We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Simply Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbey Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abbey Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simply Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Had a lovely girls weekend at the Abbey and their Spa. The Spa is just heavenly. The technicians are amazing, the overall Spa is gorgeous and clean and so so relaxing. The day of your services, you are able to utilize the Spa facility all day which includes a private pool, two whirlpools, steam, sauna and Eucalyptis rooms that will make you feel amazing.

We stayed in a Pool View Suite which was massive. King sized bed, two pull out couches, Fridge, Microwave, large balconey and incredibly clean.

I can't wait to return, this time with my husband. It was a wonderful weekend and I love the location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus S, Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Allison M.

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I was delighted to read that your group found our property to be a heavenly experience.

Our team takes great satisfaction in providing our guests with an unparalleled spa experience, outstanding service, and a comfortable guestroom. Thank you for taking the time to mention how much you enjoyed all of the aspects of our resort.

Thank you again for choosing The Abbey Resort for your girlfriend’s getaway. I hope we will be able to host your next stay in the very near future.

Warmly,
Markus Savaglio
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    302
    140
    56
    46
See reviews for
277
374
15
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I traveled there for a relaxing weekend and that's exactly what we got. The hotel was booked solid the weekend of October 26 to October 28th. There were Two weddings and a business conference.....I think we may have booked the last room available. Anyway....

The rooms were renovated (with in the last couple years is my guess) comfortable beds, large TV, ample sitting room and the views were AWESOME! Bathroom had double vanity sinks (granite), large tub/shower combination. The water pressure was a little low, I'm assuming it was because the hotel was booked solid, but no big deal, it got the job done.

The waterfront restaurant had beautiful views of the Abbey Harbor and GREAT food compared to the last time we were there...not sure if they got a new chef or management or what but there has been a lot of improvement. The little sundry store next to the waterfront restaurant has everything you need in case you forgot to pack something and also has a lot of other things (t-shirts, sweatshirts, snacks, magazines, etc.) in case you are looking for a small gift for your kids or whatever.

The Avani Spa is Awesome!!!!! Relaxation at it's best. I did not get any treatments but wife did and she said that the massage she received rivaled the one she got at The Four Seasons in Maui! She loved it! I'm not sure who her therapist was but she has not stopped raving about it. I used the adults only pool area, the steam room in the men's locker room and the hot tub. All great. I'm a larger man and the larger sized robes (I asked for it) were very comfortable.

All in all this was a great getaway and I would recommend this resort to any couple looking to getaway for the weekend. They also have another indoor pool (the outdoor pool area was closed being that we traveled in late October, but I have heard good things about that as well) that is great for families if you want to bring the kids :)

We travel to the Lake Geneva Area two to three times a year and we always stay at the Abbey! You can't beat it.

Room Tip: If you like the outdoors pay for the upgrade to a harbor view.....Great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus S, Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Jim T.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your time with us. All of us at the hotel are delighted that you took the time to share your experience at our resort.

Our staff takes great satisfaction in providing an updated guestroom that is clean and comfortable. They also strive to provide outstanding food quality in our restaurants, and a wide selection of sundries in our gift shop.

Thank you for choosing our resort. It was a delight for our team to host your stay with us. I hope we have the opportunity for you to visit us again in the near future.

Warmly,
Markus Savaglio
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

IA friend and I recently visited the Abbey Resort for a girlfriends' weekend and loved it! The room was attractive with very comfortable beds. The staff was friendly, professional and extremely accomodating. The enviornment was beautiful and relaxing. The restaurants were good, and the spa was superb! I felt that I got my money's worth on this trip.

Room Tip: We had a room with a beautiful view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus S, Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Gayl E.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We were pleased you found your experience to be relaxing.

We take great pride in providing outstanding customer service, comfortable guest rooms, beautiful views, and a superb spa experience.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Abbey Resort. It was a pleasure hosting your girlfriend’s getaway. I hope we have the opportunity to host your next visit in the very near future.

Warmly,
Markus Savaglio
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
285 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights for a business conference. The rooms and banquet facilities were nice. Plenty of onsite restaurants. I wasn't happy with the front desk and valet service. Pulled up and no one to valet the car. Had to go to the front desk to ask where I park. Then the front desk person was just not pleasant. I was very surprised. I hate to rate an entire resort on the front desk person but it was all in the first 10 minutes of me being there. That aside, the resort was very nice. I

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krp87b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus S, Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Krp87b,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read the wonderful comments you left about our rooms and banquet service.

I would like to apologize for struggling to create an outstanding first impression when you arrived.
I would also like to apologize for the unpleasantness you experienced with our front desk staff member.

If you have the opportunity, please give me a call so we can work toward providing you with an exceptional second impression and an outstanding first impression for our other future guests.

Thank you for choosing The Abbey Resort. I hope we have the pleasure of hosting your stay the next time you are in the Midwest.

In Service,
Markus Savaglio
Guest Service Manager
800.772.1000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

What a great place for a girl's weekend - or a romantic weekend for a couple. The resort guestrooms have been renovated since I last visited there and were very nice. The staff really was extremely friendly and helpful. I think the spa itself is worth the trip. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Abbey to anyone visiting the area. Great local landmark resort!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scoulson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus S, Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Scoulson1,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed returning to our facility after being away for a few years.

We take great pride in providing the perfect atmosphere for most any getaway, clean renovated guestrooms, and outstanding customer service.

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Abbey Resort. It would be our pleasure to host your next getaway hopefully in the very near future.

Warmly,
Markus Savaglio
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The grounds are wonderful. I didn't expect such an old resort to be so charming and updated. We stayed 2 nights arriving on a Friday evening. Ignore the whiners, if this place were so bad there wouldn't be so many weddings here.

Rooms Get a room with a harbor view. Our bathroom and room itself was really clean and modern. The beds are so comfy! Rooms include an assortment of coffee and tea

Customer Service

It really made me happy to see how fluid everything ran. The staff was awesome, the customer service was unbelievable. Staff was eager to help with any and everything. We booked a spa day, a discrepancy was made by the staff and was corrected with no argument. Even though this place is bustling, check-in was literally under a minute. There are no bell hops so we had to lug our own bags to our room, didn't mind that much. The staff make the resort in my opinion. They go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect.

Spa The spa experience was relaxing. After our massages, we took showers. The showers reminded me of the ones in college. They were actual stalls and kinda creepy. I've never encountered that in a spa. I felt like Jason, Michael Myers or Freddie would creep in. We enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi for hours then chilled on the little cabana thingys. The spa was clean clean clean.

The food. Everyone recommends the fish fry and it didn't disappoint. This fish was great and very fresh. We also had the best mojitos I've ever had. My apologies, the names of the restaurants escape me but they were all very good. We visited one of the places for the all you can eat prime rib, very very good.

Price The price is steep but you get what you pay for. It was well worth it.

There's a bonfire every night which we enjoyed. We're making this our annual summer getaway. Can't wait to visit next year we'll rent a boat next time. Thank you Abbey Resort!

Room Tip: Harbor View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus S, Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear London J,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor about your stay with us at The Abbey Resort. I was thrilled to read that you will be returning next year.

We take great satisfaction in providing our guests with outstanding customer service, a clean and updated guestroom, a clean and relaxing spa experience, and a cornucopia of delicious dining options.

Throughout 2013 we are celebrating our 50th anniversary with an array of hotel and spa renovations. On your next visit, it is likely that your experience in the spa shower stalls will be much different. I would also like to add that our valets also double as bellhops and on your next visit they will be ready to take your bags to your room.

Thank you for choosing The Abbey Resort for your vacation destination. It will be our pleasure to host your stay next year.

In Service,
Markus Savaglio
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I've enjoyed this location for the past 4 years and plan to continue coming here in the early fall to enjoy the crisp autumn breeze and changing colors.

The rooms are very comfortable and I would personally recommend the harbor view rooms, in building 5 on the second floor. Great harbor view, and great balcony to relax on and enjoy a cocktail or three.

We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet - while somewhat pricy for the area (26/ea), it was unparalleled in quality and variety. We both enjoyed several glasses of mimosa's, which were included.

Room Tip: Suggest building 4, 5 or 6 on the second floor. The rooms are in the 'main house', if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus S, Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Paul S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read that you have enjoyed our resort’s fall colors for the past four years.

We take great pride in providing a comfortable guestroom, an excellent location, and an unparalleled variety of delicious brunch items.

The rooms you mentioned are among the best in the hotel for a harbor view, I would like to add that Building One also has a wonderful view of the harbor.

Thank you for choosing The Abbey for your yearly fall getaway. I hope that we will have the opportunity to host your next stay sooner than next fall. If that is not the case, we are all looking forward to your return in fall of 2013.

Warmly,
Markus Savaglio
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana
4.2 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lake Lawn Resort
Lake Lawn Resort
#1 of 7 in Delavan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
7.1 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
9.5 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
4.8 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#12 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Resort & Spa

Property: Abbey Resort & Spa
Address: 269 Fontana Blvd, Fontana, WI 53125-9604
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbey Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Abbey Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing