We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, but a disappointing handicapped bath room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Fond du Lac
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good location, but a disappointing handicapped bath room.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Comfort inn is rght off of US 45, by the MilitaryRoad exit. About 2 miles (and an easy drive) from Fruth Field.
Place is spotless, with plenty of convenient parking. Room clerk gave me helpful advice on bars around Fruth field. Security Guard helped with my room key (you don't slide it, just touch "the wand"). If you do not need a handicapped room you do not have to read any further.
There does not seem to be any standards for what constitutes a handicapped accessible bath room. At the comfort Inn, in Skokie, IL, the room had a walk in shower with a seat, and plenty of bars to "assist you" around the commode. This room had NO bars around the commode, and a Bath Tub with a rather high top to "climb " over. The Bath Tub did not look that clean, and since I was only an hour or so from Home, I ecided to not use the formidable looking bath tub. If you do not need a handicapped room, I'd recommend this motel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbyc1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to the area! We appreciate your feedback about your stay & are pleased to here that you noticed our great location and accommodating staff.

I appologize that the handicap room fell short of your expectations. Your helpful comments are much appeciated. and will be put to use during our renovations this Winter.

Again, thank you again for staying with us and for providing us with such helpful comments. We hope to see you two again the next time you're in the Fond du Lac area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    27
    14
    11
    4
See reviews for
29
21
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Hotel is very clean with nice bedding. Breakfast area was a bit cramped but breakfast had good variety of hot and cold items. Not many eating options close by other than other hotels. Hotel is easily accessible to local highways. I would definately stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryA320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing the Comfort Inn Fond du Lac for your stay.

I am very happy reading the large number of your positive comments on the hotel, staff and service. I do appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience and thank you for that.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon back to the Comfort Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed at this location for years. The only thing I don't like about it is there is no elevator. The hotel is facing Hwy 41, so I can see that some people may not like the noise from the highway, but most of the time you don't even hear the traffic. I keep returning because it is an hour north of Milwaukee, an hour west of Sheboygan and Lake Michigan, 90 minutes from Madison and about the same from Green Bay. Plus Fond du Lac has many great things to do. The staff has always been very helpful. There is a full service restaurant and bar in the Holiday Inn just next door. The Comfort Inn also has a great indoor pool and whirlpool, small exercise room and vending machines for those late night snacks. The free breakfast is usually very good, plus there is a make your own waffle machine. Some of the rooms have refrigerators. All the rooms I have stayed in also have bathtub and shower combo. Last time I stayed, I was told that some of the rooms TV's had been upgraded to flatscreens, which mind was.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on first floor if you don't want to carry your luggage up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time from your schedule to post a review for Comfort Inn Fond du Lac.

Certainly our hotel offers an ideal location in Fond du Lac and manages to offer a 'great value' for a quick visit. We appreciate your service rating as our team is committed to assisting visitors with local attractions, dining, and events to insure they experience our wonderful city.

Please let us know if we can ever assist with future travel plans. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
621 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

The walls were thin and we could hear everything going on outside. Breakfast had a lot of hard stuff like the biscuits, doughnuts. The fruit had aged too much. The hostess serving breakfast did work hard. As first I was worried as wesaw people cooking on a grill in the lot, but it was ok. Desk staff was not too knowledgeable. Had cookies at reception but a teen took 5so was not enough

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank One2travelUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you for your posting related to the Comfort Inn of Fond du Lac and we regret that your stay was marred by noise.

During your time here we were sold out and had a large group staying at the hotel.

Please let us know when you next visit Fond du Lac is, so that we may upgrade you to one of our newly renovated rooms for this inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

we were delightfully surprised when we stayed at this hotel. The staff were outstanding,the room
was big and comfortable,great pool and hot tub,and a better than average breakfast selection.
this hotel was convieniently located near fond du lac and was quite reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You're right! Our staff is a great asset to the Comfort Inn; as well as the many ammenities we offer in our "hidden gem" of Fond du Lac.

Thankyou so much for the great review! We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Fond du Lac.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

I can't really think of a better word to describe this hotel than average. It's not a dump, it's not a 5 star, but for a quick nights stay it does the job. My wife and I stayed here for a wedding weekend in Fond Du Lac, and we found the facility to be good overall. The room was a good size, with a fridge and microwave in the room. There is also a desk for doing some work if need be. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom sink was a good size. Downsides to the room would be the cheap flat screen TV which had a pretty terrible picture, the AC unit was quite noisy, and the shower head was made with middle schoolers in mind, not 6 footers.

Their continental breakfast was better than we anticipated. They had hot eggs, ham and sausage, along with a waffle maker, which is my wife favorite. It was not a bunch of prepackaged pastries and some 3 day old coffee.

There is also an ok sized pool and hot tub, and an arcade with some sweet classic games. Area 51, Cruisin' World, and an original Pac Man.

Overall, I wouldn't say you should expect too much, but at the same time, don't expect it to be a dump either. If you are looking for an inexpensive hotel in the Fond Du Lac area, this would be a good choice for you. If you are looking for a week long place to stay, you might wan to look for a nicer hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side of the hotel face the highway, but do have balconies. Go for the second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Your comments are helpful in improving the hotel’s services in the addressed needed areas.

Since your last stay, we have replaced the A/C unit in your room, and are looking into updating the showers.

I do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we may illustrate to you that we are above average in many ways.

Sincerely,


Kristen Potratz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

The hotel needs some updating, especially in the bathrooms, curling paint and wallpaper. The staff is very courteous and helpful.
The rooms were clean and tidy. Microwave and fridge in the room is nice, but the rooms are quite small to accommodate them and the extra chair. A value for under $60/night. More than that and I'd find another place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRingold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brock W, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
I am sorry to hear about your recent stay. Our staff always tries to make sure the guest is satisfied and I am glad that the staff here is doing a wonderful job. Our Hotel is 23 years old and we are trying to do things to update the hotel. We currently have a few renovations planned for our hotel such as new items in our breakfast room, a new lobby and also a few room updates as well. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fond du Lac hotels
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fond du Lac
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Fond du Lac
Hampton Inn Fond du Lac
#1 of 14 in Fond du Lac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fond du Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Fond du Lac
Days Inn Fond du Lac
#7 of 14 in Fond du Lac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Fond Du Lac
Holiday Inn Fond Du Lac
#5 of 14 in Fond du Lac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Fond Du Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac

Property: Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac
Address: 77 Holiday Lane, Fond du Lac, WI 54935 (Formerly Baymont Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fond du Lac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Fond du Lac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn hotel in Fond du Lac, ideally located across the street from Mercury Marine Headquarters and minutes away from Miracle Mile, and a number of other famous destinations. Enjoy the many hotel amenities such as free breakfast, Wi-Fi Internet access, weekday newspaper, use of lobby computer, and free local calls. You will find the very best of comfort and convenience here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fond Du Lac Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing