We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fond du Lac, WI”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Fond Du Lac
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Fond du Lac
Reviewed October 24, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank DOGLOVER774
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 505 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

It's been awhile since I've stayed in a Whyndham property, and I was a bit hesitant about booking here. The price was right, and I really only needed to sleep and shower there. I was greeted when I arrived the first night by the night clerk. She was very nice, and efficient with her work. Now, I requested a room on the 2nd floor. When I got to my floor, I could smell the lingering smell of smoking. It wasn't very pleasant. I walked into my room, and was greeted by a nice big black bug on the ceiling. I took one look at the bedding, and all I could think about was how much bleach it would need to get it white again. I went to the bathroom, and I found the bath tub to be quite dirty. Of course, they did not offer a bath mat, so I would put a hand towel down on the tub.

They offered a continental breakfast, but I didn't take advantage of it as I would sleep through the times. I couldn't help it as my neighbors kept me up half the night. At first, I thought maybe the room next door was the employee lounge. There was people in and out of the room at all hours of the night. It was somewhat creepy.

Now, I was surprised I had to ask for shampoo the next day. The person who had cleaned my room had not supplied me with new shampoo. I know these hotels run on the bare minimum. There was no hair dryer to use, either.

The room was small, but that didn't bother me too much. I was going to try the wi-fi, but I decided not to. The room's decor was rather outdated. It was pretty sad. Plus, the bed I was sleeping in had a popped spring. A new mattress is needed.

I stayed here for four nights. I could not wait to check out. Though, I was pleasantly surprised when I returned on Friday night. The room was cleaned. The bathtub scrubbed down. Plus, I could tell I got new bedding. So kudos to the crew member with the name that starts with N. She did a great job. I hope her co-workers follow her lead.

If I do find myself in Fond Du Lac again, I'm definitely going to check out other hotels to avoid the Microtel. I can only hope that things get better there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luzan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I understand that you get what you pay for. I wasn't expecting a big room or an updated one either. But I do expect it to be clean. This was not at all. All the sheets and towels had a yellow hue to them. Bathroom had traces of mold and a dirty floor. The bed was hard as a rock. I would never stay here ever again and I'm just glad I got out with out any bed bugs. The free breakfast in the morning was also a joke. It's like they had some extra space they decided to serve some small muffins and pieces of bread and call it a complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Kinnersmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We got to hotel around 9 pm, we got two rooms for two nights, one of which wasn't clean when we got to it, we called down to front desk and told them 2nd room wasn't clean, they would send someone to clean it right away. Got something to eat, checked 2nd room hour later, still not clean. Stayed in one room 1st night. It's a non-smoking hotel but rooms and hallways smelled of stale smoke. 2nd night, 2nd room was bad, smelled like cleaning staff was smoking while they were working. Pillows are tiny, bed is lumpy. Bad all the way around. Plus the rate advertised on line isn't what you get when you check in. It was way more which was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank REBECCA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was our second choice (our first choice motel in the area was full). The room rate here, though, was lower than our first choice. The cyclone fenced pipeline field on the entrance street to the motel (with concrete blocks and warning signs about no cigarettes, no open fires, gas under high pressure, etc., made us a little nervous. The streetlights on the entrance road are dark, making it hard to find at night. The room was clean. Second night we had no clean washcloths and the desk clerk wasn't available right away (housekeeping staff hadn't shown up so he had to do the laundry). We breakfasted out -- the breakfast provided wasn't so appealing. One towel, small to begin with, had about 3 inches trmmed off of one end. Slept well -- a nice "cheap sleep." We didn't know, weren't told whether there was a fitness room, would have used it if we'd known.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank DONALD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

When I arrived at 1 am I found that the toilet and sink were soiled, i.e., they had not been cleaned. On the following four days the room was cleaned adequately.

The free continental breakfast was minimal: no fresh fruit, no pastries, only frozen waffles, cramped room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank JDWCupertino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fond du Lac hotels
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Fond du Lac
Days Inn Fond du Lac
#7 of 14 in Fond du Lac
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Fond Du Lac
Holiday Inn Fond Du Lac
#5 of 14 in Fond du Lac
156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Fond du Lac, WI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Executive Lodge Fond du Lac
Executive Lodge Fond du Lac
#9 of 14 in Fond du Lac
41 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Fond du Lac
Hampton Inn Fond du Lac
#1 of 14 in Fond du Lac
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fond du Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Fond Du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Fond Du Lac

Address: 920 S Military Rd, Fond du Lac, WI 54935-9102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fond du Lac
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Fond du Lac
Price Range: $52 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Fond Du Lac 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Fond Du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Fond Du Lac Hotel Fond Du Lac
Microtel Fond Du Lac
Fond Du Lac Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing