We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to "base" yourself” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Fond du Lac
Phoenix
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to "base" yourself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed at this location for years. The only thing I don't like about it is there is no elevator. The hotel is facing Hwy 41, so I can see that some people may not like the noise from the highway, but most of the time you don't even hear the traffic. I keep returning because it is an hour north of Milwaukee, an hour west of Sheboygan and Lake Michigan, 90 minutes from Madison and about the same from Green Bay. Plus Fond du Lac has many great things to do. The staff has always been very helpful. There is a full service restaurant and bar in the Holiday Inn just next door. The Comfort Inn also has a great indoor pool and whirlpool, small exercise room and vending machines for those late night snacks. The free breakfast is usually very good, plus there is a make your own waffle machine. Some of the rooms have refrigerators. All the rooms I have stayed in also have bathtub and shower combo. Last time I stayed, I was told that some of the rooms TV's had been upgraded to flatscreens, which mind was.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on first floor if you don't want to carry your luggage up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time from your schedule to post a review for Comfort Inn Fond du Lac.

Certainly our hotel offers an ideal location in Fond du Lac and manages to offer a 'great value' for a quick visit. We appreciate your service rating as our team is committed to assisting visitors with local attractions, dining, and events to insure they experience our wonderful city.

Please let us know if we can ever assist with future travel plans. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    26
    14
    11
    4
See reviews for
28
21
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
622 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

The walls were thin and we could hear everything going on outside. Breakfast had a lot of hard stuff like the biscuits, doughnuts. The fruit had aged too much. The hostess serving breakfast did work hard. As first I was worried as wesaw people cooking on a grill in the lot, but it was ok. Desk staff was not too knowledgeable. Had cookies at reception but a teen took 5so was not enough

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank One2travelUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you for your posting related to the Comfort Inn of Fond du Lac and we regret that your stay was marred by noise.

During your time here we were sold out and had a large group staying at the hotel.

Please let us know when you next visit Fond du Lac is, so that we may upgrade you to one of our newly renovated rooms for this inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

we were delightfully surprised when we stayed at this hotel. The staff were outstanding,the room
was big and comfortable,great pool and hot tub,and a better than average breakfast selection.
this hotel was convieniently located near fond du lac and was quite reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You're right! Our staff is a great asset to the Comfort Inn; as well as the many ammenities we offer in our "hidden gem" of Fond du Lac.

Thankyou so much for the great review! We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Fond du Lac.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

I can't really think of a better word to describe this hotel than average. It's not a dump, it's not a 5 star, but for a quick nights stay it does the job. My wife and I stayed here for a wedding weekend in Fond Du Lac, and we found the facility to be good overall. The room was a good size, with a fridge and microwave in the room. There is also a desk for doing some work if need be. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom sink was a good size. Downsides to the room would be the cheap flat screen TV which had a pretty terrible picture, the AC unit was quite noisy, and the shower head was made with middle schoolers in mind, not 6 footers.

Their continental breakfast was better than we anticipated. They had hot eggs, ham and sausage, along with a waffle maker, which is my wife favorite. It was not a bunch of prepackaged pastries and some 3 day old coffee.

There is also an ok sized pool and hot tub, and an arcade with some sweet classic games. Area 51, Cruisin' World, and an original Pac Man.

Overall, I wouldn't say you should expect too much, but at the same time, don't expect it to be a dump either. If you are looking for an inexpensive hotel in the Fond Du Lac area, this would be a good choice for you. If you are looking for a week long place to stay, you might wan to look for a nicer hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side of the hotel face the highway, but do have balconies. Go for the second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen P, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Your comments are helpful in improving the hotel’s services in the addressed needed areas.

Since your last stay, we have replaced the A/C unit in your room, and are looking into updating the showers.

I do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we may illustrate to you that we are above average in many ways.

Sincerely,


Kristen Potratz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

The hotel needs some updating, especially in the bathrooms, curling paint and wallpaper. The staff is very courteous and helpful.
The rooms were clean and tidy. Microwave and fridge in the room is nice, but the rooms are quite small to accommodate them and the extra chair. A value for under $60/night. More than that and I'd find another place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRingold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brock W, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
I am sorry to hear about your recent stay. Our staff always tries to make sure the guest is satisfied and I am glad that the staff here is doing a wonderful job. Our Hotel is 23 years old and we are trying to do things to update the hotel. We currently have a few renovations planned for our hotel such as new items in our breakfast room, a new lobby and also a few room updates as well. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Texas
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Before rating this Hotel I gave it the bennefit to make sure my poor stay in the past was not a fluke by staying twice as I am a elite member and stay at Choice Hotels for business. What makes this hotel Poor are the members of the staff in my opinion. Leadership well is a reflection of the people hired........ Net Net stay at Holiday Inn

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brock W, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
I'm sorry to hear that you have encountered a bad stay. I would like to let you know that our staff always tries to do what ever they can to make someones stay memorable and enjoyable. We like to provide a great service and at a great price. We will go out of our way to make this your home away from home and we haven't had a problem with anyone one of our staff members in a long time. If you would like you are welcome to contact me directly and discuss the issues that you encountered.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

This is a nice clean hotel, great price and Excellent Customer Service at Front Desk. The rooms are clean and roomy. They have a good breakfast each morning. The Front Desk Staff is
very friendly and accommodating!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brock W, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We try to provide the best service possible at the hotel and I am very proud to hear that we are doing that. The service at the Front Desk is the most important because they interact with guests all the time and to hear that they are going above and beyond to make yours and others stays more enjoyable is very good to hear.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fond du Lac hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fond du Lac
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Fond du Lac
Hampton Inn Fond du Lac
#1 of 14 in Fond du Lac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Fond du Lac
Days Inn Fond du Lac
#7 of 14 in Fond du Lac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fond du Lac
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Fond Du Lac
Holiday Inn Fond Du Lac
#5 of 14 in Fond du Lac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Fond Du Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac

Property: Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac
Address: 77 Holiday Lane, Fond du Lac, WI 54935 (Formerly Baymont Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fond du Lac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Fond du Lac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn hotel in Fond du Lac, ideally located across the street from Mercury Marine Headquarters and minutes away from Miracle Mile, and a number of other famous destinations. Enjoy the many hotel amenities such as free breakfast, Wi-Fi Internet access, weekday newspaper, use of lobby computer, and free local calls. You will find the very best of comfort and convenience here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn Fond Du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fond Du Lac Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing