We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Retlaw

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Retlaw
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Fond du Lac
IL
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

This hotel was remodeled a few years ago but it still is in pretty good shape. Our room was in good shape but others in our party had rooms that were a little worn. the staff responded to all of those issues quickly & to their satisfaction. It is in a great location on main drag within walking distance of many bars & eating areas. The beach is walkable from here but is a short ride in the car. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jg112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Retlaw, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is good that the staff were accommodating to you and your group. We appreciate your review and hope to see you again.
Thank you for staying with us.

Carla Riutta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    34
    25
    13
    8
See reviews for
24
15
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

The hotel is very nice and has a nice historic and elegant charm. Although the hotel staff and food was good, I had some strange experiences while staying in my room. During my first night on the 7th floor, I had some unusual things happen to me. In the middle of the night I felt someone tapping my back/shoulder area, waking me up from my sleep (no one was around, but my husband who was sound asleep). The next day in the afternoon while alone in the room the bathroom light turn on and off by itself, while I was across the room. After I asked for a room change from hotel staff, I experienced other unusual things in my new room, which was on the 5th floor. As I brought my luggage into my room, I heard footsteps following me into the room, but when I turned around no on was there. I would hear banging on the most exterior wall in room in the middle of the night, which woke me up several times during the night (seemed to happen everytime I was about to fall asleep.) I never felt alone in the room and could not get a good nights sleep. If you are into paranormal activity this hotel is the place for you!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Retlaw, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
It seems like you had quite an experience here. I am sorry to hear you couldn't get a good nights sleep. I wish you could have been more comfortable. I hope the staff were accommodating and helpful with your room move. Thank you for staying with us and also, thank you for sharing your review.

Carla Riutta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel, with very friendly staff and excellent service! All this and free covered parking, too.

We especially enjoyed the fitness center with all its nice equipment - and of course "J" who was very helpful and fun to be around.
Breakfast at Cibo was a big hit - in part because of Mary, our morning waitress.
In the evening, we enjoyed drinks at the bar - and bantering with the bartender - and then dinner at Cibo. Best food and service we've had in eons!

Would definitely stay at the Ramada in Fond du Lac whenever we are in the area!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Retlaw, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to here that you enjoyed our services and our staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Carla Riutta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed here for business. Older hotel. Some updating would be nice. Very convenient. Big covered parking structure. Staff was great. Large fitness center had a lot of equipment, but older. Restaurant in hotel is a surprise. Food is very good quality at a reasonable price. Drink specials in the evening were a bonus. Hotel and rooms were very clean. I would go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soxfan7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Retlaw, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while in town for business. Our hotel is historic and because of this it does need constant updating but we are in the remodeling process. I am glad to here that the facilities in the hotel were useful to you and also that our staff were accomadating. We hope to see you during your next stay.

Sincerely,
Carla Riutta
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

The room we booked at the Ramada was acceptable. Nothing special or out of the ordinary but clean and well stocked. Our room was located in a block reserved for a friends wedding. The rooms available were two double beds which was fine except for the fact that my fiancee and I had to sleep in separate beds making our stay a little less ideal. The ice machine was inoperative making hauling it up from the 4th floor less than desirable. Another disconcerting factor was the card left in our room stated it was last cleaned in mid-September...we were there the 3rd weekend in October.
The bride and groom had arranged for the hotel to shuttle guests to and from the wedding reception that was approximately 10 miles away. Many of us were planning on taking advantage of this courtesy service. After letting the front desk know that 6 of us were in need of a shuttle to the event, we waited a 1/2 hour until a dilapited green Pontiac Montana van pulled up in front of the hotel. The 6 of us climbed in and squished ourselves into the van and then held on for dear life for the thankfully short ride to the wedding. As the service manager of a large Chevrolet dealership, it was clear that the van was in desperate need of repair as the brakes were grinding at every stoplight, making most of our stops quite scary. Especially since those of us in the back were unable to use our seatbelts.
As we arrived at the event the driver, who informed us she was the night manager, said she would be returning at midnight to shuttle guests back to the hotel, but we could call at any time if we would like to leave earlier. This is where our main issue began...
At about 10:30 my fiancee and I decided to head back to the hotel. I called the hotel and the gentleman who answered the phone told me that the shuttle would be taking off momentarily to pick us up. So we waited, and waited, and waited some more until an entire hour had passed. I called the hotel again. This time I spoke with a young lady and very politely (despite my annoyance) informed her that I had called for a ride over an hour ago and was curious if someone was infact "on the way". She was quite snippy and responded with "Are you a guest at the hotel?" Seriously? Why would I be calling if I wasn't? I said yes and without apology she said "they are leaving right now". Ummmm, weren't they leaving an hour ago? We waited another 20-30 minutes (now almost midnight) and finally were taken back to the hotel in the van of horror. On the way back the side sliding door would not latch correctly so I was left to sit, unbuckled, next to a door that could fly open at any moment. Fun. There was no apology given for our ridiculous wait and upon arrival to the hotel we retreated to our room.
Most hotels have some sort of room service. On the menu, no hours were listed. When we called the room service # we got voicemail. Voicemail with no message, no hours, no information, just "you have reached voicemail...beeeeeeeep"
Thank goodness for smart phones. At least we were able to look up a local pizza place and have food delivered.
We made a quick exit the next morning without so much as an apology OR a thank you. I doubt, unless forced, we will stay there again...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel is older but usually clean and service is fast and efficient. It is close to the downtown so that is why we always stay here when in Fond du Lac.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephhayden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

The hotel was older but very clean and pretty. The staff was really nice and helpful. The hotel is located in downtown Fond Du Lac and close to the waterfront park, restaurants and freeways. The workout area, pool and hot tub were great and very clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2TravelFreqently
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fond du Lac hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Fond du Lac
Hampton Inn Fond du Lac
#1 of 14 in Fond du Lac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fond du Lac
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Fond du Lac
Days Inn Fond du Lac
#7 of 14 in Fond du Lac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fond du Lac
1.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Fond Du Lac
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac
Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac
#6 of 14 in Fond du Lac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Retlaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Retlaw

Property: Hotel Retlaw
Address: 1 N Main St, Fond du Lac, WI 54935-3419 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fond du Lac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Fond du Lac
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Retlaw 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL RETLAW poised for luxury! Opening Fall 2017 Hotel Retlaw opened in 1923 during an era of incredible social, artistic, and cultural excitement. This remarkable hotel embraced the Roaring Twenties and all that happened during this unique time in history—the Neoclassical revival period peaked, and flappers redefined feminine style. Jazz music was all the rage and there was a sense of excitement in the air. Hotel Retlaw, a “Grande Dame” in its own right, embodied an unmistakable style of timeless elegance combined with modern edginess. Today, Hotel Retlaw is poised to retake its rightful place as one of Wisconsin’s elite hotels and a preferred destination for dignitaries, and celebrities. Original hallmarks still characterize this iconic treasure in central Wisconsin, and the hotel will undergo an unprecedented renovation beginning in the winter of 2017 that will preserve the historic significance and aesthetics of the iconic property, while infusing it with contemporary luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Retlaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing