We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Italian food - much improved!”
Review of Picasso's - CLOSED

Picasso's
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Madison, WI
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Solid Italian food - much improved!”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We visited this restaurant a few times after it first opened. Every visit left us with mixed feelings - the food was good but there were problems with the management. Once my pasta was served with ice cold sauce. Another time we asked the server about wines and she said they have "both red and white". And that pretty much exhausted her knowledge of the wine list. A couple of other serving gaffes. But we kept coming back, and they kept getting better. Our last visit was very good - they now have an excellent and imaginative variety of entrees. I had sausage and baked penne and it was very good. They have a large wine list and the server knew it by heart. The place still has a 70s family pizza parlor ambiance, but we go for the food not the decor. Great menu, fair prices, convenient location and there's always a table available.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MattRMadison_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Depend on the night All the way from I to 4 star food depending on the”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Eccentric owner's mood
Bizarre yet intriguing summer outdoor dining. Otherwise dismal 60's interior

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillybobMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

For a little, shopping center restaurant, it has some big tastes. The portions you get are a good size. Prices are really reasonable. Their homemade spaghetti sauce and alfredo sauce is wonderful. There Italian Icon (like a Philly Cheese) is delicious. Meatball Masterpice (meatball sandwich) is dribble down your chin goodness.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank RetirementTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Really nice food, worth a return”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Had the crab-stuffed salmon, and wife/son had the Lasagna. All were excellent, and a special mention to the Lasagna, as it is felt to be the best in the Madison area.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great thin crust pizza and salads”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We love the pizza. Thin crust with a nice selection of sizes and toppings. Once they cooked it a little too long and it was extra special - will ask for extra sauce and extra crispy in future. Quaint little family owned place in a strange little strip mall. Service has always been great!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bridgette70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picasso's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing