We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pick for a relaxing, snowy weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thorp House Inn and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 5 Fish Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here on a snowy weekend and loved it. I'd never stayed in a bed and breakfast stateside so this was my first go at it. We stayed in the Maria room and it was small but we knew that going in. There was ample storage space for our luggage so we weren't tripping over anything. The high notes were the relaxing atmosphere, the comfortable bed, the friendly innkeeper, the intriguing history of the house, the short walk into Fish Creek, and the biggest, best breakfast I've had in a long time. Yep, I think that just about covers everything. We returned to city life rested and refreshed. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 294 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Inn and had a great winter weekend. Room was comfy and warm, but the breakfast left a little to be desired. Would have thought there would be more selection for the price of the room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amyrae46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieCamp, Owner at Thorp House Inn and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed the warmth and comfort of our Inn. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations with respect to the breakfast we serve. Our breakfast is an extended continental meal cooked fresh every morning. It includes a warm egg strata with a variety of muffins, fresh seasonal fruit, homemade granola, a selection of yogurts, hard-boiled eggs, juice, and coffee or tea. Previously, this breakfast description was outlined on our website only under the “Accommodations” selection on the homepage. As a result of your feedback, I have created a new selection on our homepage titled “Breakfast” which provides a description of the breakfast we serve. Hopefully with this new selection, our future guests will have further clarification of what they can expect with their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was our first bed & breakfast visit and we absolutely loved it! The house was welcoming and the decor was fabulous. The staff was so kind and helpful; they were so great to talk to and were really personable. The room was cozy, the bed was really comfortable and breakfast was always delicious. We really enjoyed the fact that we could control the temperature in the room, especially being the middle of February. I also loved that they have a little "beverage bar" set up so after a cold walk in the afternoon I could come in and grab some cocoa

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the Thorp House Inn during December 2012 for the Progressive Dinner weekend. We truly had a wonderful experience. We stayed in the Lark Cottage - extremely comfortable. I have traveled extensively and this had everything I look for - comfortable beds, coffee maker, refrigerator, blow dryer, cable TV and internet. We built a fire in the fireplace the second night. The owner of the inn, Melanie Camp, was extremely accommodating when it came to allowing us to have our dog there with us. The progressive dinner was wonderful. It started at Thorp House with champagne and appetizers and then it was a horse drawn wagon to the White Gull for a great dinner. They managed to have dinner for about 80 served efficiently and everything was hot. Afterwards it was Christmas carols out by an open fire. For those looking for a glimpse of Americana, this is it. I highly recommend the Thorp House and plan on returning.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Inn come with continental breakfast, have a gas fireplace and their own bathrooms. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here mid-January on a whim. Nothing else was available for a night in Fish Creek. What a pleasant surprise. The inn is so well preserved down to it's turn of the century architecture. We stayed in the Jessie which had both a whirlpool tub for two and a fireplace. The bed was firm and very comfortable as was the uxorious sheets and heavy down comforters. All the components for a cold winter night! The breakfast in the morning was absolutely delicious. The innkeeper was very friendly and attentive to all our needs. We will be back in the summer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank didiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I returned to Door County, where we had spent our honeymoon 25 years ago -- staying three cozy and pleasant nights in one of the small cottages at the Thorp House.
Full disclosure -- our choice was driven by the unwillingness of the White Gull Inn, down the street, to take in small dogs. We did eat a dinner and a breakfast there -- quality visits as always.
Dogs are welcome at Thorp House only in the cottages -- and it is useful to note other differences -- one being that breakfast is only available for guests in the Inn itself, while the cottages are equipped with simple but efficient kitchens for self-catering.
Our cottage -- Dove, #3 -- was small but ample for two -- comfortable sofa and chair in front of the fireplace -- comfortable four-poster bed -- tiny second bedroom which we used to store luggage. Buy or bring your own wood, for the fireplace and -- unique in our travels, at this level -- cottage guests have to provide their own bath towels and face cloths.
Rooms and public areas in the Inn looked attractive and comfortable -- but we had no opinions by which to compare as it was the very quiet winter season.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My fiance' and I stayed here for the first time in early November. We couldn't have had a better time! The house was cozy and warm. The fireplace is a great place to relax next to, and the house's history and design is very beautiful. They also had a cribbage board to use, which we took full advantage of. We cannot wait to come back in the summer/fall of this year!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Creek
0.5 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
247 reviews
4.2 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
840 reviews
0.9 mi away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
416 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
410 reviews
19 mi away
Chanticleer Guest House
Chanticleer Guest House
#5 of 15 in Sturgeon Bay
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorp House Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorp House Inn and Cottages

Address: 4135 Bluff Ln, Fish Creek, WI 54212-9337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Creek
Price Range: $181 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorp House Inn and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 100 years, Thorp House Inn & Cottages has welcomed visitors to the charming village of Fish Creek. The five unique guest rooms in the Inn offer the authentic ambiance of a bygone era amidst the spectacular natural beauty of the Door County peninsula. Whirlpools and fireplaces are available. The Cottages at Thorp House Inn have a charm and following all of their own. They are just what you had in mind... cozy and private... nestled in the pines... close to the beach... in the heart of the village. Walk to shops, restaurants, Peninsula State Park and much more. Each cottage is decorated in country antiques and has its own unique character. Most have fireplaces and some have whirlpools. Both the Inn and Cottages are open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Thorp House Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorp House Inn And Cottages Hotel Fish Creek
Thorp House Inn And Cottages Fish Creek, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing