We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Harbor View Inn(Williams Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Ridge Hotel(Lake Geneva)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,199)
Filter reviews
1,199 results
Traveler rating
519
373
171
76
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
519
373
171
76
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake genevafontana grillwaterfront restaurantadult poolfamily poolsteam roomice skatinggirls weekendrelaxing weekendharbor view roomfrom chicagohot tubfire pitspring breakthe room was nicewilliams bayup to date
Filter
Updating list...
752 - 757 of 1,199 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We just returned from a relaxing 2 nights celebrating our anniversary at our favorite resort. The snow was falling as we arrived making the grounds even more beautiful. After unpacking and a quick trip to downtown Lake Geneva - we settled in with a glass of wine by the fire in the main lobby. We had a King harbor view room - which was perfect. The rooms are immaculate, the bed comfortable. The bathroom is large with plenty of counter space. A sofa and coffee table were perfect for enjoying our evening appetizers ordered and quickly delivered by the Fontana Grill. Each spacious room has a fridge/microwave and coffee maker.

We absolutely love the Abbey. The building and grounds are beautiful and well kept. It seems they are always updating or sprucing up some area of the resort. I have never seen cleaning staff tackle a room as this staff does. We saw rooms with dressers pulled away from the walls for vacuuming/cleaning. The halls always look freshly vacuumed.

The staff are the most efficient and friendly of any place we have stayed. Sarah is always so helpful when making arrangements for us and ensures a wonderful stay whenever we visit. She made our anniversary visit so special of which we are very grateful. Chelsea was warm and welcoming when we arrived and check in was quick and efficient. Alex at the front desk was always accommodating and friendly. There are so many wonderful staff members at the Abbey, each one friendly, efficient and professional - Greg and Paul who helped us with our luggage, Chris in the Fontana Grill who served us breakfast each morning - she is the waitress that you hope to have wherever you dine. Friendly, informative and efficient! Without exception, every staff member greeted us warmly at every encounter. We were sorry not to see Jose. I don't think you will find a nicer resort in the Lake Geneva area and we have stayed at most of them. I spent several hours at the Avani spa relaxing by the most beautiful pool. The fitness room is great and available to all Abbey guests. The gift shop has a great selection of wines and snacks as well as clothing, books, jewelry and gift items. We always enjoy perusing and have never left empty handed.

Since our first visit to the Abbey just over 2 years ago, we have visited many times, and each time we leave refreshed and anticipating our next visit.

Room Tip: We enjoy Harbor view rooms/villas
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Illinois1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Illinois1,

Thank you for your 5-star review of The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. I appreciate you sharing your comments about the outstanding service you received from our staff, and for specifically naming those who made your stay extra special. We greatly appreciate our return guests and thank you for noticing all the little things we do to enhance the guest experience. Happy anniversary and we look forward to your next stay!
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a family trip with 3 generations and all three 1) Had fun, 2) Slept comfortably and 3) Ate well. We had a good seasonal rate and lots of Halloween extras. The hotel was not packed this time either, so we had our run of the nice salt water pool and arcade too.

Room Tip: 1st floor further down (14, 15, 16 banks of rooms) give you a great view of the marina if you are on the water side.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sangshady45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Sangshady45,

Thank you for your review. We are honored that The Abbey was be part of your family memories and that all three generations found plenty to do during your stay. We look forward to your future return.
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband, son and I spent 3 days at the resort for a business meeting. It was off season, so not all the amenities were available. Our room had a beautiful view, clean and fresh linens, very quiet and comfy. Equipped with TV, mini fridge, communication door (great for big families). Bathroom were carefully maintained, stocked daily. We had plenty off time for swimming (indoor warm pool), paid child care was available but we didn't really need. If you like game boards, you can spend hours in the area adjacent to the pool playing game boards. This area has a special elevator for handicap people to get down the stairs and right next to it is a small Arcade area. There are 2 restaurants and 1 Cafe. Unfortunately the hours were not so great. The Cafe was opened for just few hours (off season). The food was ok. We drove to Lake Geneva for most meals. The Spa is a nice option but very expensive. It was nice to walk on the property and sit outside in the evening to hear the sounds coming from the Marina. Overall I think it was nice, staff was very polite. The housekeeping lady in charge off our room didn't speak English so communication was a little odd :) still we managed well. I would like to go back during season and compare the service and amenities.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Ilovetotravel211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Llovetotravel211,
Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As you are looking to return again, might I suggest that you sign up for our online emails via our website to stay apprised of discounts and promotions we are running. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great amenities, services, good room. Loved the peaceful private court yard and other areas available to customers getting spa services. Location of hotel was very much opposite spot on lake from the downtown Lake Geneva area, but was surprised with just how far we had to drive to get there.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Anne L,
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. It sounds like you were also able to enjoy our spa and some R&R while you were here. While we are located 10 miles from the downtown area, we do offer a complimentary shuttle service to the downtown area. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I spent several evenings searching for just the right place for a small get-away for our 26th anniversary, and finally settled on the Abbey Resort and Spa. It was a great choice as we experience great service, a very clean and nicely appointed room, and peace and quiet. We were not looking for tons of activities, just a restful stay. We were able to check in early which allowed us to unload our car before we took off to explore Lake Geneva, and the surrounding area. We decided to eat around 9pm and we went to the Waterfront for a light evening meal. Food was good and the waiter was attentive and offered great service. The king sized bed was very comfortable and that was a pleasant surprise, as I am picky about the beds I sleep in and don't always get good sleep when we travel. This place is great for couples.

Room Tip: If you go in the summer, then you may want to look over the harbor. If you have children and they will be using the pool in the summer, you may want to be in a pool side room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Easytoplease338,

Congratulations on your wedding anniversary! I am delighted to hear that we were the perfect getaway for your special weekend. Providing our guests with superior service is what we strive to do everyday, and I am pleased to hear that we delivered on that promise. We hope that you will have an opportunity to stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews