We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,323)
Filter reviews
1,323 results
Traveler rating
562
394
193
94
80
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
562
394
193
94
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake geneva waterfront restaurant fontana grill adult pool steam room girls weekend grounds are beautiful relaxing weekend harbor view room from chicago hot tub fire pit rooms are nice up to date fitness center wedding chucks
Filter
Updating list...
1,223 - 1,228 of 1,323 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2010

The one positive about this place is the spa, which was very well run, clean, and it was a pretty good deal that with just one booked service you can utilize all of the spa facilities (pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, showers afterward, etc). If you are planning on staying here and using the spa, make sure you go early or plan to stay after your appointments to enjoy the amenities. In fact, don't bother with the hotel's pool/hot tub as it is overrun with people (particularly families with kids). Just use the spa's facilities if you can.
The hotel itself is mediocre at best. The walls are VERY THIN, so don't plan on getting any sleep if the people next door even have their TV at a low volume. We could hear every single conversation happening next door.
Also the food at the hotel is terrible from our experience - we ate dinner at the waterfront restaurant and the service was horrible. The restaurant (in fact, the entire hotel) seems to be run by high school kids, and the service reflects it. It was half-empty but they couldn't seat us for 30 minutes because they couldn't keep up on food orders. This was apparent when we didn't get half of our order - which we ended up canceling because we were just tired of being there. Ordered room service the next morning and it was a soggy, cold omelet, again delivered by someone under age 18 who forgot half the order.

So if you do stay here, keep in mind that you get what you pay for - the spa is nice, but the hotel wasn't really what we thought it would be. If you can drive, go to one of the nicer restaurants in Lake Geneva.

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripgirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

For the past two years I have been a regular guest at The Abbey Resort in the winter and summer. Those who know me well are aware that I have adopted The Abbey Resort as my home away from home. A warm and gracious welcome, wonderful amenities, outstanding food and first class service make this resort my first choice for a get away weekend, no matter the season.

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClassyLady2827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

What a great place to stay in the middle of winter. Many activities were scheduled including ice skating! We were greeted by very friendly and happy valets! We enjoying reading about the history of the hotel with it's many special guests. Although we had a very short visit, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Date of stay: January 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfredandann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

We have not stayed at the Abbey Resort in over 15 years. We came home for the Holidays and decided to stay more in a resort rather than a hotel in Beloit. We were so happy with our accommodations...we drove from Little Rock Arkansas and arrived around noonish on Thanksgiving day and were able to get checked into our room immediately. The front desk staff was very friendly and courteous. The room was completely re-modeled from what we remembered. It was colorful, comfortable and clean...slept as good as if I were in my own bed. We had Thanksgiving dinner at the Abbey and it was ABSOULUTELY delicious...the wait staff could have been a little more attentive...we had to clear our buffet dishes from our own table, had to hunt down the waitress to get water, coffee and our bill...this could have been handled much better. Our overall stay was fabulous...the Christimas decorations were beautiful and we will definately be back. Thanks for the memories.

Date of stay: November 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulynlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

My sister & I thoroughly enjoyed this wonderful resort. The AVANI spa is awesome! We hit the spa everyday and were treated royally by the employees. They couldn't have been nicer or more accomodating. We ate at the Fontana Grill one night - fabulous food and waitstaff. Although the room was smaller than we had anticipated, it was clean, comfortable and we had a beautiful view of the harbor. Only complaint was the last morning. We ordered breakfast and hadn't finished eating when we had to leave for our spa appointment. We put up the "Do Not Disturb" sign on our door and left for the spa. When we returned, all the food had been removed from our room. After talking to the manager of room service, they did send up replacement food. They acted quickly, but we still were uncomfortable with the fact that we had the sign up on the door and someone from the hotel staff entered our room.

Date of stay: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieOakPark_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews