We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant - Big Disappointment !”
Review of Whistling Swan Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fish Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whistling Swan Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Fish Creek B&B and Inns
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Restaurant - Big Disappointment !”
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We were in Fish Creek for 4 nights and saved The Whistling Swan for our last night dinner. What a disappointment.
The room was warm and stuffy. We were amazed at the poor service. our waiter only had one other table.
The tomato - peach salad was inedible. We were also disapponted in the entree's. The Pork tenderloin was infused with liquid smoke and the meatball dish was "Chef Boyardee"!
The complimentary aperitif was a combo of beet juice and cherry juice?
In short: overpriced, and pretentious.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank rexboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    25
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
63
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

This was a last minute trip to Door County. Found vacancy here seemed ok in the reviews. Stayed in Room #1, small but decent room. Other reviews of noise where accurate - noise migrated upstairs easily. Doors to the rooms have nice overdoor transom windows - until at night the hall lights cascade in -hope the owners can figure out a better arrangement. With this being said we did overall enjoy our stay. Decent morning breakfast - great service, good food - but the same selection everyday. Place was clean, prompt service if requesting anything - but not many extras that I have seen in other bed-n-breakfasts (social hours, etc). They had a onsite restraunt - but we found cheaper places outside. Great location - easy to access all of Fish Creek. Enjoyed our trip - good place, clean, good decore - just some fine tuning to take it the next level. We would stay again - but probably will sample other locations first.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejwebly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
699 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Regarding the restaurant :
The Good : Nice atmosphere. Friendly waitstaff. Those who ordered scallops said
they were exceptionally good.
The Less Good: Four of us ordered the steak, which was almost inedible. The service
was very slow, but could have been the kitchen rather than the waitstaff. Also very hot
on the enclosed porch, with no circulation. High price points.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Buzzy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We rented out this entire place for a weekend last August for our wedding. It was everything I hoped it would be. Scott, Ryan, and the rest of the staff made our stay and our wedding absolutely amazing. We had our reception dinner in their restaurant and were just delighted with the food, wine, Hinterland beer, and service. We have so many gorgeous pictures of that weekend - I still love looking through my wedding album to see how beautiful everything was. We went up there again with friends last March and had dinner in the restaurant. It was perfect, as usual. The place exudes charm and comfort and the staff really cares about their customers and their community. A+

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cgould77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

I have never stayed overnight at the Inn, but we do eat at The Whistling Swan whenever we're in town. It's elegant and beautiful, the service is EXCELLENT, the food is AMAZING! The attention to detail, from the entire Inn, to the table settings, lighting, decor and general ambiance, is creative and gorgeous! It's very hip cool, but without the pretension found in Chicago, NY or Paris!

We always request Ryan as our server, as he's not only charming, but has recommended the most amazing meals, wines and deserts, nudging us from our comfort zones and encouraging a culinary adventure! His recommendations have surpassed expectations, as he's really into food and has an impeccable palate! Our favorite wine is was one of his recommendations! He's also become a friend, and has turned us onto cool things to do around Door County - his suggestions are spot on, and if you're lucky, he might even play his guitar!

The food....oh the mouth watering food....so perfect, so creative, so delicious! We love everything we've ever eaten there, but my favorite is the duck!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vintage-Chicago-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Whistling Swan Inn oozes classic charm and history, and is well located in what is arguably Door County's best village. The staff makes you feel welcome, and the complimentary continental breakfast in the side dining room was nice. My room was small but pleasant, though I easily heard my neighbors chatting away. Here's my caveat: The bar/restaurant downstairs was extremely noisy every night I was there, making sleep before midnight difficult. On Saturday night, there was shouting, exaggerated laughter and banging around until 12:30 am, after which the staff made noise while cleaning up. So if you're coming here for a quiet getaway, be forewarned.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unchilango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2009

Naturally, a couple's 25th wedding anniversary weekend is very special and the Whistling Swan definitely contributed to a very enjoyable time in Fish Creek. My wife and I spent a few days in this lovely B&B where we enjoyed wonderful food and excellent service. The Swan is a cut above, but well worth the price. Our morning breakfast was excellent ... light and fluffy breakfast guiche, toasted muffins, freshly squeezed juice and great coffee. Our evening dinner experience was elegant and the food wonderful. While there, be sure to try a glass or two of the Hinterland ale or stout beer!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishforsure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Creek
0.7 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
233 reviews
1.0 mi away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
0.9 mi away
AppleCreek Resort- Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
368 reviews
4.3 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
755 reviews
0.6 mi away
Julie's Park Cafe & Motel
Julie's Park Cafe & Motel
#1 of 10 in Fish Creek
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistling Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistling Swan Inn

Property: Whistling Swan Inn
Address: 4192 Main St, P.O. Box 193, Fish Creek, WI 54212-9699
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whistling Swan, the Door Peninsula's oldest operating inn, was originally built in Marinette, Wisconsin, in 1887. In 1907, it was moved across the ice of Green Bay by teams of horses to become part of Dr. and Mrs. Welcker's Resort and Casino. The inn, along with its other historic neighbors, has been designated part of the Welcker Historic District and is listed on both State and National Historic Register.Today, The Whistling Swan Inn is known throughout the County as one of the best places to rest and rejuvenate. It's also home to the areas most incredible cuisine. Give us a call today and let our staff create the ultimate vacation retreat for you in beautiful Fish Creek. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whistling Swan Hotel Fish Creek
Whistling Swan Inn Fish Creek, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing