We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We love this place, it a family friendly place while at the same time great for a couple get away. The spa pool area with the adult only pool made for a very relaxing spa experience.
Not to mention the service of the staff and the quality dinning at the resort was the best! We have stayed at The Abby several times and the experience has always been wonderful, I leave relaxed and planning my return visit.
Life is a journey....so enjoy The Abby!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gailfarwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Gailfarwell,
Thank you for your 5-star review of the The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. We value our return guests and I am pleased to hear that you once again enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

660 - 666 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Everyone is very nice and friendly/ helpful. The restaurant are just ok when my husband order half of his meal was hot and other half was at room temp and for what it cost it was not worth the head ache but everything else for the kids and room is great.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

A TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the resort staff friendly and helpful. We strive to provide outstanding experience throughout our property, and I am sorry that did not occur in our restaurants. We are reviewing this matter with our staff and hope that you will find a different experience during a future stay.
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Best kept secret, skip Lake Geneva and head strait to this amazing little family get-away. The Abbey Resort must be the best kept secret in Southern Wisconsin. Sure kids love water parks, but if you have done that scene more than four or five times and are looking for something new, the Abbey may just be what your looking for...ask for a lakeside room (totally worth it)!

A gentle retreat where nostalgia meets modern amenities, lots of family programming: ice-skating, bonfires w/ smores, holiday movies, kiddie crafts, dive-in movies in the pool, breakfast with Santa, board games ready and waiting around the pool, ping-pong, arcade, this is a resort that may just have your kids putting down their technology (at least for a while). - Be sure to ask at the front desk for an activity calendar, our daughter (8) loved "scheduling" us. Live string quartet in the lobby with chestnut roasting (yes, real chestnuts), cider and hot cocoa and a hot fire.

Waterfront restaurant on lower level has a great menu for lunch, we found it to be the best for kids cuisine, they have live music at night (or did on our Friday/Saturday). Generally speaking it is the more casual of the two dining experiences.

Fontana Grill buffet breakfast is incredible, particularly for carnivores, we're vegetarians and gluten free so did menu ordering - there were plenty of selections for us, including toast! My daughter (not GF) order the Oatmeal Parfait....holy cow! The berries were plump and beautiful, currents, dried fruit, if your ordering for a child, or two get this and split it....its HUGE. My youngest had the French Toast sticks, as you would expect this is REAL french toast which has been pre-sliced, so may or may not be what your kiddo is looking for....looked yummy, I was jealous.

Beds were very high (if you have a really little one plan on putting them in-between yourself and the hubby, or making a palette on the floor; however the mattresses are about the best I have slept on; not sleep number, just plush.

Bathrooms - Ours was relatively new with a great shower head, and Rusk body and hair products, doors are contemporary glass sliders.

TV - Standard flat screen w/ plenty of programming, remote

WIFI - We brought our own, but it is available

Room has two phones (one cordless) a microwave and fridge...

Overall this is just a fantastic hidden dream to us...we have done big chain luxury hotels, waterparks, condos, timeshares, etc... this is just a completely different category of vacation. If you are looking for standard, done it a million times hotel, this isn't it. This is a place for someone who is ready to relax and just enjoy life....plenty for kids to explore.

Room Tip: Lakeside is an absolute must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MadCityGirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

MadCityGirl73,

Thank you for your very extensive review of The Abbey Resort. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you had the perfect winter getaway! We hope that we will have the opportunity welcome you again in 2014!
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

excellent customer service especially Gaby very personable and knowledgeable also recommended future treatments got pedicure very satisfied also enjoyed Amy in the bar area apple martinis were the bomb and she was very friendly and the piano man was good also enjoyed the sunday brunch food and atmosphere by the fireplace

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank renettaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Renettaq,

Thank you for your recent review and your very kind comments about the outstanding customer service you received from Gabby and Amy. I will be sure to share your comments with their managers. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days around Thanksgiving. Would give this place a much higher rating except for the following.

Depending on your room location, you may have to take a very long hike to get to your room. if you are mobility challenged, be sure to get an accessable room - this place is not the easiest place to navigate - lots of strairways, elevators are available, but not where you always want them. I don't see an issue with the hotel placing you in a better location, but be prepared to walk no matter where you stay.

Biggest issue are the walls and ceiling. The walls between rooms are paper thin. Our neighbors were not noisy in the pure sense of the word. But the fact that they enjoyed singing Jingle Bells and other carols and it was loud enough for us to participate says a lot. We were also able to participate in their general conversation because it was so clear through the walls. Did not make for the best sleep. The ceiling has the same problem - don't know what was above us - a herd of elephants, or just normal walking by children but it was loud and very intrusive, making for a lousy night of sleep.

I suppose you can demand a second floor room so at least you won't get the stomping - but it won't help the noise from the walls.

These issues alone would prevent me from going back.

On the positive side: Staff was very welcoming. Rooms have been updated and were very comfortable. Guests as a group were very polite. We had Thanksgiving dinner - and they ran a first class shop. it was well organized - plenty of great food and lots of options. They limited the reservations at different times so as not to crowd the buffets - just shows a well thought out plan.

Bottom line -can probably enjoy The Abbey more during the summer, or after a nice snowfall and Geneva Lake is frozen. Try to get a second floor room. Can't handle the room noise - don't go.

Room Tip: Second floor room - end of hall to avoid at least one noisy wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mchud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Mchud,
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to hear that you found our staff welcoming, the rooms comfortable and our Thanksgiving dinner top notch. I do apologize that you found it difficult to navigate our resort. Also, while it does not change your experience, we do have plans to increase our signage throughout the property making it easier for guests to find through way around our 90 acre property. We hope you will return for a future stay.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

we were able to get a view of the lake and enjoyed sitting on the balcony much more than the courtyard/pool view. we also enjoyed hanging out by one of their fire pits. However, they are not burning real wood so there is not much heat put out. You lounge by the fire pit for the ambience not the warmth. We dined at the onsite breakfast spot. I purchased the breakfast buffet...I was hungry. I regretted this decision as my wifes eggs and hashbrowns were much better. However, i let my appetite get the best of me. I think the buffett is fine, i'm just not a huge fan of buffett's...not sure why i went that route!

Room Tip: pick a lakeside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Derek1005,
Thank you for your 5-star review of The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. Relaxing on the balcony and taking in the beautiful lake views sounds like a great way to spend an afternoon. We look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I recently stayed at the Abbey Resort & Spa and couldn't be more pleased. What a perfect getaway from the city. Hotel ammenites, cozy rooms, and an amazing staff that were always incredibly heplful and friendly at ALL times throughout the Abbey Resort as well as in the Avani Spa. I will definitely return in the warmer months! Thank you Abbey Resort for making a weekend getaway peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blutang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Blutang,

You are very welcome and thank you for your 5-star review. I am delighted to hear that The Abbey was the perfect escape from the city, and that you found our staff helpful and friendly. As you stated that you will be returning in the warmer months, might I suggest you follow us on Facebook to stay appraised of activities and promotions. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana
4.2 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lake Geneva
425 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lake Lawn Resort
Lake Lawn Resort
#1 of 7 in Delavan
1,000 reviews
7.8 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#7 of 15 in Lake Geneva
883 reviews
7.1 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
610 reviews
9.5 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa

Address: 269 Fontana Blvd, Fontana, WI 53125-9604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Price Range: $132 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing