We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect lake resort!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Forest, Illinois
1 review
“The perfect lake resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

Recently I had the opportunity to visit The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa for a weekend. I live in the Mid-West so it is in a very convenient location. I was really looking to unwind because I've been under a lot of stress and pressure at work lately. Our check-in was very smooth and Greg, the bellmen, was very friendly and informative on things we could do during our stay. I was very impressed with the room; it was extremely clean and well-decorated. I immediately went down to the Avani Spa and was given a tour of the impressive facilities by John, the Spa Director. He made us feel very welcome and his enthusiasm about how much we would enjoy the facilities was a great start to the trip. The pool and atrium area are absolutely beautiful and very relaxing.

That night we went down to have dinner at The Waterfront Grille and had the crab cakes, which were to die for.

The next morning we got up and made use of the fitness facility, which was both modern and well-equipped. We spent most of the day lounging by the pool and enjoying the suana and steam rooms.

I have vacationed at many Four Diamond Resorts and I found The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa to be one of the best. My family and I look foward to our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TammyL60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnatTheAbbey, Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2011
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you very much for writing a review of your recent stay at The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. I have already shared your positive thoughts with our talented and dedicated team of hospitality associates. Our executive chef is extremely proud of his culinary creations and was thrilled to read your comments.

We hope that you are able to return soon to The Abbey Resort and we eagerly await your arrival.

Sincerely yours,

John Morris
Avani Spa Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    322
    145
    59
    47
See reviews for
290
391
17
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

We spent months planning a girls getaway and spoke with the hotel about accomodations since we were a small group. Decided on a suite so we could stay in one room. A suite doesn't include a bedroom, and guests 3-6 get to sleep on an 80s style pullout couch with a thin mattress and a bar in your back. We had to request extra everything since (cups, glasses, bedding, sugar, coffee), they were good about responding to our requests but it was frustrating to have to hunt down everything. The spa was overbooked and not relaxing at all . . .again considering the money I spent for a once a year trip I was really disappointed. There were also a few maintenance issues that should have been fixed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateVehoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnatTheAbbey, Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for taking the time in sharing your observations on your recent stay with us. We are constantly striving to improve our products and services and we appreciate when our guests provide us with constructive criticism. While we have received many positive responses recently we absolutely want to hear back when and where we fell short in meeting and exceeding the expectations of our guests.

We have an internal quality assurance committee where we will be discussing in detail the points that you have raised. We apologize for the disapointing results of your trip. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely yours,
John Morris
Avani Spa Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

We went away for the weekend to the Lake Geneva area and was attraced to the Abbey because they had many amenities listed online. We paid just short of $200 for the room EACH night which was to include the spa and breakfast. On the website it is listed as the bed & breakfast option. Realizing it was a little expensive, but wanted a no hassle get-away we decided to do it because of the "luxury" factor.

When we arrived the sign stated complimentary valet, so we proceeded to go into the lobby for check-in. It was a gorgeous lobby that had clearly been updated. We checked in and went out to tell the valet our room number so he could park us conveniently and he directed us to park our car ourselves in a nearby lot. TURN OFF #1! We were annoyed, but he clearly didn't have a grasp on the English language so we didn't want to waste time arguing with the doorman.

We went and parked close to our room and got out. When we walked up to the door the sign stated "secure entry", however as I pulled the handle the door was NOT locked as indicated. We proceeded upstairs to our room and along the way saw SEVERAL trays of eated food in the narrow hallways. Now, I could understand if it was near mealtime, but this was at 4p in the afternoon! Further, they had clearly been there a while as the odor was strong of left over food in a non-ventilated area. TURN OFF #2!!

When we entered our room, it appeared clean, but small. They had been updated, somewhat, but you could still see the old brown color of the ceiling through a poorly painted popcorn ceiling. The televisions were tiny and we found later that the pillows were poorly stuffed and your head sunk right down into the bed as if you were laying on nothing. There was no hot water for our first shower and the pressure was weak. All of this equated to, TURN OFF #3!!!

At this point we were considering just leaving, but were trying to make the best of it (at least for one night). We went to their restaurant for dinner. They had a buffet which was good for banquet food. They had a great live piano player which was the highlight of dinner. It did feel like you were at someone's wedding, but nonetheless, we rated it as "ok". The only bad thing was the service. It was slow and we had to ask several times for drink refills and extra napkins before we actually received them. Afterwards, we went to their "bar" for a few drinks. A regular soda was $4 and the mixed drinks were double that for weak martinis. Their house band came on and were good, but VERY LOUD. One couldn't speak so we became bored after a while and went up to the room. Another side comment on the bar atmosphere...the people there were VERY intoxicated. At first, we found it comical, watching people dance drunkenly and make fools of themselves,but after about an hour we ruled it as sad. Not only was the median age 50, but they were clearly falling down and passing out without any staff requesting that they leave the dance floor or the bar. It was ...TURN OFF #4!!!!

We turned in and woke up early to hit the spa. It was decent. They had clearly made a good impression with the spa lobby and first room of entry, but where the hot tubs, sauna, and inhalation rooms were was slightly dirty and worn looking. There was a nice juice bar in the common pool area with high quality chaise loung chairs, but that was the extent of the "luxury". We were there 30 minutes and had enough. This was just the last straw of our weekend so we left the spa, packed up, and headed back a day early. Overall, we were disappointed and TURNED OFF!! Don't go here, you will regret it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelgal080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnatTheAbbey, Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

I want to apologize for the disappointing stay that you experienced at the Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. It is our sincere desire that every guest experience a wonderful stay here at our property and we are very disapointed when we have not accomplished this. We will be discussing in detail the specific points that you raised in your Trip Advisor report with our entire management team.

I am pleased that you noticed the renovations that have ocurred in both our gorgeous hotel and spa lobby. I do want to assure you that we do take security very seriously and all of our entry doors are locked at 6 pm each and every evening. Please email me at morris@the abbeyresort.com as I would be delighted to begin a dialogue to see how we can make amends for your disatisfaction.

Sincerely yours,
John Morris
Avani Spa Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2011

My husband and I chose to stay in a suite for our 20th anniversary at the Abbey. We loved it! The suite was spacious and beautiful. We used the pool and hot tub in the Avani spa it was very relaxing.
We are not normally interested in buffet style dining but we tried the dinner and breakfast and both were fantastic. The food was fresh with a great variety of food to choose from. The view from the Fontana Bar and Grill is beautiful!
Service was great too.
The employees are very friendly and professional.
I will recommend this hotel to friends and family.
It was a perfect romantic getaway for two and I saw so many families enjoying the faciliaty too. I think it would be a great place for a family reunion as well... So much to do even in the winter.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romanticatheart713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnatTheAbbey, Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for sharing with us your comments on your recent stay at The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. There is nothing that gives our team of associates more satisfaction than to read a glowing report such as yours. We share each and every review with our team members.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our award winning Spa so much and were able to sample the delicious food at the Fontana Grill. It will be our pleasure to serve you on your next visit to our resort.

Sincerely yours,
John Morris
Avani Spa Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

Great place, would like to see it in the summer also.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cole0599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Allis, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

We had our Sorority reunion here during the weekend of Feb 25th - 27th, and we were so impressed with the beauty of the Resort. There was much to do, including Avanti Spa, swimming, and shopping. The beds were so comfortable, and the housekeeping of the rooms and grounds was spectacular. All of the girls who attended (about 50 in total), raved about the accomodations and the wonderful weekend we had. We are planning to have next year's reunion there as well, and if the Abbey continues to provide such excellent service, we will be having it there for many more years to come!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ppmarkgraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnatTheAbbey, Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to express our appreciation for your taking the time to share with us and others your thoughts on your recent stay at the Abbey Resort and Avani Spa.

We specialize in hosting Sorority Reunions and it gives us immense pleasure to observe life long friends reconnect here at our beautiful resort. We take great pride in our housekeeping service and I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our hard working and dedicated team of associates. We agree that the Avani Spa is the perfect location to relax and unwind and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely yours,
John Morris
Avani Spa Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

My friend and I have a 2 day get away every year for 20 years to the Abbey Spa and we love the surroundings, services, and the hotel! Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnatTheAbbey, Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing with others how happy that you were on your recent stay at The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. Our associates take great pride in delivering outstanding customer service to our guests and we will be sure to share your comments with them. It is particularly gratifying to receive such a glowing review from someone such as yourself who has been visting us for over 20 years!

Every year we continue to make improvements to The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. We eagerly anticipate making your 21st visit even more special.

Sincerely yours,
John Morris
Avani Spa Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana
4.2 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
7.1 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lake Lawn Resort
Lake Lawn Resort
#1 of 7 in Delavan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
4.8 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#12 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
7.9 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa

Property: The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Address: 269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing