We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inaccessible, Unaccomodating, and Rude!”
Review of Fish Creek Market

Fish Creek Market
Price range: $6 - $9
Restaurant details
Reviewed October 3, 2018

DON’T GO HERE! Friends and I were recently visiting Door County with plans to tour the Eagle Bluff Lighthouse, including taking along a light lunch to eat in the Peninsula State Park. Having stopped at this shop several years ago and enjoyed it’s wide variety of offerings, it seemed an ideal choice to utilize again for obtaining our “picnic to go”. In my previous visit I had not particularly paid attention to accessibility. But this time it was of major significance as I was using a mobility scooter, and another guest was accompanied by an emotional support animal (albeit the dog was not wearing a vest at the time due to the heat and traveling, her owner did have the paperwork handy to prove her status).

Although we lucked out with a parking space across the street from the front entrance, we found that “The Market” front doors were inaccessible for the part of our party using a scooter due to several big steps. Finding a staff person inside, our able-bodied friend asked about accessibility for the scooter and was told there was a ramp around in the back. I went around that way. Meanwhile, the person with the support animal entered the shop and was immediately accosted by a staff person and told in no uncertain terms to leave! The request not made politely, nor was there any willingness to acknowledge the animal’s status. Rather the staff person just reacted rudely in the extreme, actually yelling, and demanding shrilly that they leave IMMEDIATELY. Which they did, but not without embarrassment, mortification, and anger.

Meanwhile, it was discovered after going clear around the block, that the so-called “ramp” in the rear of the store to be used for access by the person on the scooter was really an old wooden loading ramp—high, dangerous, and containing large speed bumps of a size making this entrance also unscalable for the scooter and rider. So much for a ramp and accessibility!

The Market staff could have kept our business, had their attitudes been different. Even mildly helpful approaches would likely have resulted, at the very least, in our purchasing our picnicing sandwiches “to go” by just placing orders that could have been brought out to us by market staff, or our able-bodied friend. Had we been welcomed and/or offered any assistance or accommodations to compensate for the obstacles encountered, we might have found ways to overcome the steps, and animal issue, thereby potentially enabling further shopping/expenditures by our party. Instead, we found The Market and staff to be inaccessible, unaccomodating, and rude.

Abused and disappointed, we left town empty-handed. And, sad to say, our distressing experience with The Market also left a bad taste in our mouth about the rest of the cute little town of Fish Creek, such that we skipped the rest of it’s offerings during the remainder of our trip.

The bottom line is that this business is not only inhospitable and possibly even in violation of guidelines for anyone with support animals, but it is also really inaccessible for anyone with limited mobility, including walkers, wheelchairs, and scooters; even folks using canes and crutches would have found access to this business extremely difficult. It was truly disappointing to find that such an potentially appealing stop was more than a waste of time.

Oh, yes. Sorry, but because of the above experience, this reviewer can’t tell you how the food is, what other products are available, etc. Our recommendation instead—STOP ELSEWHERE!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Service
Thank Wirose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan S, General Manager at Fish Creek Market, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2018

Hello Wirose-
We’re sorry you didn’t have a great experience when you were in and we’d like to address a few of your concerns.
Since we prepare food here and are a grocery store, we are fairly strict when it comes to animals in the store. We happily make exceptions for Service Animals, but since emotional support animals are not covered by the same legal protections, we simply don’t allow them in for hygienic reasons.
As for our accessibility issues, we are in a historic building that dates back to 1895 and are the only one of the three businesses in the building to offer a handicap-accessible entrance at all, and we’re sorry if it didn’t meet your expectations. We were never aware you were interested in sandwiches and would happily have worked with you to bring them outside if we’d been asked.
At the end of the day, we simply don’t allow pets and do our best to provide an accessible entrance to those who have problems getting around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

4 - 8 of 68 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2018

This is a nice little market filled with all the little things you may have forgotten. Right on the main street of Fish Creek and the prices are good.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2018

Deli sandwiches with a wide variety of choices. It came with chips apple slices or cookie for $6.99! Very good deal. Chicken salad and tuna salad were both very good.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Basshunter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018

They have the absolute best clam chowder I have ever had, and I've eaten it from coast to coast. The bloody Marys were good also. Dining on the lawn, though a bit bothered by pesky bees, was wonderful on the shores of the lake.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Kagee39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018

Good place for wine, alcohol and beer. The deli sandwiches are good and come with a cookie and chips and are very reasonable.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank carolkIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Creek Market also viewed

Fish Creek, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County

Been to Fish Creek Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing