We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Girls Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Reviewed February 23, 2010

My sister, best friend and I had the absolute pleasure of visiting the Abbey Resort and Fontana Spa. We are all from suburbs of Chicago and decided to go up to Fontana/Lake Geneva for the weekend. It was a very relaxing trip.
We arrived early-ish Saturday morning. I had called to request an early check in, they made no guarantees, but when we arrived around 10 am our room was ready. Check in was a breeze. The front desk and bell staff was very friendly.
We paid for the resort views room and we got resort views, none of which are bad. We had a patio that opened to a deck area that is connected to all of the other rooms.
The beds were great and the linens we also very nice. The room was clean, it had a small microwave and mini fridge. It was perfect for our needs.
The spa was fantastic. We all got pedicures. The pricing was comparable to what we would pay near our homes for a spa pedicure. The technicians were all very friendly and I felt as ease having them work on my feet.
We ate lunch at The Waterfront. It was really great. We each had different drinks - all of which were good.
We also used the swimming pool and spa. This was great. There were pool toys and a basketball hoop. It was very fun.
We ate dinner at the Fontana Grill. Two of us got the famous prime rib buffet which was fantastic. The other ordered off the menu. The waitress let that person still use the salad and dessert portion of the meal which was really nice.
There is a large gift store on the property that carries a lot of things. We only purchased a cheap wine bottle opener, it was about the same as our local liquor store so we didn't feel ripped off.
Overall the trip was great. Very relaxing.

The few cons I have were:
The bathroom light automatically turned on the vent fan which was pretty loud.
The skating rink although closed and unusable was much small than I thought it would be.
By 2:30 the free shuttles were done running for the day.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mat342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,050 - 1,056 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2010

The one positive about this place is the spa, which was very well run, clean, and it was a pretty good deal that with just one booked service you can utilize all of the spa facilities (pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, showers afterward, etc). If you are planning on staying here and using the spa, make sure you go early or plan to stay after your appointments to enjoy the amenities. In fact, don't bother with the hotel's pool/hot tub as it is overrun with people (particularly families with kids). Just use the spa's facilities if you can.
The hotel itself is mediocre at best. The walls are VERY THIN, so don't plan on getting any sleep if the people next door even have their TV at a low volume. We could hear every single conversation happening next door.
Also the food at the hotel is terrible from our experience - we ate dinner at the waterfront restaurant and the service was horrible. The restaurant (in fact, the entire hotel) seems to be run by high school kids, and the service reflects it. It was half-empty but they couldn't seat us for 30 minutes because they couldn't keep up on food orders. This was apparent when we didn't get half of our order - which we ended up canceling because we were just tired of being there. Ordered room service the next morning and it was a soggy, cold omelet, again delivered by someone under age 18 who forgot half the order.

So if you do stay here, keep in mind that you get what you pay for - the spa is nice, but the hotel wasn't really what we thought it would be. If you can drive, go to one of the nicer restaurants in Lake Geneva.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripgirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

For the past two years I have been a regular guest at The Abbey Resort in the winter and summer. Those who know me well are aware that I have adopted The Abbey Resort as my home away from home. A warm and gracious welcome, wonderful amenities, outstanding food and first class service make this resort my first choice for a get away weekend, no matter the season.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClassyLady2827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

What a great place to stay in the middle of winter. Many activities were scheduled including ice skating! We were greeted by very friendly and happy valets! We enjoying reading about the history of the hotel with it's many special guests. Although we had a very short visit, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfredandann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

We have not stayed at the Abbey Resort in over 15 years. We came home for the Holidays and decided to stay more in a resort rather than a hotel in Beloit. We were so happy with our accommodations...we drove from Little Rock Arkansas and arrived around noonish on Thanksgiving day and were able to get checked into our room immediately. The front desk staff was very friendly and courteous. The room was completely re-modeled from what we remembered. It was colorful, comfortable and clean...slept as good as if I were in my own bed. We had Thanksgiving dinner at the Abbey and it was ABSOULUTELY delicious...the wait staff could have been a little more attentive...we had to clear our buffet dishes from our own table, had to hunt down the waitress to get water, coffee and our bill...this could have been handled much better. Our overall stay was fabulous...the Christimas decorations were beautiful and we will definately be back. Thanks for the memories.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulynlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

My sister & I thoroughly enjoyed this wonderful resort. The AVANI spa is awesome! We hit the spa everyday and were treated royally by the employees. They couldn't have been nicer or more accomodating. We ate at the Fontana Grill one night - fabulous food and waitstaff. Although the room was smaller than we had anticipated, it was clean, comfortable and we had a beautiful view of the harbor. Only complaint was the last morning. We ordered breakfast and hadn't finished eating when we had to leave for our spa appointment. We put up the "Do Not Disturb" sign on our door and left for the spa. When we returned, all the food had been removed from our room. After talking to the manager of room service, they did send up replacement food. They acted quickly, but we still were uncomfortable with the fact that we had the sign up on the door and someone from the hotel staff entered our room.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieOakPark_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

I need to start with the good things. The area is beautiful and the resort is too. Breakfast was also good and the rooms were comfortable. I liked the microwave in the room, but the fridge was a wine fridge and didn't offer very much room for bottles or left over food boxes. Now for the negitive. Customer service was Very poor. They didn't seem very happy at check in. We reserved the bed and breakfast but didn't receive the breakfast credit coupon until I asked for it the next day. Also after accidently locking myself out of my room staff were rude when I needed help, it took an hour for someone to unlock my door and the maids were not allowed to call the desk for help or let someone use a phone in the room they were cleaning. There were no phones in the hallway to seek help. You had to walk 6 buildings to get help from the front desk. Not very handicapped accessible either. I had a stroller there were stairs everywhere.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank bj5343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana
4.2 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
481 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lake Lawn Resort
Lake Lawn Resort
#1 of 7 in Delavan
1,018 reviews
7.1 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#7 of 15 in Lake Geneva
1,015 reviews
4.6 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
131 reviews
7.8 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa

Address: 269 Fontana Blvd, Fontana, WI 53125-9604
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Price Range: $139 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing