We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, excellent service, terrific location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Retlaw Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Retlaw Plaza
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Fond du Lac
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
208 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Charming, excellent service, terrific location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Every year for the past 25 years I have been going to Fond Du Lac in July for a week of the AIR SHOW in Oshkosh. Part of that tradition is the Hotel in Fond Du Lac and 7 nights of this wonderful Hotel. The service is amazing, the cleanliness is impeccable, the folks are amazingly friendly and everything is done exactly right. Great parking garage attached, excellent restaurants within a block, a pharmacy less than 100 feet away and easy access to the highway and the shopping areas. Good night time bars accross the streets. Everything in a nice package at a very comfortable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    35
    25
    13
    8
See reviews for
24
15
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I really enjoyed the hotel and the staff was excellent. The hotel was very clean and I enjoyed the new restaurant at the hotel. I look forward to staying there again on my next visit to fond du lac. The staff was courteous and knowledgeable about great things to do in the city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel over the weekend. The first room we checked into was filthy! We asked for another room and it was better, but still dirty and shabby. Stains on the chairs, dirty carpet, dirty microwave, mildew in the shower...gross! And the whole hotel stunk especially the 8th floor! Do not stay at hotel!

Room Tip: Do not stay here. It literally made me nauseous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lgibula1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fond du Lac hotels

Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at the Retlaw for the weekend while visiting my daughter at the college down the street. The location was very convenient as it is walking distance to a number of cute little shops and pubs. We stayed on the 7th floor which we heard had been recently updated. The room was very clean and was perfect for what we were there for. We had the complimentary breakfast and it was good. Not a large variety but the chef making the omelets was very accomdating (we forgot our tickets and he gave us the breakfast without making us go all the way back to our room to get them) If you are into ghosts...the stories of it being haunted are definitely true! We had a number of incidents that were a little odd. First, my sister was in the shower and when she got out the water was turned on in the sink! Nobody had been in the bathroom and she did not use the sink prior to getting into the shower. Second, we came back to the room and there was a side table and large sitting chair stacked and leaning against the door of room 717 (the room that is apparently the most haunted). We at first laughed thinking that it was some crazy kids but then learned later that it is called "ghost stacking." We had takend a picture and there was no way that anyone could get those two things to balance the way they were!

All in all it was a nice hotel! The staff was extremely friendly, food was good, the bar was convenient. We will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: The 7th floor is updated with flat screen tv's. The other floors have tube televisions and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I spent one night and we liked our stay. Downtown location was convenient, but the sign on the outside of hotel reads Ramada, while the reservation reads Retlaw Plaza, so we were a bit confused. The staff was nice, our room was on 7th floor, clean, comfortable, and quiet. Breakfast was all right, chef prepared us omelet and waffles, but not much else to choose from. Free covered parking lot on the side of hotel was convenient. Reasonable for the price we paid. Would recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 01worldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We took two rooms for the Oshkosh event.
A tired and worn out hotel which has definitely seen better days and needs money spending in it to take it out of the time warp.
Rubbish and old furniture rotting outside when you look out of your room windows. Makes you wonder how they store and keep other things......
Dinner- there's a converted charge that's now a bar and restaurant, spend your money and evening there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert260970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I would've grade this property as terrible, but because of the reservation agent, I decided to give it a poor rating. More on that later. Don't let the lobby/bar pictures fool you, the rooms are in terrible shape. Beds are hard, you still get the Zenith tube televisions (except for floor 7) and stains on the furniture! The rooms are dark with drab colors. Also, there is a musty odor in the air. This hotel is switching owners again, Ramada back to Retlaw. I was told the rooms have been upgraded. But to get those rooms, you need to request floor 7. Upgrades? You get a flat screen TV.

The location of this hotel is in the heart of downtown. Walking distance to many local restaurants and pubs. Unfortunately, this hotel needs a complete overhaul if you are thinking about staying here. This is the second time that I had to leave a hotel and cancel my booking. As I mentioned earlier, the desk agent was very helpful and cancelled my room on the spot, without any pushback, even after 6pm. That was very nice of her. Stayed (visited) in the mini suite, just not worth it.
Until you have proof that this hotel has been completely renovated, don't stay here.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, recommend the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Riplip3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fond du Lac
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fond du Lac
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Fond Du Lac
Holiday Inn Fond Du Lac
#5 of 14 in Fond du Lac
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fond du Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Fond du Lac
Hampton Inn Fond du Lac
#4 of 14 in Fond du Lac
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Fond du Lac
Days Inn Fond du Lac
#7 of 14 in Fond du Lac
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac
Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac
#6 of 14 in Fond du Lac
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retlaw Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retlaw Plaza

Property: Retlaw Plaza
Address: 1 N Main St, Fond du Lac, WI 54935-3419 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fond du Lac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Fond du Lac
Hotel Class:3 star — Retlaw Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Retlaw Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing