort views" of dark wooden structers. the rooms are very nice inside. the whole place has a "cruise ship " feel to it which I thought was nice. clean and bright with nice bathrooms. the bed itself was great , the pillows could use an upgrade (I recommed you bring your own)

The restaurants were great we ate at all 3 (being in the restaurant biz I had to check them all out and critique them) the porto is the most expensive at the top of the a frame building, the decoration and feel here was a little midevilish and gothic and a bit stuffy for my tastes,but different the staff was great there. and the food was very good . although the menu is a bit limited. portions were a bit smaller then I would prefer. great desserts. the other main dining option was the fontana grill which I thought was outstanding same great staff a tad less pricey and less formal (this where I will eat exclusivly next time) we also had snack and drinks at the waterfront a couple of times more great staff and fun to come back for live music at night.

We did have a spa package and I was very happy with the spa and all the services my girlfriend got were great, I just wish they had a flat screen in the mens spa there is nothing better then sitting in a hot tub and watching football, and maybe a cocktail service? but I enjoyed it while my girlfriend was getting all her treatments. then meeting in the coed pool and spa afterwards is nice. again more professional staff.

If your coming to stay here I recommend you take a half-day and drive to the other side of the lake to the city of lake geneva , great shops, lake front diners and you can take the guided lake tour.

All in all We had a great time at the resort, I dont know if it was because I bought every upgrade and option they had but every one was great that I dealt with ,from valet to concierge, spa folks, everyone. would highly recommend if you have a few extra bucks ( I spent about $1100.00 in 2 days for two people) will go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank The33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana
4.2 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lake Geneva
466 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lake Lawn Resort
Lake Lawn Resort
#1 of 7 in Delavan
1,013 reviews
7.1 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
544 reviews
7.9 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
968 reviews
4.6 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#7 of 15 in Lake Geneva
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa

Address: 269 Fontana Blvd, Fontana, WI 53125-9604
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Price Range: $121 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing