We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband and I were visiting the Lake Geneva area. We stayed one night at the Abbey. Our stay was average. For the rooms being quite expensive, we really thought they would have been much nicer. We got to our room later and were excited to relax in the indoor pool/hot tub, but it was closed for the weekend. We enjoyed a nice morning drinking our coffee and watching the sunrise on the lake. I can't complain about our stay, we just thought the resort would have been nicer.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lovetotravel8890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Lovetotravel8890

Thank you for your recent review of The Abbey Resort. Watching the sunrise over the harbor while enjoying a cup of coffee on the patio sounds like the perfect way to start the day. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,109)
There are newer reviews for The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

554 - 560 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014

The Abbey Resort and Claire Roddy were amazing to work with when it came to reservations. The weekend was everything we dreamed of and more. The rooms were clean, the staff was so accommodating. We planned and planned and when the weekend arrived everything was in place with out one little glitch.

Pam Linker was our party planner fro the Abbey and we couldn't have done it without her. She was always one step ahead of me and I am a planner. She was pleasant and efficient and that made the weekend just perfect. The food was great, the service was excellent and we couldn't have asked for anything more. They went above and beyond to make this a perfect wedding day!!!

Room Tip: The harbor views were beautiful.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Sharon A,
Congratulations on your daughter’s wedding and thank you for your 5-star review. I am delighted to read that the wedding weekend was everything that you had planned and dreamed. Thank you for also sharing your kind comments about Pam and Claire. They are both amazing and we are very fortunate to have them on our team. Congratulations once again.

Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We celebrated our 45 th Anniversary back at the Abbey Resort. They were very accommodating with our room and gave us the same room we had for our Honeymoon. The staff was wondeful and very helpful. The views are spectacular. The resturants need help.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a water view. They have tables and chairs outside of the rooms which make it very...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Tena S,

Happy Anniversary and congratulations on 45 years of marriage! We are delighted that we could welcome you back and I am pleased to read that you found our staff to be wonderful. We look forward to your future stay.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Beautiful resort location for a relaxing,wedding and reception getaway, on far west end of Lake Geneva, Wis. Have your walking shoes. Sprawling resort with plenty of rooms and activities. Room where comfy with wonderful beds, baths and room amenities. Even glass glasses and glass coffee cups. No styrofoam. The food at the reception was average at best. The next morning brunch was much better, but is it me or was it strange not to serve toast with scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage and hash browns? Oh, well. Now for the front desk. There were two couples checking in and to be paid by one of the couples. This was clearly verified when making the reservations by the couple paying for the rooms and the credit card given at time of check-in. The paying couple checked in first, but the second couple was asked for credit card when checking in. That couple was under the impression everything was taken care of. Quite embarrassing on check out for both couples. Remember to reconfirm all requests.

Room Tip: Rooms have all been renovated. Try to get close to front and harborside rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Jim C,
Thank you for review of The Abbey Resort. I delighted to read that your stay for the wedding was wonderful. I appreciate you noticing all the little details about property. I also appreciate you sharing the experience at the front desk so that we may use this a training opportunity with our team. If you should return to the area, we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property.
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The rooms are very charming, with a real resort feel, like vacation.

But the blinds in my room did not do much to keep out the morning sun so it's good that I could not sleep in.

The wifi was hit or miss--good the first couple of days and then no luck.

The layout is rather confusing--I heard numerous people ask for directions.

The fan will not run constantly, it kicks off and on which is annoying.

While there were recycling containers in meeting rooms there was nothing elsewhere and no option in the rooms to reuse towels and sheets.

Meeting rooms lacked power for laptops.

Room Tip: Do not face east
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank orracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Orracle,
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate you sharing your comments on areas were we can improve. We are in the process of updating our signage to assist guests with finding their way around the resort. I am sorry we did not know about the need for additional power outlets in the meeting room you were utilizing, as our AV team would have been happy to accommodate this request and also assist with the WIFI. We look forward to your future stay.
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights (on a Groupon) and had a great time. I will certainly plan on going back with the kids again next year.
The pros:
-Families everywhere so I didn't ever feel bad when one of mine made loud noises or squealed.
-Concierge was very friendly, helpful and was able to help us get a discount on a boat tour.
-The pools were great for families with young kids because there is a splash pad adjoining another pool AND there is a small restaurant/bar right there as well. It was nice to let our kids splash around while the parents enjoyed a (much deserved) frosty beverage or two.
-Restaurant "The Waterfront" is very kid friendly and had a great view of the harbor.
-Harbor room was very pretty with easy access to sandy area where kids can play in the sand and feed the ducks (we brought bread and had the kiddos occupied for almost an hour)
-Also bag games and lots of indoor games for kids who are a little older and even an arcade! Also a craft room for young kids if the weather is bad or you need a break from the sun.
-Valet parking is free. Woo hoo!
-Microwave and mini fridge in the room to help with all the snacks/drinks parents being with little kids.
Cons:
-No blackout drapes. This is bad when your kids wake up with the sun. Huge bummer- next year I'll pin up dark blankets or something so we can try and sleep until 7am!

All in all: great trip and as relaxing as possible with kids due to pretty views, pools, beach, giant green spaces to play/run and the alcohol that is served next to the pools. I would highly recommend!


Stayed: July 2014
Thank Christy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Christy M,

Thank you for your review. I appreciate you taking the time to share your travel trips with future travelers. It sounds like you had a great stay with and were able to enjoy all that the lake and Abbey have to offer. We also appreciate you recommending our property to others. We look forward to your visit.
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This place totally reminded me of Dirty Dancing. There is something for everyone: pool; golf; dining; shopping, etc. There are two pools - one for families and one for adults. We stayed here because we participated in 150 mile bike ride over three days for the Lung Association. The Abbey was a great hotel for rest and relaxation after our rides everyday. The hotel room was up to date and the pool was great. I would definitely return for a weekend trip away with my family.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

AlexH,

Thank you for your 5- star review of The Abbey Resort.I am pleased to read that you stay was the perfect place for rest and relaxation. As you would like to return in the future, might I suggest that you visit our website to sign up for our weekly email promotions for savings on your next stay. We look forward to your return stay.
Kind regards
Sara Schmitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana
4.2 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
395 reviews
7.8 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
487 reviews
7.9 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
590 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lake Lawn Resort
Lake Lawn Resort
#1 of 7 in Delavan
996 reviews
9.5 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa

Address: 269 Fontana Blvd, Fontana, WI 53125-9604
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Price Range: $143 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing