We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“overall, not too bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbey Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abbey Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Certificate of Excellence
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“overall, not too bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at the Abbey Resort for three nights at the end of March, during Spring Break. Overall, the stay we nice. The room was large and comfortable, but there were some marks on the bedding, and the couch was a little worn out. They are in the mist of a remodel for their 50th year of business, so it will be interesting to see what the changes are. The spa was nice, but it costs $50 a couple just to swim. Luckily we had a Groupon that came with $40 per day vouchers, so it worked out nicely. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deannalynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Deannalynne,
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you sharing the areas were we can improve. Regarding access to the Avani Spa pool Atrium, daily spa access is $25 per person per day; however that fee is waived with if you purchase a service of $50 or more. The access allows you to enjoy the beautiful spa pool, outside Zen area, steam rooms, inhalation rooms, showers, spa beverages and fruit and more. Access to our indoor resort pool is available at no charge. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    302
    140
    56
    46
See reviews for
277
374
15
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We spent a last-minute overnight here during spring break with our two children. We really enjoyed the indoor pool and game room. The resort was very clean and service was friendly and helpful. The room was nicely decorated, beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was updated and spotless. We would love to return during the summer months to enjoy the outdoor pools and activities.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candginIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
CandginIL,
Thank you for your five-star review of The Abbey Resort. I am delighted to read that you and your family such a wonderful stay and found our resort clean and service friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer.
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

I bought a Groupon for The Abbey as a Christmas present to my boyfriend and we were not disappointed. We ended up liking the resort so much that we did not bother to leave the property. The bed was so comfy and the room was nice and clean. The only negative was we could hear through the walls in the morning while we were trying to sleep in. I also highly recommend trying the Prime Rib buffet on Saturday. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Carla Jo S.,
Thank you for your recent review of The Abbey Resort. I am pleased to hear that your stay was wonderful and that we will see you again. As you have plans to return, I would like to suggest that you sign-up for our email offers for information on our current promotions. This can be done via our website with the link at the bottom of the home page.
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

The Abbey has done a nice job renovating. The Bell staff and front desk staff were wonderful and friendly. Everything looked clean. We had a room down the hall from the spa. It was clean and comfortable and spacious. We were there for the spa which was nice. However, the locker room is very small and crowded with very little privacy. My friend and I had to share a locker. The robes were in poor condition and the waiting area for services gets too crowded for the small space. The staff was nice. I got a facial from Mel and she was outstanding. She gave a foot massage and back massage as well, absolutely my best treatment. The pool area was a bit crowded and the chair cushions can definitely use refreshing, they were stained. The veggie wrap from room service was horrible. And the pedicure area had a broken station, which all the technicians knew about, yet it was still in use and therefore made the procedure a bit uncomfortable since the foot part couldn't be adjusted. Overall it was a nice weekend, we were able to overlook the minor hiccups. We did also eat at the Fontana restaurant which was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Jlluck,
Thank you for your review. Thank you also for your kind comments about our staff and our recent renovations. While you stay was enjoyable, there were a few areas were we fell short and I apologize for that. Each review is shared with our management team so that we can improve the guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

We went to The Abbey specifically for the live music and bloody mary bar on a Sunday, on our way home from a weekend get-away.
We were not interested in the extensive brunch offered...just in the "build your own bloody mary."
It was great that there was a piano player...the music was fabulous. He even pulled out this trumpet while tickling the ivory!
But we were disappointed in the scope of the bloody mary bar...didn't have nearly the condiments and accoutrements one would expect from a real bloody mary bar. A pickle, a few different types of olives, pearl onions...that was about it.
Will have to hit Bubba Gumps for a REAL bloody mary bar!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d00d26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dood26,
Thank you for your review . I am disappointed to read that the build your own Bloody Mary bar was not as you had hoped. I have shared your comments with our restaurant manager so that they can address the matter. Thank you for your comments about our piano player. I will be sure to pass along your compliments. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was a perfect stay after a day of skiing. We went with another family and had adjoining rooms. For the 2- 6 year old boys, it was great. This was a great stay for everyone. It wasn't so loud like you might get at a waterpark (which was what we were originally looking for, but it was sold out).

We played board games in the morning. It is set up beautifully, not in the lobby, but in its own space where you are comfortable talking normally, and not distracting to us or others.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kszau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
KSZAU,
Thank you for your five-star review of The Abbey Resort. I am delighted to read that your stay was perfect. Solarium Way, the area dedicated to family board games, is definitely a favorite for many and a great place for families to spend time together. We look forward to your return stay.
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

This was my second trip to the Abbey. I took my mother for a Spa Package back in December for her 65th birthday and was really spoiled by the staff. My husband and I went in late February as a special treat for Valentine's. We stayed on a Thursday night. I would highly recommend staying a week night for the sheer "quiet" and "romantic" experience. We loved the Spa and used the adults only pool, whirlpool and sauna. We stayed in Bldg 3 and it was an easy walk to the Spa in our robes (provided in room). The ambiance of the low lighting at evening in pool area is very nice. Helped us to relax after our 1.5 hour drive from home. The heat was already on in our room, so it was comfortable when we arrived. We stayed in a King Room (resort view) and the larger shower was nice, but no tub. We also got the Bed & Breakfast special and really enjoyed the overly sized portions of Denver Omelet and Blueberry Compote French Toast (6 slices!) the service was excellent in the Fontana Grill, thank you to our server, Julie and Mgr: Bill. While you are there, check out the solarium with board games, pretty neat place to relax with a game and get some sunshine. We really loved being pampered at the Abbey and will return.

Room Tip: get a room on the 2nd floor, esp during winter months. Better heating. Note - there are stairs every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
TravelM79
Thank you for your review. We value our repeat guests and I am pleased to hear that you once again had a wonderful stay. Thank you for your kind comments about our associates, Julie and Bill. I will be sure to pass along your comments to their managers. We look forward to welcoming back again soon.
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana
4.2 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lake Lawn Resort
Lake Lawn Resort
#1 of 7 in Delavan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
7.1 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
9.5 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
4.8 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#12 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Resort & Spa

Property: Abbey Resort & Spa
Address: 269 Fontana Blvd, Fontana, WI 53125-9604
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbey Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Abbey Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing