We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience with Restaurant”
Review of Whistling Swan Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fish Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whistling Swan Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Fish Creek B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Experience with Restaurant”
Reviewed October 18, 2010

My husband and I recently ate at the Whistling Swan restaurant and were looking forward to it based on reviews here and at Yelp. When we arrived I loved the look of the dining room with the bar and fireplace, but we were seated in the porch which I thought was also very nice. I just read all the comments about it being stuffy, we were perfectly comfortable.

We started with an amuse bouche which we were disappointed in. It was a green gazpacho which had a lot of potential, but needed another component that would have made it much better.

We ordered the pork belly tacos and calamari as appetizers - both exceptionally good. My husband said the pork belly tacos were the best tacos he'd ever had, and I had to agree. These were executed perfectly.

For our main course we had the ribeye and the pork tenderloin, which we were a little disappointed in as well. The ribeye came with hen of the woods mushrooms which we were very excited about, but unfortunately they were overcooked and crispy, totally ruined. It was also served with a potato pie which sounded intriguing, unfortunately they left it in the fryer way too long and it was almost burnt, we were surprised the chef sent it out honestly. The sauce with the steak however was well done and the steak was cooked perfectly. The pork came with an interesting sauce which could have used a little more tang and the pancetta was was overcooked.

Overall we had a very pleasant experience at the restaurant. I have to admit that we have pretty high standards and are true 'foodies' but we were content with the meal we had. I did overhear one of the servers telling another guest that they were shorthanded in the kitchen and one of the servers was helping out in the kitchen. Which I find a little hard to believe, but would make sense because of the big inconsistencies in our food (ie overcooked pancetta but then perfectly cooked steak).

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank scampbell79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    25
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
64
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

The building, decor, and atmosphere was very nice. Location is great. We found the bed uncomfortable, the walls were thin, drafty, and we could hear bottles dumped in a dumpster from our room. We had the included breakfast and it was very good. We would still recommend staying here as long as you aren't a super picky crazy person.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Stayed at the Whistling Swan B&B for 2 nights. The rooms were quite nice. Several of the rooms are ideal for small families with a separate sitting room and sofabed. The restaurant is visually promising, but the food was a big disappointment. The larger of the two seating areas, the porch, is hot and stuffy, and the floor has a substantial slant to it. I had a lamb dish that was tasteless.

If I were to go again, I would stay in the hotel, but would eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jazzman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We were in Fish Creek for 4 nights and saved The Whistling Swan for our last night dinner. What a disappointment.
The room was warm and stuffy. We were amazed at the poor service. our waiter only had one other table.
The tomato - peach salad was inedible. We were also disapponted in the entree's. The Pork tenderloin was infused with liquid smoke and the meatball dish was "Chef Boyardee"!
The complimentary aperitif was a combo of beet juice and cherry juice?
In short: overpriced, and pretentious.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank rexboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

This was a last minute trip to Door County. Found vacancy here seemed ok in the reviews. Stayed in Room #1, small but decent room. Other reviews of noise where accurate - noise migrated upstairs easily. Doors to the rooms have nice overdoor transom windows - until at night the hall lights cascade in -hope the owners can figure out a better arrangement. With this being said we did overall enjoy our stay. Decent morning breakfast - great service, good food - but the same selection everyday. Place was clean, prompt service if requesting anything - but not many extras that I have seen in other bed-n-breakfasts (social hours, etc). They had a onsite restraunt - but we found cheaper places outside. Great location - easy to access all of Fish Creek. Enjoyed our trip - good place, clean, good decore - just some fine tuning to take it the next level. We would stay again - but probably will sample other locations first.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejwebly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
699 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Regarding the restaurant :
The Good : Nice atmosphere. Friendly waitstaff. Those who ordered scallops said
they were exceptionally good.
The Less Good: Four of us ordered the steak, which was almost inedible. The service
was very slow, but could have been the kitchen rather than the waitstaff. Also very hot
on the enclosed porch, with no circulation. High price points.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Buzzy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We rented out this entire place for a weekend last August for our wedding. It was everything I hoped it would be. Scott, Ryan, and the rest of the staff made our stay and our wedding absolutely amazing. We had our reception dinner in their restaurant and were just delighted with the food, wine, Hinterland beer, and service. We have so many gorgeous pictures of that weekend - I still love looking through my wedding album to see how beautiful everything was. We went up there again with friends last March and had dinner in the restaurant. It was perfect, as usual. The place exudes charm and comfort and the staff really cares about their customers and their community. A+

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cgould77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Creek
0.7 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
235 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
383 reviews
0.9 mi away
AppleCreek Resort- Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
0.6 mi away
Julie's Park Cafe & Motel
Julie's Park Cafe & Motel
#1 of 10 in Fish Creek
236 reviews
4.3 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistling Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistling Swan Inn

Property: Whistling Swan Inn
Address: 4192 Main St, P.O. Box 193, Fish Creek, WI 54212-9699
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whistling Swan, the Door Peninsula's oldest operating inn, was originally built in Marinette, Wisconsin, in 1887. In 1907, it was moved across the ice of Green Bay by teams of horses to become part of Dr. and Mrs. Welcker's Resort and Casino. The inn, along with its other historic neighbors, has been designated part of the Welcker Historic District and is listed on both State and National Historic Register.Today, The Whistling Swan Inn is known throughout the County as one of the best places to rest and rejuvenate. It's also home to the areas most incredible cuisine. Give us a call today and let our staff create the ultimate vacation retreat for you in beautiful Fish Creek. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whistling Swan Hotel Fish Creek
Whistling Swan Inn Fish Creek, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing